We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Water Street Inn

GreenLeadersBronze level
101 Water Street South, Stillwater, MN 55082
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Water Street Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Water Street Inn
Rate this Hotel

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    48
    52
    48
    47
See reviews for
26
148
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (235)
  • Mar-May only
    (56)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (65)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (66)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (48)
All months
Rogers, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

I have stayed at the Water Street Inn numerous times and have never been disappointed. Yes, the furniture and decor are outdated but that is the hole point of what the hotel is about. The Irish pub is a blast on Friday and Saturday nights! The Sunday brunch is delicious!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
101water, Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you back! More 

La Crosse, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

We booked the water street inn through a travel zoo voucher that we had purchased. This was our first visit to Stillwater. We loved it! I had read some reviews that the rooms and hotel was outdated but isn't that the point? It's a historic hotel and should be expected. The furniture was beautiful and the bed was very comfortable.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
101water, Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review! We do appreciate all the nice things you said and we hope to see you again in the future! More 

Brainerd, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

We just celebrated our anniversary in Stillwater, Minnesota, and we just found that we were charged twice for our stay. Management cannot reverse any charges, we were told when we called about the situation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
101water, Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I do apologize you were unable to make your initial reservation but it did go through as a no-show and unfortunately we do have to charge if a guest does not cancel their reservation. Again, thank you for your review and we will do everything we can to avoid this happening in the future. More 

Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

My husband and I went to the Water Street Inn for my mid-week birthday get-away in January. I had a Groupon for a Bridgeview room with a fireplace and hot tub. We checked in and the staff was helpful, the room had lovely antiques, and the fireplace and hot tub worked just fine. We saw some of what other reviewers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Pros It was clean, it was historic, food was great, location is nice. Cons Loud, was hosting wedding party. Very dated carpet furnishings and grubby. Bed in room was worst mattress ever we could tell it was cheap when it was bought and was 20 years old. Expensive Rooms second bed was a hide a bed in a couch. Even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Blaine, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Our son and daughter in law had their grooms dinner and wedding reception at the hotel. Food was excellent, in fact the best i have ever had at a wedding, as were the waiters and the event planner. The families and wedding party stayed overnight. We stayed in a regular room but were billed for a much higher priced room.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mpls.
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
39 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

This is the second time my wife and I visited Water Street Inn. We checked in on Jan. 1st, so it was a quiet day and that is what we were looking for, just a relaxing evening, in front of a fire, nice dinner and a good nights sleep. We were greeted by an excellent host - a young woman,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stillwater, Minnesota
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

We went downtown with friends this summer. It was raining. But we turned a gray day into a great day by spending time at the Charlie's Pub at the Water Street Inn. The bar had open doors to the beautiful river view, and there was a live band playing fun music. The food and service were very good. We will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2014

We stayed at Water Street Inn in Stillwater, MN on a Tuesday night before Christmas. While the staff is over the top friendly and accommodating, the hotel itself is, well, tired. Although our room was clean, there was paint peeling off the walls in the room, the bed was well-worn and saggy. While this is a historic inn, the light... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

My husband and I stay here several times a year. We love the location. We stayed here on 12-12-14 for our anniversary. We had a busy day of shopping and instead of going out for dinner thought we would eat at the restaurant. If you decide to check the menus online, be forewarned that they are old. The server told... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (72)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question