We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Leigh hotels

The Greyhound Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Warrington Road, Leigh WN7 3XQ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Greyhound Hotel to your Saves list
The Greyhound Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
58%
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Leigh
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Amanda T Doncaster, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (193)
  • Photos (53)
  • Location
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (45)
  • More
true
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    58
    28
    22
    31
See reviews for
44
52
9
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glossop
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The carpet in room 404 was disgusting, we didn't want to walk around barefoot! The chair at the dressing table was appalling, it looked like it was stained from someone wetting themselves. This room should not be used in its current state. Even if clean, which it wasn't, the general decor was dated. The price of a Premier Inn but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Myself and my mum stayed here as part of a trip to Coronation Street with Newmarket Holidays, it was lovely, first impressions the room was a little bit dated but the beds were really comfortable and had everything you needed including a hairdryer and fan and tea/coffee facilities, the evening meal and Breakfast were both lovely and staff all seemed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HFYHManagement, Manager at The Greyhound Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon! Regards Linda Tonge - Sales Manager More

Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel for a ladies trip to Haydock Races. The event organiser Linda was efficient, and nothing was too much trouble to attend to the needs of our party. The rest of the hotel staff were just as helpful,which complimented a lovely day. You couldn't argue at the cost of the package or the food which was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HFYHManagement, Manager at The Greyhound Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Catherine for your review. I will feedback your comments to the rest of the team. I am pleased you enjoyed our Race Package and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards Linda Tonge - Sales Manager More

Durham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night on a coach holiday, we were made to feel very welcome all staff were friendly and professional. The evening meal was very good quality and value, The breakfast was also very good, plenty of choice and good quality. The hotel was clean and basic but that is all you need it was great to have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HFYHManagement, Manager at The Greyhound Hotel, responded to this review

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and your feedback is very much appreciated. We hope to see you again soon! Regards Linda Tonge - Sales Manager More

southport
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having stayed here a couple of times and enjoyed it ,although this time we we're not staying in the hotel we decided that as we we're in the area we would have our lunch here. I had the 6 ounce cheese Burger with fries and a pint of cask ale, and thoughrally enjoyed it. Unfortunately my had a prawn sandwich... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brighouse
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Together with the rest of our triathlon team from Halifax Harriers, we stayed at The Greyhound during our UK IRONMAN event. People in the hotel were friendly and the room was comfortable. Just be aware, there are some barking dogs living near the hotel and could be a problem if you are sensitive to this kind of noise.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HFYHManagement, Manager at The Greyhound Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back next year. Regards Linda Tonge Sales Manager More

Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

mixed opinions of this hotel, stayed for 2 nights 19th and 20th july, the reception area is lovely and the staff are very polite however the room was a disappointment clean but in need of modernising and the radiator was stuck on so the room was boiling, also the towel rail in the bathroom was on constantly, we had to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I stayed here for one night, when I walked Into reception it looked really lovely , but when we got to the room it was a big let down. Rooms are very dated , badly need freshened up. And the pool could do with a good deep clean. The start where however very friendly, and the food was ok, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Haydock races package - Hen do 5th July 2014 Well what can I say? The race package (gold) was worth every penny and then some! All 15 of us (henettes) had a wonderful time at the races on Saturday 5th July and the hotel hospitality was second to none! The staff were fantastic very friendly from reception staff to cleaners... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HFYHManagement, Manager at The Greyhound Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for excellent review, your time and interest expressed in our hotel and the services we provide.. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I am delighted that you mentioned what great value our Race Packages are which have proven to be really popular and so far everyone that has booked have said they will be... More

Nr Bedford, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I stayed here for one night for work as the Park Inn was changing over to a Holiday Inn and they said they think they had no rooms available. This is next to a pub and I was upgraded to a suite room as they had no double rooms available. The suite had 2 double beds and a sofa etc..... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Greyhound Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Greyhound Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greyhound Hotel

Address: Warrington Road, Leigh WN7 3XQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Leigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Greyhound Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Greyhound Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greyhound Hotel Lancashire

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
74

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Greyhound Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer