We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Seven Gables Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
26 North Meramec Avenue, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105
Special Offer
Molly Darcys Foodie Pkg
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Seven Gables Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Seven Gables Inn
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    89
    16
    19
    16
See reviews for
55
109
37
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (294)
  • Mar-May only
    (72)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (79)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (69)
All months
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

So glad I found this place. If you are looking for a unique and gracious place to stay near St. Louis (Clayton), I highly recommend Seven Gables Inn. We had a large 2 queen bed room which was nicely appointed. We happened to be here during the NCAA men's final and we were able to catch the game in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ossining, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I again stayed at the Seven Gables Inn in Clayton Mo. this Easter weekend while visiting our daughter, her husband and our 5 month old grandson who live in the area. We keep returning because we appreciate the Inn's tasteful charm and character, each room uniquely furnished with antiques and great bedding---and the elegant but bright and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When we arrived my husband had to go get a valet to come out to our car. I thought parking was reasonably priced considering there is no parking around the inn. $17/night. It was a nice place to stay and it was clean and comfortable. However, we had a room boarding the inner courtyard and there were people out drinking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mount Carmel, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked this hotel because of the location and 'boutique' appearance on their website. The location part was perfect. Several things we wanted to do were only a few blocks away, and the weather was perfect for walking. Location is 5-star. Check-in was simple and quick, although we did have to wait for the valet driver to get out to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

We were snowed in and couldn't get travel home. And we found Seven Gables online...and decided to change hotels. Wonderful idea on our part...wish we wld have found this place sooner. We had such a pleasant time. The entire staff was so kind and helpful...even the one who carried mine and mom's purses as he took our pictures in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you the next time you are in St. Louis. Warm regards, Stacey Wallace General Manager More 

Norman, Oklahoma
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Staff universally pleasant. Personal and pleasant attention to room selection and request throughout stay. Great location includes excellent restaurant next door. Continental breakfast could be improved.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking time to post your review as we can only grow and continue to improve with our guests feedback. We are currently working on changing up our continental breakfast and improving it but we appreciate the feedback. Warm regards, Stacey Wallace General Manager More 

Indianapolis
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

We were very pleased with this hotel in Clayton. Unfortunately shadowed by a huge office building (which leads to a drab view of a brick wall from many of the rooms), this quaint hotel is on the National Register of Historic Places. The rate was reasonable, coming in at less than the big chains even when $17/night parking was included.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We cannot continue to improve and provide our guests the best experience without feedback. We hope to see you again during your next visit to St. Louis. Warm regards, Stacey Wallace General Manager More 

Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

This hotel is not into pleasing it's customers. Had to stay here because Priceline stuck me here! (Won't go that route again) Our room was right around the corner from the desk check in and right next to guest computers. That being said, we could hear the front desk phone ringing, people talking and working at the computers. Light colored... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay and appreciate you giving us feedback. Its only with our customers feedback that we can continue to improve and provide our guests with what they expect and deserve. We are currently visiting our continental breakfast to upgrade and improve the variety and selections... More 

Broomfield, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

As an alternative to a chain hotel, this hotel has fabulous service, offers free cookies, wine and cheese to their guests daily. They also have a complimentary chocolates, breakfast and newspaper. The beds are comfortable and the bedding is nice. The location in Clayton is great and you can walk to the surrounding restaurants and shops. Would recommend it to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review. We do offer the cookies, chocolates, wine and cheese as well as newspapers and work out passes to the nearby Clayton Center. We are centrally located from the airport, downtown, U City as well as being located near multiple major highways but far enough away that you feel like you are at a charming... More 

Culver City, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

I booked this trip thru Hotwire for $69.00. I know of this hotel as i have stayed in clayton on numerous occasions. I had concerns as this was a business trip and it was not known for these purposes. Checking into the hotel was very easy. They charge $17 a night to park in their lot across the street from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again for your next business trip. Although we do not have an exercise facility on property we do offer passes to the Center of Clayton which is a wonderful facility with pools, weights, rock climbing and indoor track. Thank you again! Warm regards, Stacey Wallace... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
1:49
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (32)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question