We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Generals' Quarters

Hotel website
924 Fillmore Street, Corinth, MS 38834
The Generals' Quarters
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    17
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
30
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (53)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Melbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Like the last reviewer we arrived to fine a note pinned to the door with a phone number but when we tried to ring where told it was unavailable after waiting for around twenty minutes we left and never did get to stay fortunately my credit card company refunded the money charged the next day by the owner of this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chefluke, Owner at The Generals' Quarters, responded to this review

We had checked your reservations and had informed your travel agent that they had booked your room for the previous evening and that you didnot show to check-in.since we did not have any reservations for the next night,we were not at home.I am sorry for your inconvenience. More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

Upon arrival at 3:45 p.m., there was a note on the door with a number to call, with these words, "I will be right over." The call went to voice mail and I left a message and waited 17 minutes outside for which we were not dressed - very hot, humid day. I called a 2nd time and this time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chefluke, Owner at The Generals' Quarters, responded to this review

.the reason for the note in the door is that I work an extra job,but ,I am only minutes away and can break away at a phone call.When I spoke to your wife I explained this to her and mentioned I would be right there.She said to take my time as you were going to stroll around town.I asked what... More 

Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
49 hotel reviews
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

Location is what the Generals Quarters has going for it. My wife and I chose to stay here solely based on its proximity to the battlefields of Shiloh and Corinth. We were in Room 6; it was big and had a comfortable king bed. The whole place is rather eclectically decorated. The two breakfasts we had were big and serviceable,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

I was looking for a place to stay close to the Civil War battlefield at Shiloh and found The Generals' Quarters. Really glad that I did because we didn't have Corinth on our list and found it to be a lovely town and had a really good dinner (Smith's) which our B&B host recommended. There are two lovely old houses... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

You will love the charm of this place. It's located in an historic neighbourhood and is a quick few blocks to the centre of town. While it is very old and does not offer all modern amenities, our room was large and comfortable, though a little warm because of the extreme humidity. There are free snacks and drinks offered with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ocala, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed in Corinth for 4 nights while we were visiting the Corinth Civil war Interpretive Center and Shiloh National Military Park. The owner graciously upgraded us to Room 3 without extra charge since we were the only ones in the B & B at that time. We had plenty of room in # 3, which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Just perfect! The inn was very clean and welcoming. The innkeeper was very nice and helpful. We stayed in Room 2 and have no complaints. There is a little upstairs porch that was a nice little place to sit in the evening to enjoy our wine. Breakfast was fine and Chef Luke knew we had a long drive ahead, so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
27 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

While this is an absolutely lovely home, everything about it seems tired. We spent three nights here and the breakfasts were a big disappointment. Everything looked and tasted like it came straight from the microwave. The owner seemed not to care and only after we inquired about checking out early did his interest in accommodating us improve.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We had a large, comfortable, lovely room with a king bed, couch and comfy chair and ottoman arranged in front of a (non working) fireplace located on the first floor. we could have been comfortable there for several days. That being said, there are a few things which need attention. The gift? Area in what could be a lovely entrance... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sparks, Nevada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We took advantage of their 20 years anniversary deal. The place is tired but for the price we thought it was great value for the money. We would rather stay in a warm, inviting slightly tired inn over a brand new bland and characterless motel on Main Street .Our room, Albert Sidney Johnston was specious, clean, and had two wingback... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities