We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Surfside on Lake Superior

#3 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel packages
Highway 61, Tofte, MN 55615
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Surfside on Lake Superior
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015

Another wonderful stay at Surfside- this is our 4th stay and we have never been disappointed. From check-in, to the property itself, to the wonderful views- our stays have always been a wonderful peaceful, quiet retreat. The Surfside townhomes are spacious 3 level retreats- the top level 2 bedroom unit has wonderful vaulted ceilings with lakeside breathtaking views that allow... More 

Helpful?
Thank Grch
toledo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2015

This was our first time at Surfside, though we have been visiting the North Shore in early November for several years. Our past accommodations have always been very nice, but the Surfside upper unit A definitely had the most and the best views of the lake and shore that I've seen. The living room windows are huge, the dining room... More 

Helpful?
Thank ToledoMisspeaches
Spirit Lake, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2015

The Surfside property itself was wonderful however our reservation was inaccurate. On the website they list a three night minimum stay. Unfortunately, I called to make the reservation as I specifically wanted an end unit. I requested a three night stay and was given a confirmation number. On our third day there we drove several hours South and received a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank TheSchnells
BluefinGM, Manager at Surfside on Lake Superior, responded to this review

This reservation was made for two nights, even though there was a 3 night minimum that weekend, because there was only an opening for two nights available in that unit. An e-mail confirmation was sent confirming the same. We contacted the guest via cell phone while they were hiking and told them that we had no choice, but to move... More 

Savage, Minnesota
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2015

My family has taken several trips to Surfside over the past several years as it's our favorite place on the north shore. We stayed in Unit 9 which has beautiful views of the bay and rocky shoreline. We had amazing weather for October. The one day it rained for a few minutes was followed by a brilliant rainbow stretching across... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brian F
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2015 via mobile

We celebrated our anniversary over the first weekend in October. We love Surfside, and the fall foliage on the North Shore made it even better. To top it off, it was windy, so we we got to see some really good waves! Sunday brunch at the Waves of Superior Cafe was excellent. We're already looking forward to our next visit!

Helpful?
1 Thank usable_stuff
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2015

We arrived for our fifth stay at Surfside on 9/27/15. To our disappointment when we got to our condo the floors had food, dirt, sand and white lint everywhere. We promptly went back to the check in desk and told Dan what we found, explaining that we had the same thing when we stayed in Sept. of 2014. After waiting... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lori H
BluefinGM, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside on Lake Superior, responded to this review

Thank you for your review alerting us to the issues you have experienced during your recent stay with us at Surfside on Lake Superior. We pride ourselves on responding to customers' concerns very quickly, so what you have experienced is inexcusable. Recently our summer staff, consisting of about 25 International Students, left to go back home to attend school or... More 

New Brighton, Minnesota
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2015

We arrived in the rain last Thursday and were able to check in early so that was a plus. We stayed three nights and didn't see the sun at the lake but hiking inland brought some sunshine. The Fall colors were slower this year so we weren't there at peak as in years past. The room was nice and food... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cindy6074
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2015

We had never been to the North Shore, but wanted to visit for our 10 year anniversary. I did a lot of research, and I'm very glad we picked Surfside. We saved up our money ($279/night!) and stayed two nights. The property was very well maintained, and the room itself (first level Master Suite) was fantastic. The view was absolutely... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank AKMinnMick
BluefinGM, General Manager at Surfside on Lake Superior, responded to this review

As your comments indicate we are now completing our newest three townhomes at Surfside. Earlier in the building process when exterior construction was underway we notified all guests in advance so they could make other plans if they wished. We also held the unit closest to the new building, the one in which you stayed, out of rental so it... More 

Pequot Lakes
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

We stayed beginning of August 2015 and went with our family (kids ages 15, 13 and 9). Normally we camp in the area so this was a fun treat to stay on the North Shore but still have all the luxuries of home. We spent the days cliff jumping at the local Temperance Park, walking the various rivers, and hiking... More 

Helpful?
Thank FritzyMom
Minnesota
Level Contributor
143 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2015

My daughter and I stayed here for her 18th birthday. We booked a lower floor room with a walk out to the lake, since we brought the dog. I have to say the room was so clean (and new) and there was everything you could think of. The kitchenette, had a fridge, microwave, and coffee pot, with all the dishes,... More 

Helpful?
Thank thespottedtraveler
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofte
1.1 mi away
Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior
8.4 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
1.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Solbakken Resort
Solbakken Resort
#1 of 4 in Lutsen
4.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
9.3 mi away
Caribou Highlands Lodge
9.5 mi away
Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay