We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Chequers Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Froggatt Edge, Froggatt, Peak District National Park S32 3ZJ, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Chequers Inn
Professional photos View all
The Chequers Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    66
    46
    17
    12
    1
See reviews for
18
97
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (142)
  • Mar-May only
    (50)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (39)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Im going to start with the negatives which totaly spoilt my overnight stay ! Firstly the owner needs to take a good quality management course on how to deal with customers in a way that shows he actualy understands your complaints rather than make you out as a liar when bringing up issues ! then adding injury to insult complaing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

May I take your points one by one. It is correct that your room is situated at the end of the building close to our extract system, but this is turned off as soon as food service has finished, which is 9pm. If it was slightly later than that we apologise. It would be very unusual if guests were in... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We sat down at our table at6.30 and it was 8.30 when we finished our meal.the food was very slow coming from the kitchen and the main meal was only Luke warm. The waitress was very good and could not have been more attentive.A great disappointment as we were expecting a high class meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post your review BerylB, but we were disappointed to see your comments. As we were unaware of any problems during your visit, we are unsure as to what you ordered. If you had 3 courses and coffee then we would probably expect it to take around 1 and 3/4 to 2 hours. Having said... More 

Rutland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed it very much. Pleasant room, adequate bathroom - all very clean. Obliging, cheerful and chatty sums up the staff! Food excellent - especially the breakfast! Very welcoming ambience and we would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Great review..thanks for taking the time to post it! More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in this lovely little country hotel in the Peak district on my way home from a business trip. The rooms were clean and comfortable, but old world style as you would expect. Everything you need for a pleasant stay. Breakfast was lovely with all local produce. Dinner too was a lovely experience, fresh and well presented. Nice friendly staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Thanks Helena for the great review. More 

Sheffield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

We had been given a nights accommodation plus evening meal here as a wedding gift and what a gift it was! A lovely quaint room, lovely and clean with a very comfy bed, free WiFi and freeview t.v. We were shown up to our room by one of the very friendly members of staff, we asked her to book our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the great review..really pleased you enjoyed your stay and our food! More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Picked this lovely inn for location for running in the peaks and to celebrate our anniversary. Very welcoming staff and very pleasant, thanks a lot. Good sized room and bathroom, wish I had time to soak in the lovely bath. The food is amazing, not at all pub grub, tasted and looked like it was created by a top chef.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review Phil. Really pleased you enjoyed your stay. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

The gourmet style of the food took us slightly by surprise, but did not disappoint. There was a good buzz about the place with most tables full on a Tuesday night. The waiting staff were attentive and friendly. We would definitely head back again when we are next wanting something slightly better than pub grub.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Thanks James...delighted you enjoyed your visit. More 

Sheffield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

Beautiful food. Nothing is to much trouble for a fussy eater like me! The staff are very friendly and will go out off there way to help you! Nothing is too much for them! There is a great atmosphere sounding the pub with ambience music in the background helping you enjoy your meal. Will definitely be returning soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review Hud21 - really pleased you enjoyed the experience. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015 via mobile

My partner had read all the wonderful reviews left on trip advisor and decided it would be nice to give it a try so today we took an hour 15 minutes drive to enjoy the scenery and see what all the fuss was about. The pub has lots of character and is very homely. When we arrived we told the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the review Kirsty. Delighted you enjoyed our food. We have re-emphasised the importance of great service with our staff, who usually offer very attentive service. We are sorry if we fell short a little at the time of your visit. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

Much like the other review we ended up here by accident after two closer pubs were full. We are very glad we did!! We had mushrooms on toast, scallops, brill and steak pie all of which were delicious and superb quality. The staff were friendly and helpful and a credit to the pub. We will definitely be visiting again, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. We try hard at what we do and its great to be recognised with a great review - thank you! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay