We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Water Street Inn

GreenLeadersBronze level
101 Water Street South, Stillwater, MN 55082
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Water Street Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Water Street Inn
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    48
    52
    49
    48
See reviews for
27
151
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (241)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (65)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (66)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (48)
All months
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Perfect location in downtown Stillwater. Right on the water, by parks, restaurants and amazing scenery. Our room was very nice, the bed was comfortable and all the people at the hotel were friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Davenport, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Water Street Inn is a wonderful change of pace from the normal, boring ticky-tacky box hotels. Lush Victorian surroundings start in the lobby and follow you right up to your room! In room jacuzzis, fireplaces, and a view that won't quit! I enjoyed my coffee on the small private balcony overlooking the St Croix and ended my day with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a wonderful stay during the "Park the Bus Tour" for St. Patrick's Day weekend. Thoroughly enjoyed the music of "Broken Spoke" and our personal favorite Celtic Folk band, "The Hounds of Finn" The room harkened back to the lumber baron days.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We absolutely love the Historic Water Street Inn! The rooms are HUGE with jacuzzi tubs, fireplaces and amazing waterside views,,, the furniture is historic Victorian in style and just a step back into history :) the bartenders and waitstaff were extremely attentive and friendly! They also have an Irish pub on the mail level with Fabulous Live music on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015 via mobile

The service is HORRIBLE!!! You would think they would hire more seasoned servers and bartenders! The entire staff are just children! Now I know why Waterstreet has such a bad reputation...we will NOT be back and will tell our friends not to waste their time nor money here either!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Stillwater hotels

Oakfield, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

The antique furniture is so old/lumpy in the tv area, one could not find a relaxing position. All there was, was a fainting couch. TV should have been by the bed (bed very small). Noise from restaurant/band below. Owner rude and arrogant. Had to move furniture around to make room somewhat comfortable. Prices much to high for not able to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rogers, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

I have stayed at the Water Street Inn numerous times and have never been disappointed. Yes, the furniture and decor are outdated but that is the hole point of what the hotel is about. The Irish pub is a blast on Friday and Saturday nights! The Sunday brunch is delicious!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
101water, Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you back! More 

La Crosse, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

We booked the water street inn through a travel zoo voucher that we had purchased. This was our first visit to Stillwater. We loved it! I had read some reviews that the rooms and hotel was outdated but isn't that the point? It's a historic hotel and should be expected. The furniture was beautiful and the bed was very comfortable.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
101water, Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review! We do appreciate all the nice things you said and we hope to see you again in the future! More 

Brainerd, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

We just celebrated our anniversary in Stillwater, Minnesota, and we just found that we were charged twice for our stay. Management cannot reverse any charges, we were told when we called about the situation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
101water, Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I do apologize you were unable to make your initial reservation but it did go through as a no-show and unfortunately we do have to charge if a guest does not cancel their reservation. Again, thank you for your review and we will do everything we can to avoid this happening in the future. More 

Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

My husband and I went to the Water Street Inn for my mid-week birthday get-away in January. I had a Groupon for a Bridgeview room with a fireplace and hot tub. We checked in and the staff was helpful, the room had lovely antiques, and the fireplace and hot tub worked just fine. We saw some of what other reviewers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (72)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities