We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown

2.0 of 5 209 South Gallatin Street, Jackson, MS 39203
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown
Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown
Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    20
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
15
7
2
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (53)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

In 2013, Conde Nast ranked Jackson, MS one of the friendliest cities in the country, and for good reason. People are just nice in Jackson. It became apparent as soon as I checked in at this Sleep Inn. I'm used to seeing professional friendliness from the desk staff at hotels, but this staff seemed genuinely happy to have me and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oxford, Mississippi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

I stayed here while at a conference and it more than exceeded my expectations. The price was great and while the breakfast wasn't as good as other Choice properties, it was still good for a free breakfast. The rooms were clean and the wifi worked well. Location isn't the best, especially if you're out at night, but in the mornings... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

I have stayed here twice and it is a very clean hotel. Desk staff were very helpful and friendly. The union station train station is directly across the street. It's not a problem as far as noise as long as your air conditioner is on, lol. Not the best part of town, just be careful outside to much.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

This hotel was a bit hard to find and on the fringes of the convention center area. We had expected, with a "downtown" location, that there would be a choice of restaurants within walking distance. There was actually only one, which happened to be very good. The breakfast selections were adequate but seemed less than offered at most Choice Hotels.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

This was the host hotel for our event and it was a very enjoyable stay. The rooms were nice and had both a refrigerator and microwave. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included in the stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly D, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this review

On behalf of the Sleep Inn & Suites Team, we would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We really appreciate you sharing your comments and we look forward to seeing you soon. Thank you, Kimberly Davis More 

Usk, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

My two friends and I stayed here as a stop off on our Amtrak journey from New Orleans to Mississippi. It's conveniently located - about 5-10 minutes walk from Amtrak and about 15 to the main part of downtown Jackson. Our room was massive , the beds were massive and comfy, the bathroom was massive and had a bath as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kimberly D, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. We really appreciate the great comments and will use your feedback to correct any areas that need improvements. Thank you, Kimberly Davis GM More 

Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I kind of was expecting a bad experience about this property. Mainly just because it was Jackson. My only complaint had nothing to do with the hotel. Just that there was no where to eat on a Sunday. Well I take that back. I was driving a large vehicle and I had to wait for their lot to clear out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I was in Jackson Ms. for an extended period of time, My stay at The Sleep Inn was great, Management and staff were excellent and always friendly and accommodating. The Hotel and room was clean, modern, comfortable, and overall of good quality. I would truly recommend The Sleep Inn Downtown to anybody visiting Jackson Mississippi. I always felt safe, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly D, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time from your busy schedule to tell us about your recent stay. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for allowing Sleep Inn & Suites to be "Your Home Away From Home." We hope to see you soon! Thank you, Kimberly Davis GM More 

Topeka, KS
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Check in was easy. Nice room. Not located in a very good neighborhood. Didn't have any problems but was a little concerned with security. Breakfast buffet was just fair. Major train track about 2 block away. Several trains passed during the night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly D, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments with us, we really appreciate the great comments about the hotel. However, we are sadden that Downtown Jackson did not meet your expectations. The city is changing phases and hopefully soon, the area will be a Jewel. Thanks again for choosing Sleep Inn & Suites. More 

West Monroe, Louisiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Upon arrival, I was greeted by the front desk clerk Antoinette. She was very nice and especially helpful. All of the staff I interacted with were very friendly and accommodating. I was however a little disappointed with the neighborhood upon arrival. I didn't have any problems but I was somewhat worried about the security of the parking lot considering the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kimberly D, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire team, Sleep Inn & Suites would like to thank you for your wonderful comments. We are very sorry that the location did not meet your expectations, however do not let that steer you away. Jackson is reviving, so hopefully when you return, things would be a lot different. Hope to see you again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown

Address: 209 South Gallatin Street, Jackson, MS 39203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Jackson
#4 Best Value Hotel in Jackson

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay