We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Chequers Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Froggatt Edge, Froggatt, Peak District National Park S32 3ZJ, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Chequers Inn
Professional photos View all
The Chequers Inn
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    44
    16
    11
    1
See reviews for
18
94
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (136)
  • Mar-May only
    (48)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The gourmet style of the food took us slightly by surprise, but did not disappoint. There was a good buzz about the place with most tables full on a Tuesday night. The waiting staff were attentive and friendly. We would definitely head back again when we are next wanting something slightly better than pub grub.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful food. Nothing is to much trouble for a fussy eater like me! The staff are very friendly and will go out off there way to help you! Nothing is too much for them! There is a great atmosphere sounding the pub with ambience music in the background helping you enjoy your meal. Will definitely be returning soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My partner had read all the wonderful reviews left on trip advisor and decided it would be nice to give it a try so today we took an hour 15 minutes drive to enjoy the scenery and see what all the fuss was about. The pub has lots of character and is very homely. When we arrived we told the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Much like the other review we ended up here by accident after two closer pubs were full. We are very glad we did!! We had mushrooms on toast, scallops, brill and steak pie all of which were delicious and superb quality. The staff were friendly and helpful and a credit to the pub. We will definitely be visiting again, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited this evening after 2 pubs closer to home were too full to accommodate us (thank goodness!!). We were offered a choice of tables although most were reserved, now I know why! When reading the menu we commented on the fact that it looked like something off Masterchef and I must admit I thought it could fail to deliver.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went to the Chequers Inn for lunch having heard great things. I ordered the burger and was extremely disappointed. The meat was very greasy and pretty tasteless. The chips were better but also a little greasy. The other half is gluten free and was excited when they said they could adapt most dishes, however almost all the ones he... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review following lunch at The Chequers, although we were disappointed with your comments. Our burgers are homemade using prime rump, not some cheap cut of substandard meat you will often find in burgers. Our scallop starter, which is priced at £8.95, is one of our biggest sellers. Obviously, king scallops are... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015 via mobile

We booked a table for tea tonight as we live local but have never tried the chequers before. I must say it was all round great. The food was filling and cooked just as you would like. The staff very friendly and helpful. You also felt like you could really sit and relax. Will recommend to family and friends and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

What a great review - thank you for your kind comments! We work very hard to keep our standards up and look forward to you visiting again! More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015 via mobile

After a long weekend in Bakewell stumbled across this lovely pub.... Friendly service and an amazing Sunday Lunch. Roast beef cooked to perfection and wonderful moist chocolate brownies.... Definitely worth a visit 👍👏

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Really pleased you enjoyed our sunday lunches - thanks for your kind comments. More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

My family have been regular users of the Chequers for lunch and decided to book a family table for dinner. One of the meat dishes served way about a third fat rather than meat and somewhat undercooked. The issue was highlighted to the restaurant team who took the dish away to remedy the situation. Remedy was to remove the fatty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review your visit, but we were very disappointed with your comments, especially as you have been a regular visitor to The Chequers. We understand that your complaint was dealt with by one of our more experienced waitresses, but also by our Supervisor who was in charge at the time of your visit Its... More 

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

My husband had booked a table for my birthday and we were looking forward to our evening out. Instead we experienced a very mediocre meal which was very decorative but not filling! It was extremely disappointing that 4 choices were off the menu that evening and the specials board was virtually non existent. We felt rushed when the pub staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review your visit to The Chequers, but were disappointed to read your comments. We understand that you dined with us over the Easter holiday, and while we expect to be particularly busy during this period, we unexpectedly served around double the number of guests we could reasonably expect during the day of your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities