We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Philadelphia hotels

Silver Star Hotel and Casino

Highway 16 West, Pearl River Resort - Choctaw, Philadelphia, MS 39350
Hotel amenities
Silver Star Hotel and Casino
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Philadelphia
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Philadelphia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    18
    15
    18
    36
See reviews for
12
38
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We Were Very Pleased With Our Last Stay, Treated Good! Now I'm Reading Reviews And Have Already Booked A Room For The 23 Of April Coming From Illinois And Wondering What The Problem Is With The Silver Star. When We Lived In Ala We, Came All The Time Since You Opend. Now We Live In Illinois And Still Like To... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

I usually do not take the time to write reviews but I feel this needed to be shared. We came down for a convention for which our rooms had to be booked 3 weeks in advance. We drove from Alabama and got there at 10:30 pm and were told that our room was not ready yet. Reluctantly we headed to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PearlRiverResort, Social Media Specialist at Silver Star Hotel and Casino, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay with us. I would like to offer a sincere apology for the experiences you mentioned in your review. I assure you we strive to provide our guests with the very best service experience possible. We are constantly continuing to improve our service standards through evaluation and training. I have forwarded your... More

Travelers are raving about these Philadelphia hotels

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We used to frequent here but after the horrible experiences we have had lately, we will NEVER be coming back. WORST EXCUSE FOR A BUFFET THAT I HAVE EVER SEEN! Practically everything was inedible. The crab legs were smaller than my pinky and tasted horrible. We didn't even want to gamble after we ate just because of how disappointed and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PearlRiverResort, Social Media Specialist at Silver Star Hotel and Casino, responded to this review

I would like to offer you my deepest apolgies for your experience. We take pride in our restuarants and seek to serve our guests only the highest quality options. Please email me at chelsea@pearlriverresort to further discuss this experience. I would like to work with you to restore your confidence in our delicious restaurants. Please don't hesitate to contact me.... More

Schwertner, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On a road trip from TX to GA we stopped & spent the night at Silver Star. This is our 2nd visit so the room was comped. We had to take a smoking room because they had no non-smoking rooms available. We weren't happy but we were tired. We had been on the road for 10 hours. Room was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PearlRiverResort, Social Media Specialist at Silver Star Hotel and Casino, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest review! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your offers from us! We will share your comments regarding your concerns with your hotel stay with our team. We apologize for your inconvenience and urge you to visit us again. We assure you these experiences do not reflect the service and hospitality we strive to provide. More

Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I'm from Des Moines, Ia. When I visit my family in DeKalb, Mississippi i enjoy going to the casino playing the machines. Also listening to good dancing music. Meeting new people, Employees are very friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PearlRiverResort, Social Media Specialist at Silver Star Hotel and Casino, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are thrilled you enjoyed yourself. We can't wait to see you again! More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Not only was the hotel stay not very good, but the seafood buffet was the worst I've ever seen. The crab legs was so OOOOOOOOOOOHHHH small, a pencil was bigger than they Were. I talked to the manger,and he said that that's the way they are. Silver star should be shut down for that crap!!!! I payed $26 for that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
PearlRiverResort, Social Media Specialist at Silver Star Hotel and Casino, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for your honest review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. I would also like to extend my deepest apolgy for the experiences you mentioned. I am highly concerned abou the incidences you mentioned as this is not the type of service we strive to provide for our customers. I would like to speak with you... More

Flowood, Mississippi
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Based on 1 year of frequent visits to Silverstar we have deducted the following observation: No worthwhile buffet offers Stingy free play offers (compared to other casinos) machine win frequency is less than 10 percent. the gals that offer drinks while your playing seem to be wondering why hardly anyone orders drinks and we noticed their tip jar is near... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PearlRiverResort, Social Media Specialist at Silver Star Hotel and Casino, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments concerning your recent visits with us. I would like to offer a sincere apology for the experiences you mentioned in your review. I assure you we strive to provide our guests with the very best service experience possible. We also value each of our guests and feel that we have exceptional clientele. I would like... More

Columbus, Mississippi
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We went to Silver Star for an manager birthday/christmas party and the buffet was awful. The choices were boring and so was the taste of the food. It is not worth the $16 a person. But was really a turn off was when My boyfriend and I sat at a machine and not only lost all of our money within... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
PearlRiverResort, Social Media Specialist at Silver Star Hotel and Casino, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments concerning your recent visit with us. I would like to offer a sincere apology for the experience you mentioned in your review. We strive to provide our guests with the very best service experience possible. I would like to personally speak with you regarding this incident as it is honest feedback such as this that... More

Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

had not been in years & friends asked us to go for the three day weekend,,,..we quit going four years ago due to what we considered overall poor service and attitudes. the first day(Friday) getting drinks was a joke, the machines as usual were cold but the kicker was when we went to the room and ordered room service.....after 25... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
PearlRiverResort, Social Media Specialist at Silver Star Hotel and Casino, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay with us. I would like to offer a sincere apology for the experience you mentioned in your review. We strive to provide our guests with the very best service experience possible. I would like to personally speak with you regarding this incident as it is honest feedback such as this that... More

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Good- safe environment, friendly staff, great spa services. Not so good- the food on buffet is pretty much the same everyday, rooms need to be updated, pool closes too early. I feel there wasn't anything in town to do but gamble. Staff appeared to be very short staffed. Many of the stores were closed during the week.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Been to Silver Star Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Star Hotel and Casino

Also Known As:
Silver Star Hotel Philadelphia
Silver Star Hotel
Silver Star Resort
Silverstar Casino
Address: Highway 16 West, Pearl River Resort - Choctaw, Philadelphia, MS 39350
Location: United States > Mississippi > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the golf club ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Star Hotel and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Silver Star Hotel and Casino to your Saves list