We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Chequers Inn

Froggatt Edge, Froggatt, Peak District National Park S32 3ZJ, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Chequers Inn
Professional photos View all
The Chequers Inn
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    43
    15
    11
    1
See reviews for
18
91
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (132)
  • Mar-May only
    (44)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We visited this evening after 2 pubs closer to home were too full to accommodate us (thank goodness!!). We were offered a choice of tables although most were reserved, now I know why! When reading the menu we commented on the fact that it looked like something off Masterchef and I must admit I thought it could fail to deliver.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We went to the Chequers Inn for lunch having heard great things. I ordered the burger and was extremely disappointed. The meat was very greasy and pretty tasteless. The chips were better but also a little greasy. The other half is gluten free and was excited when they said they could adapt most dishes, however almost all the ones he... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review following lunch at The Chequers, although we were disappointed with your comments. Our burgers are homemade using prime rump, not some cheap cut of substandard meat you will often find in burgers. Our scallop starter, which is priced at £8.95, is one of our biggest sellers. Obviously, king scallops are... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a table for tea tonight as we live local but have never tried the chequers before. I must say it was all round great. The food was filling and cooked just as you would like. The staff very friendly and helpful. You also felt like you could really sit and relax. Will recommend to family and friends and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

What a great review - thank you for your kind comments! We work very hard to keep our standards up and look forward to you visiting again! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After a long weekend in Bakewell stumbled across this lovely pub.... Friendly service and an amazing Sunday Lunch. Roast beef cooked to perfection and wonderful moist chocolate brownies.... Definitely worth a visit 👍👏

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Really pleased you enjoyed our sunday lunches - thanks for your kind comments. More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family have been regular users of the Chequers for lunch and decided to book a family table for dinner. One of the meat dishes served way about a third fat rather than meat and somewhat undercooked. The issue was highlighted to the restaurant team who took the dish away to remedy the situation. Remedy was to remove the fatty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review your visit, but we were very disappointed with your comments, especially as you have been a regular visitor to The Chequers. We understand that your complaint was dealt with by one of our more experienced waitresses, but also by our Supervisor who was in charge at the time of your visit Its... More 

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband had booked a table for my birthday and we were looking forward to our evening out. Instead we experienced a very mediocre meal which was very decorative but not filling! It was extremely disappointing that 4 choices were off the menu that evening and the specials board was virtually non existent. We felt rushed when the pub staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review your visit to The Chequers, but were disappointed to read your comments. We understand that you dined with us over the Easter holiday, and while we expect to be particularly busy during this period, we unexpectedly served around double the number of guests we could reasonably expect during the day of your... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a table for 18 (including 10 children under 8!), for Easter Sunday. The food and beer was really good. It was a sunny day and the beer garden at the back, goes on to a wood. The kids loved climbing the trees, and the views of the peaks were lovely.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Delighted you enjoyed your visit on Easter Sunday - thanks for your great comments. More 

Harrow, England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It’s an old building with stairs and corridors whose floorboards creak underneath the carpets, but it’s clean and comfortable. We stayed in room 2, at the front of the building. It’s a lovely big room, with a little ante-room (ok it’s actually a 6 foot square room containing a chair) with the bathroom to the left, before you take two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit. We were delighted that you enjoyed your 3 night break along with our food. Hope to welcome you back again soon. More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Chequers is more of a restaurant with rooms rather than a pub. No drinkers at the bar, and all tables apparently reserved. This in itself is no problem, but upon arriving in the restaurant at approx 6.30pm the first three main courses selected were unavailable! I felt for the poor waitress who managed to hang onto an embarrassed smile as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the trouble to review your visit. Apologies that we seemed to be short of some menu items. Not sure when you visited, but assume it was following a particularly busy service. That said, even with 3 main courses short, between the table menu and the blackboard it would have left around a further 10 mains to... More 

carshalton surrey
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed two nights and found the accommodation peaceful and comfortable. We had one evening meal and two breakfasts. The bar has a good selection of local ales kept in excellent condition.I had the fish and chips with the beer batter and enjoyed it very much.Someone else had the steak pie and enjoyed it as well.The low points.Well another guest... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. Delighted that you enjoyed the majority of your chosen menu items, but apologise if you were not keen on the soup, seafood or bacon. Your comments have been passed on to the kitchen team. We do pride ourselves on our menu items and our chef is well know locally for... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question