We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Kennards House B&Bs / inns

Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club

3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Kennards House | Launceston, Kennards House, Launceston PL15 8QE, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club to your Saves list
Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
82%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
slobbergob devon
  • Reviews (77)
  • Photos (49)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (13)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    30
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
25
16
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
devon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent one night here while the weather was hot and sunny. Our room was in the block furthest away from the golf clubhouse. It's just on the right as you enter trethorne golf course. The blocks here have 6 rooms in each block. 3 upstairs and 3downstairs. Room is very spacious. Super king size bed ( 2x3ft singles zipped... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JonGrainger, Owner at Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review and comments - we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I would just like to pick up on some of your very valid observations. 1) The curtains are due to be replaced over the next 8 weeks - they will match the room colour and be black out... More

Gillingham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed two nights. Room very good but vent in bathroom filthy - was cleaned after we mentioned it. Water pressure for shower poor. All staff friendly and helpful. Ate in the bar one night, food very good. One morning we had a buffet breakfast which was disappointing and only luke warm, the second morning the breakfast was freshly cooked and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JonGrainger, Owner at Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive comments. I specifically want to address your observations regarding the shower and the buffet breakfast. The showers are gravity fed from roof tanks and historically the pressure was very poor. However, we did invest in two powerful water pumps to alleviate this problem, so I am surprised that you still found the pressure to be... More

Bodmin, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Went to a wedding here and thought we should get a room for the night, so the wife and I could let our hair down a bit.The 1st room we got given looked like it had not been cleaned for a long time. The TV did not work and it looked like the room was not in use for letting,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JonGrainger, Owner at Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest review - all feedback, both positive and otherwise is really useful. I am not sure which room you were originally allocated, however, I am pleased that you were offered an alternative. You will see from our recent reviews that many of our rooms have been recently upgraded, which is of course an ongoing process. We... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Very welcoming on arrival with exemplary attentiveness to detail. The rooms were spacious and clean with ample facilities. No expense had been spared on the accommodation. The food was reasonable but nothing to shout about but the jolly and friendly atmosphere accompanied with the surroundings made the stay all the more memorable. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JonGrainger, Owner at Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have recently refurbished our Lodge bedrooms so we are doubly delighted that you noted the improvements! We hope to see you again in the future. More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from staying here, it was a fabulous accommodation. The rooms were lovely, very clean and lots of space. There was a wife choice of food and great value. The staff were all friendly and the golf was brilliant. Would recommend staying here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JonGrainger, Owner at Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Considering the winter we have had weather wise, we are really pleased how the golf course has stood up to it, and although we are a few weeks behind where we would expect to be, we are very pleased with its... More

Lancashire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed one night here whilst visiting friends in Launceston. Our room was large and recently decorated with separate ensuite toilet and bathroom. The bed was huge and extremely comfy - had a fabulous night's sleep. Dinner in the restaurant was superb with a good range of choice and excellent value however the only slight downside was slow service. There was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JonGrainger, Owner at Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. In relation to your comments about slow service, please accept our apologies. It is often difficult to gauge staffing levels during the winter / shoulder months and maybe in this case we were slightly understaffed in the kitchen. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I stayed here last year as a present fom my wife and daughter. First impressions were good, staff were friendly etc. I wanted to use the driving range but was disappointed to find the layout on the upper level as not being the best facility i had ever used. I felt the course was in a very good condition and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JonGrainger, Owner at Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we are pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. You stayed in our only single room on the premises, and whilst these rooms in the clubhouse are clean and functional, they are in need of updating. We have recently embarked upon a refurbishment programme in the lodges, with the clubhouse rooms due... More

Riffa, Bahrain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

I stay here 3-4 times a year for an average of 4 nights each visit, I am always made to feel welcome and the staff are always attentive. Over the last ten years I have seen improvements across the Hotel and Golf course, recently some of the rooms have been upgraded and they are currently working their way through the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JonGrainger, Owner at Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this lovely and positive review. We are indeed in the middle of refurbishing our lodges and we are really pleased how they are looking! We are very aware that we need to keep on top of our standards and this refurbishment plan will go a long way to ensuring guest satisfaction, we hope! We look... More

Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I am writing as a wife accompanying my husband on a business trip. The welcome was warm and professional, the reception area tidy and well decorated. The room was clean, comfortable spacious with a clean spacious bathroom. The Bar area was well decorated with WiFi. The dining room was tastefully decorated giving a warm welcoming atmosphere. The food was amazing,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JonGrainger, Owner at Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your generous and kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. More

Cornwall
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Having just organised my Daughters wedding, we chose the venue as it was very convenient, for Family and guests.We also liked the scenery and the civil wedding room. The service was faultless over the two days of setting up, and during the day nothing was too much trouble. The food was gorgeous, all served hot and delicious, the Vegetarian option... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JonGrainger, Owner at Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind comments - we are all delighted that your daughter's wedding was an enjoyable occasion for everybody. Wedding Days can be busy occasions and we work very hard to make sure everything is just perfect!! We look forward to seeing you all again soon. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club

Address: Kennards House | Launceston, Kennards House, Launceston PL15 8QE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Launceston > Kennards House
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in the beautiful Cornish countryside, Trethorne offers the perfect blend of a picturesque and accessible location just off the the A30. Famous for their warm,friendly hospitality and hearty, home-cooked food, the Hotel offers guests warm, well proportioned accommodation with en-suite bathrooms, TV and Tea/coffee making facilities, Pets are welcome too and stay Free of Charge. Free WiFi is available at the clubhouse and a Private Conference and Banqueting suite offers a light and contemporary ambiance for your event or special occasion and is also licensed for Civil Weddings.The Eden Project, Dartmoor National Park and the fantastic North Cornwall surf are just 30 minutes away. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
16

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer