We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Carthage hotels

Econo Lodge

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1441 W. Central, Carthage, MO 64836-1020
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
66%
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Carthage
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
TheDonovansUK London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    8
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
9
9
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (33)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wow, the first thing that we noticed about this hotel was the smell! The whole hotel had a very strong, damp musty smell to it. This was most obvious in the lobby, by the pool and then by the ice machine. The smell was so bad that we skipped breakfast. The pool itself was fine but for some reason it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Socorro, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our senior rate of $56 makes this motel the best bargain in a 4 state area and 200 mile radius. The brick construction and layout must have been top notch for the era it was built. While it is an older property it is very well maintained and managed. I would give them a 10 or 5 stars if the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I checked in this hotel after driving from Shreveport, LA. The front desk made my check in very easy. I was then contacted with a problem, I had made my reservation online, however I needed to checkout early, the hotel had a great understanding and are letting me checkout a day early. Most hotels only care about their bottom line,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarthageEconolodge, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

On behave of our staff, we would like to thank you for giving us a good review and letting us know how our performace is. We will always help our guests in any way we can. We appreciate your time and graditude. Thank you. More

Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

600+ miles from home in 1 day, we were pleased to find our reservation was at a clean room in a quiet location. I was a little apprehensive given Econo Lodge's image, but this one must be well above average for the chain. The tattered carpet at the threshold of the room made me think "uh-oh", but the room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CarthageEconolodge, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us a good review, I'm glad to read that EconoLodge in Carthage, MO was what you needed for a comfortable stay. We appreciate you, and your family for choosing our hotel and recommending our hotel. Thank you. More

Imboden, Arkansas, USA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stopped here on our way back home. The front desk area has recently been updated and the staff was very personable and helpful!! I will say that the rest of the hotel needs some updated but it looks like they are working on this. Also, I have allergies that were not happy with all the strong odors in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarthageEconolodge, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jess, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey on tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again... More

Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I had a very good experience with this hotel. The cleanliness was outstanding and the staff made our stay very pleasant. Would definitely recommend to anybody traveling to Carthage. The breakfast was a plus n was very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarthageEconolodge, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to make a review for our hotel. We do appreciate your business and take your feedback seriously. I'm grateful you had a wonderful time, and our staff was very helpful for your stay, and breakfast was the highlight of your morning. We hope to see you soon! More

Wichita, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stayed for family trip. The hotel had nice rooms and great pool. The staff was very helpful and the manager went above and beyond to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Would highly recommend to friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CarthageEconolodge, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Chris for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! More

Kent, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed here at the end of last year whilst on our Route 66 roadtrip. The room we stayed in left alot to be desired. There was a rusty tall lamp, a rusty tissue holder in the bathroom, a crack and bulge in the celing above the shower, looked like that was going to drop down from the ceiling at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Office entry & lobby nice (remodeled),Pool and Hot tub was nice except the jets in hot tub not working properly,room-security latch on outside door was falling off,the AC-Heater had black mold on blower vents,furniture was stained and dirty(why do people have to trash a hotel room?) The king bed mattress was hard,flat and overdo to be replaced. Bath tub floor... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our church group came to Carthage for a Bible Quiz meet. When the rooms were reserved, we were to have 3 rooms all together. When we arrived, not only were they not together, but one was clear on the other side of the property. The room that we had was very drab and dull. Chairs were well worn. Part of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarthageEconolodge, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

I apologize for your experience at our property. You reserved your rooms through a thrid-party website (Expedia, Priceline, etc) so I'm not sure who promised you all three room would be together. However, when you arrived for an early check-in you were presented with two options - to keep rooms together you would have to wait a few minutes for... More

Do you own or manage Econo Lodge?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1441 W. Central, Carthage, MO 64836-1020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Carthage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Carthage
Carthage Econo Lodge

5 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Econo Lodge

Enlarge Map