We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fortune Bay Resort Casino

1430 Bois Forte Rd., Tower, MN 55790
Fortune Bay Resort Casino
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    28
    23
    18
    7
See reviews for
25
50
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (112)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (52)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Andover, MN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had won a free nights stay at the resort, so we gave it a try. It was a premium room that was part of a new section of the resort. Room had high ceilings and was nice. The resort has the usual casino buffet. Other choices include a steak house and some café grills that are in the casino. One... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BrianKAnderson, Public Relations Manager at Fortune Bay Resort Casino, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Sorry that you did not receive better service while visiting our North Star Bar. Regarding the smoke smell, yes, we allow smoking in the casino and in designated rooms in the resort. However, we do not allow smoking in our restaurants, resort lobby, hallways, swimming pool, etc. We do respect the Second Amendment, but due... More 

Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

We stayed here for a weekend while snowmobiling. My husband booked a non smoking room with 2 queen beds online. When we arrived we were given a smoking room and told that booking online "doesn't work" and we should have called them. ?!?!? There were no other rooms available, so we had to take the horrible smelling smoking room. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BrianKAnderson, Public Relations Manager at Fortune Bay Resort Casino, responded to this review

Good morning: We are sorry to hear about your online booking problem. We always try to accommodate nonsmoking room requests even if it was not reserved that way in our system. However, if we are extremely busy, it is not always possible to get a nonsmoking room. If your husband has a print out of his reservation, I would like... More 

Travelers are raving about these Tower hotels

MN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Room was spacious, clean and had no smoke smell. Relatively new with good beds. Great for snowmobiler's in the winter. Will return but in the summer. Very large pool area. Attached to Fortune Bay Casino

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrianKAnderson, Public Relations Manager at Fortune Bay Resort Casino, responded to this review

Good morning: Thank you for your review about our property. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again this summer! More 

Hibbing, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

Fortune Bay is always clean and the staff is always helpful. It is a nice casino hotel for a little night getaway! We like to come up here to gamble so it is just a nice convince to be able to stay somewhere that is warm and welcoming.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrianKAnderson, Public Relations Manager at Fortune Bay Resort Casino, responded to this review

Good morning: Thank you for your kind comments about your recent stay. Have a great week! More 

Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

We stayed at Fortune Bay Hotel during the Martin Luther King weekend. We were in a premium room which was very nice. The pool area is great with a nice, pool, hot tub and sauna. After 10 p.m., children are asked to leave, which is nice for the adults. We have stayed here many times, so my problem with the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BrianKAnderson, Public Relations Manager at Fortune Bay Resort Casino, responded to this review

Good morning: Sorry for the delayed reply to your response and bringing our attention to the fact that we overlooked some of the smaller, but yet important details during your most recent stay. Yes, we have changed some of our promotions, but we do still send out offers to our players as well as text messages with property specials. Thank... More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

The rooms are good size, they have a large bathroom sink space for the ladies. The Pool is large and wet and the hot tubs hot. If your looking to Golf or fish it is a great destination. The staff is very friendly and seem to care about the guests.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrianKAnderson, Public Relations Manager at Fortune Bay Resort Casino, responded to this review

Good morning: Thanks for taking the time to write about your stay at our property. We’ll make sure to let our staff know that you appreciated their efforts in making your stay an enjoyable one! More 

Pequot Lakes
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

Our team had a hockey tournament in a neighboring town and this was the only available location. Overall it was a really good experience. While the check-in seemed to take longer than average they were extremely friendly. We had our entire family of 5 and were placed into a Premium suite with a king sized bed, fireplace, small refrigerator, Murphy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrianKAnderson, Public Relations Manager at Fortune Bay Resort Casino, responded to this review

Good morning: Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It sounds as though you experienced several of our amenities and had an enjoyable time while here. Our views of Lake Vermilion are nice, but some of the rooms do overlook our parking lot. Regarding the smoke smell, you should not have encountered that as our resort lobby,... More 

northwest ontario
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

We stayed here for a quick get away and just booked an ordinary room. I would never do it again for one main reason; it wasn't super clean. There were stains on the walls in the bathroom, and the corners weren't clean either. The room was musty even though it wasn't a smoking room. The room itself was on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BrianKAnderson, Public Relations Manager at Fortune Bay Resort Casino, responded to this review

Good morning: Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. We’re sorry to hear that the room you stayed in did not meet your standards. If you stay with us again, please let us know of any concerns when you become aware of them so that we may rectify the problem right away. Thanks again for taking the... More 

Boynton Beach, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

A few of us girls spent a night at the Bay. We did some gambling, had dinner, a few toddies and gambled some more. The check-in was efficient.....the room was clean ..... But most important, the bed was comfortable!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BrianKAnderson, Public Relations Manager at Fortune Bay Resort Casino, responded to this review

Good morning: Thank you for your review about our property. We are glad that your stay was a positive one and that you were able to experience some of our amenities. Thanks again, have a great week ahead! More 

Blaine, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Fortune Bay Friday October 3rd and checked out on Monday October 6th. The last time we stayed at the resort was back in June of 2014. The customer service was an issue and I have to say that this time it was wonderful. We had James check us in again and he was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BrianKAnderson, Public Relations Manager at Fortune Bay Resort Casino, responded to this review

Good afternoon: Sorry for the delayed response to your review and thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We apologize for the issues you encountered with your room and will let our housekeeping manager know about them. We’re glad that you enjoyed our Customer Appreciation Day as well as your dinners at the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities