We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 47 Jackson hotels

Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   209 South Gallatin Street, Jackson, MS 39203
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown to your Saves list
Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
81%
Ranked #9 of 47 hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014
RachelBL Usk, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (48)
  • Photos (8)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (6)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    17
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
15
6
1
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Usk, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

My two friends and I stayed here as a stop off on our Amtrak journey from New Orleans to Mississippi. It's conveniently located - about 5-10 minutes walk from Amtrak and about 15 to the main part of downtown Jackson. Our room was massive , the beds were massive and comfy, the bathroom was massive and had a bath as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kimberly D, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. We really appreciate the great comments and will use your feedback to correct any areas that need improvements. Thank you, Kimberly Davis GM More

LAS VEGAS
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I kind of was expecting a bad experience about this property. Mainly just because it was Jackson. My only complaint had nothing to do with the hotel. Just that there was no where to eat on a Sunday. Well I take that back. I was driving a large vehicle and I had to wait for their lot to clear out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I was in Jackson Ms. for an extended period of time, My stay at The Sleep Inn was great, Management and staff were excellent and always friendly and accommodating. The Hotel and room was clean, modern, comfortable, and overall of good quality. I would truly recommend The Sleep Inn Downtown to anybody visiting Jackson Mississippi. I always felt safe, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly D, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time from your busy schedule to tell us about your recent stay. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for allowing Sleep Inn & Suites to be "Your Home Away From Home." We hope to see you soon! Thank you, Kimberly Davis GM More

Topeka, KS
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Check in was easy. Nice room. Not located in a very good neighborhood. Didn't have any problems but was a little concerned with security. Breakfast buffet was just fair. Major train track about 2 block away. Several trains passed during the night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly D, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments with us, we really appreciate the great comments about the hotel. However, we are sadden that Downtown Jackson did not meet your expectations. The city is changing phases and hopefully soon, the area will be a Jewel. Thanks again for choosing Sleep Inn & Suites. More

West Monroe, Louisiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Upon arrival, I was greeted by the front desk clerk Antoinette. She was very nice and especially helpful. All of the staff I interacted with were very friendly and accommodating. I was however a little disappointed with the neighborhood upon arrival. I didn't have any problems but I was somewhat worried about the security of the parking lot considering the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kimberly D, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire team, Sleep Inn & Suites would like to thank you for your wonderful comments. We are very sorry that the location did not meet your expectations, however do not let that steer you away. Jackson is reviving, so hopefully when you return, things would be a lot different. Hope to see you again. More

Tampa, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
43 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

The hotel is nice enough for the money. Unfortunately the neighborhood is quite shady. We walked across the street for dinner, they have to have a sheriff deputy posted outside because of the neighborhood. When we walked back to the hotel, we saw a man walking with his pants down, literally down! We didn't have children with us but at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly D, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments, we are glad you enjoyed the hotel and hope to assist you again. See you soon! More

Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

There was a mix up with my suite due from an online issue my room was assigned to three other people however the overnight attended assist me very well she was very helpful and very nice I appreciate her understanding and taking care of the situation at hand the whole staff from front of the house to back of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly D, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for the great comments. It is our pleasure to go above and beyond to assist our guest. I am very glad the agent on duty took care of your needs. I will be sure to share your comments with the staff. Comments like yours, make us continue to strive for EXCELLENCE. We hope to see you again. More

Calhoun, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This hotel is in a very convenient location to the downtown area of Jackson. The room are very well kept, and clean. The hotel offers the usual amenities such as free Wi-Fi and a printer in the lobby. Free USA Today newspapers are available early in the morning, as is a scrumptious breakfast. This is the ONLY hotel where the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kimberly D, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We greatly appreciate all the wonderful comments. I will have our engineering department look into those issues that did not meet your satisfaction. We thank you again, and hope to see you soon! More

Jackson, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I checked into the hotel rather late. The gentleman (Ramone) at the front desk greeted me and welcomed me . I was having such a bad day and when I got to the hotel all I wanted to do was sleep and not be bothered. But after meeting Ramone I felt alittle better. I went to my room not expecting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kimberly D, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your opinion with us about your recent stay. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. I will share your comments with Ramon. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Kimberly... More

Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

On October 14, 2013, I arrived at the Sleep Inn and Suites (Downtown Jackson) and was immediately greeted by two(2) friendly staff members at the front desk. Upon arrival in my room, the general manager (GM) phoned my room to verify that all of my "special requests", from the choicehotel website, had been adhered to. The fact that a GM... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly D, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful comments. We love to give our guest "Great Southern Hospitality." It is always our pleasure to make sure you have a comfortable stay. Whenever you are heading this way, feel free to call us. We look forward to see you soon! Kimberly Davis GM 601-896-0390 More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown

Address: 209 South Gallatin Street, Jackson, MS 39203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

8 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#4 Business Hotel in Jackson #4 Best Value Hotel in Jackson
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
68

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer