We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis

Hotel website
Hotel deals
7730 Bonhomme Avenue, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    132
    90
    52
    25
See reviews for
137
79
51
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (490)
  • Mar-May only
    (124)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (145)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (125)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (96)
All months
Hartland, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here for the First Robotics Tournament. It was a short notice trip. Didn't have many choices as all affordable hotels near the convention center were booked up. (Are there any affordable hotels near downtown?) We were SO relieved that this was a very nice hotel in a nice neighborhood and only 20 minutes from downtown. The only hitch was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Recently I attended an afternoon ball game at Busch Stadium and, due to weather issues, I found myself stranded at Lambert Airport that evening with no hotel reservation. Got on my phone and began calling all the major hotels with complimentary airport shuttles. Took a chance on this hotel and was very pleasantly surprised. Though the hotel is technically located... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Callan H, General Manager at Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for allowing us to host your stay while stranded at STL Airport. I realize travel can be a trying situation. We love Clayton. You will be hard pressed to find more restaurants in a couple of square blocks, as we have here. Alexander's our restaurant, although a hotel restaurant, features a great burger and other staples.... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to the Sheraton for a Bachelorette party. We told the hotel when booking it was a Bachelorette party.... Our rooms wete not ready when we checked in( at 5pm ) we were told the hroup that stayed in the rooms the night before had "partied to hard " finnally our rooms ate ready. We go out for the evening,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Callan H, General Manager at Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us. I do understand the excitement involved with a Bachelorette Party. We host many parties; however, noise is a concern. At 1am, we cannot allow noise complaints from multiple guests to be ignored even for a bachelorette party. We ask all of our guests to respect their fellow guests at all times. Yours... More 

Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for my daughter's graduation from Wash U. in St. Louis. We were with my daughter and In-laws. The room wasn't ready on time and the first room they put us in had a pullout bed that was a little sketchy. So, we had to upgrade to a two bedroom with a king and 2 queens. The beds... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Callan H, General Manager at Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback as well. Washington University Graduation Weekend is one of the busiest weekends in our area. Thank you for spending such a special occasion with us. We were searching for ways to stand out on this weekend with a more extensive breakfast buffet offering. However, we are already looking... More 

Mercer Island, Washington
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
45 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I must admit, I get kind of tired of staying in cookie cutter formula hotels. This is another in a long streak of them. There is little to complain about here, other than the very small bathroom and the need to pay for parking. But nor is there much to make it memorable. Hence the average ranking. The bed was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Callan H, General Manager at Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis, responded to this review

Dear Mercer, Thank you for staying with us. We hope if you are able to stay with us again you will take an opportunity to get to know us. We will be more than happy to explain our town and all of the excitement it has to offer. Yours in hospitality, Callan Hamann General Manager More 

here
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although there were a few small issues with the hotel (rooms not ready at check-in; no lights in pool for night time swimming) the staff we dealt with regarding these issues made us feel like they cared and wanted to make things better. Most notable was Tim, (bellman/concierge) who gave us drink tickets while we waited for our rooms to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Callan H, General Manager at Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis, responded to this review

Dear Sojo83, Thank you for staying at the Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel. We appreciate getting to host your stay and your feedback. I do apologize for our short falls and we are working to increase the speed of our available rooms and the check in process. I also want to thank you for the pats on the back for our... More 

Midwest USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here one night. It's in a downtown type area but seemed safe. Check in was smooth. As others have said there are only two elevators but I have to say I had no problems at all with undue waits as they seemed pretty fast. As a whole the hotel seems a bit dated. The bed was very comfortable but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Callan H, General Manager at Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis, responded to this review

Dear Goatwhacker, Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your feedback. We have made several improvements with the elevators. We are going to be changing out the beds in the near future to the new Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds. If you will book directly with Sheraton online you are eligible for complimentary WiFi. However, we do charge for... More 

Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015 via mobile

The hotel was fine. Clean, but run down. Location was great. Hotel staff was friendly. The issue I had mostly was that there were so many little things wrong with the room. Water pressure was low, carpet unraveling in places, grout missing between tiles etc. obviously not deal breakers but not 4 stars either.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Callan H, General Manager at Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis, responded to this review

Dear 12Debbie12, Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your business and your feedback. We will work to improve the facilities and insure all the little items add up. Please know we want to provide the stay you deserve. Please come to stay with us again. Yours in hospitality, Callan Hamann General Manager More 

Marion, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Great location in downtown Clayton, but has seen better days. Small jerky elevators that take forever to arrive when the property is busy. It required 4 trips (from the 14th floor) to the front desk to get electronic key cads that would operate our room and give us access to the Club lounge. Club lounge has gone downhill since our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Callan H, General Manager at Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis, responded to this review

Dear Erik L, I apologize for the poor stay. I will pass along the nice note to Dimery about her service and I will follow up on the service failures. Please know we take pride in our service. We want to be proud of the stay we provide and I am confident we will work to improve our service. Please... More 

Saint Louis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

What a disappointing hotel. The location is pretty good. Downtown Clayton offers plenty of food and drink options nearby. Unfortunately, the hotel is not Sheraton quality. I know there are some dinky Sheratons in the US, but at least they tend to make up for that with good service, a solid club room... something. Not this one though. I stayed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RonJuneman, General Manager at Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis, responded to this review

I certainly appreciate you taking the time to write us concerning your recent visit to our hotel. I was disappointed to learn of the poor quality of services and facilities you experienced. It is our goal to consistently provide the highest quality in both product and service and it is vital to our continued success to know when we have... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (46)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay