We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Seven Gables Inn

3.5 of 5 26 North Meramec Avenue, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Molly Darcys Foodie Pkg
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seven Gables Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Seven Gables Inn
Seven Gables Inn
Seven Gables Inn
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    89
    14
    19
    16
See reviews for
53
108
37
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (290)
  • Mar-May only
    (68)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (79)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (69)
All months
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were snowed in and couldn't get travel home. And we found Seven Gables online...and decided to change hotels. Wonderful idea on our part...wish we wld have found this place sooner. We had such a pleasant time. The entire staff was so kind and helpful...even the one who carried mine and mom's purses as he took our pictures in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you the next time you are in St. Louis. Warm regards, Stacey Wallace General Manager More 

Norman, Oklahoma
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff universally pleasant. Personal and pleasant attention to room selection and request throughout stay. Great location includes excellent restaurant next door. Continental breakfast could be improved.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking time to post your review as we can only grow and continue to improve with our guests feedback. We are currently working on changing up our continental breakfast and improving it but we appreciate the feedback. Warm regards, Stacey Wallace General Manager More 

Indianapolis
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were very pleased with this hotel in Clayton. Unfortunately shadowed by a huge office building (which leads to a drab view of a brick wall from many of the rooms), this quaint hotel is on the National Register of Historic Places. The rate was reasonable, coming in at less than the big chains even when $17/night parking was included.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We cannot continue to improve and provide our guests the best experience without feedback. We hope to see you again during your next visit to St. Louis. Warm regards, Stacey Wallace General Manager More 

Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

This hotel is not into pleasing it's customers. Had to stay here because Priceline stuck me here! (Won't go that route again) Our room was right around the corner from the desk check in and right next to guest computers. That being said, we could hear the front desk phone ringing, people talking and working at the computers. Light colored... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay and appreciate you giving us feedback. Its only with our customers feedback that we can continue to improve and provide our guests with what they expect and deserve. We are currently visiting our continental breakfast to upgrade and improve the variety and selections... More 

Broomfield, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

As an alternative to a chain hotel, this hotel has fabulous service, offers free cookies, wine and cheese to their guests daily. They also have a complimentary chocolates, breakfast and newspaper. The beds are comfortable and the bedding is nice. The location in Clayton is great and you can walk to the surrounding restaurants and shops. Would recommend it to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review. We do offer the cookies, chocolates, wine and cheese as well as newspapers and work out passes to the nearby Clayton Center. We are centrally located from the airport, downtown, U City as well as being located near multiple major highways but far enough away that you feel like you are at a charming... More 

Culver City, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

I booked this trip thru Hotwire for $69.00. I know of this hotel as i have stayed in clayton on numerous occasions. I had concerns as this was a business trip and it was not known for these purposes. Checking into the hotel was very easy. They charge $17 a night to park in their lot across the street from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again for your next business trip. Although we do not have an exercise facility on property we do offer passes to the Center of Clayton which is a wonderful facility with pools, weights, rock climbing and indoor track. Thank you again! Warm regards, Stacey Wallace... More 

New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

When we decided to have a destination wedding in my home town, I was cautioned by everyone about the stress and difficulties this would bring. HOWEVER, because we chose the Seven Gables Inn, we got Stacey, the General Manager of the property, and all of her experience to work with us, and it couldn't have been less stressful or more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post your review. We are thrilled that we could be a part of such an intimate and important occasion in your life. Seven Gables is the perfect venue for an intimate gathering, whether its a wedding, reception, rehearsal dinner, family gathering, birthday party, baby or bridal shower its an experience you soon won't forget.... More 

Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

I booked the Nathaniel Hawthorne Suite for a romantic weekend with my fiancée. The hotel was built in 1926 in the heart of downtown Clayton, near some of the best restaurants in the area. The weekend price for the suite was a little over $200, very economical considering the quality of the place. The rooms were spacious with a King... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post a review. We appreciate all of our guests feedback and can only continue to improve and provide our guests with not only what they expect but what they deserve. We are currently revisiting our continental breakfast to offer a wider variety and different options so thank you for your post. Warm regards, Stacey... More 

Southern Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

We frequently go to St. Louis, but had never stayed at Seven Gables. What a mistake! We arrived and were greeted by Dominique, a lovely lady working the front desk. She was very friendly and helpful. I was initially disappointed when she told me we were in room 316, as there is no elevator and I have some health issues.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post a review. We appreciate all of the kind comments. Its only with our guests feedback that we can continue to improve and offer our guests not only what they expect but what they deserve. Warm regards, Stacey Wallace General Manager More 

Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014 via mobile

Best cookies ever, available every evening. 😍 No protein at breakfast but good pastries. Charming furnishings, great 2 sinked bathroom, comfortable bed. We used a Groupon coupon so the value was excellent! Old carpet and lots of steps to put room, but extremely clean so it was worth the climb! We were very comfortable and pleased with this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post your review. We do offer fresh baked cookies daily, as well as a wine and cheese reception for all hotel guests Monday through Thursday. It is only with our guests feedback that we can continue to grow and improve and provide our guests with not only what they expect but what they deserve.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Seven Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Address: 26 North Meramec Avenue, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seven Gables Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Hotel Clayton
Seven Gables Saint Louis
Seven Gables Inn Clayton, Saint Louis, MO

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
1:49
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (32)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay