We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Inn-Stillwater/St. Paul

Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
1750 Frontage Rd W, Stillwater, MN 55082
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights - Save 20%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn-Stillwater/St. Paul
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Americas Best Value Inn-Stillwater/St. Paul
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    8
    9
    11
See reviews for
13
14
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (44)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
De Pere, Wisconsin
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I actually didn't feel safe. In Stillwater!? Walked up to get in to hotel and there was a group of young adults/ an array of adults smoking, blocking the entrance and scattered in the parking lot. The key pad at entrance was broken. The halls smelled of smoke horribly. Stains on carpet everywhere. You can really tell how badly this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stillwater, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

I spend several days each month in this location and have never been disappointed. I have been in many different rooms and each one was clean and well-maintained. They are in the process of updating them. The beds are comfortable and have new white comforters. The rooms are pretty--each one is slightly different which I like. My favorite room has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Bed had hair and black marks in it, spots on wall looked like dried blood, at least one of the hanging hand towels appeared it was just used. Place smelled like cigarette smoke everywhere (smoke free room). Dried urine on toilet. Outside security doors had non-working locks. Somebody's music in another room sounded like it was coming from our room.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Stillwater hotels

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

For the price we payed it was a pretty good stay, nothing spectacular by any means. The pool and hot tub were clean and well kept from what we noticed. Our room was clean and the beds were comfortable. All the staff were polite and helpful. The location was close to downtown Stillwater which was where we spent most of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Isanti, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

My husband went up to the front desk to get change for $5 for the vending machines with no problem. I went up there 10-15 minutes later, but there was no one there, so I rang the bell. Out comes this droopy eyed, irate guy who raises his voice, "What... how many times you guys going to come up here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

Something was crawling on my leg and I thought it was a bed bug plus it was real cold, I asked the front desk why it's cold in my room, he replied it's this way at this time of the month, wow okay you can just tell anything to your customers to make them feel like they have to accept... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
abvistillwater, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Stillwater/St. Paul, responded to this review

We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. We had our boilers maxed out to provide as much heat as possible. With temperatures at -15 and windchills around -25 it is very difficult to keep the whole building very warm at all times. We do not have any bugs whatsoever and do have documentation to provide.... More 

Marshfield, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

For a quick stay the price was right. Updated clean room from last year. Check in guy was friendly and knowledgeable about area (lots of highway construction and told us how to get around it.) Said hi to lady next morning and she didn't even acknowledge me. Cleaning ladies were friendly though. Yes, we had the room when opening the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvistillwater, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Stillwater/St. Paul, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. We have many upgrades also planned for the next year and we also plan to expand our breakfast. I apologize about the morning clerk, and this will be addressed. We hope to serve you again for you accommodation needs next time you're in the area. Warm regards Al More 

oakdale
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

I called to see about early check in and wasn't able to arrive but an hour early.no problem. I then asked that they make a note if my late arrival (I'd be there about 2am). When I arrived to check in (granted it was in the middle if the night) I stood at the desk for 25 minutes before I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

We stayed here for a wedding, so the couple had rooms blocked. It's a short cab-ride away from downtown which was nice. The hotel itself was ok - needs some updating. But it served it's purpose since we were only there to sleep one night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvistillwater, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Stillwater/St. Paul, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. We are currently in transition to change all carpeting, beds and bedding in all rooms. We have many other minor upgrades planned to be completed within 6 months. Please visit us again. Thank you! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay, the receptionist was very nice and kind. He has a good sense of humour. The rooms are well kept and neat. I wish it could be my apartment lol. I give them a 10. Keep up the good work 😊😊😊

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question