We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Shakopee hotels

Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1244 Canterbury Road, Shakopee, MN 55379 (Formerly Canterbury Inn)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
45%
Ranked #10 of 12 hotels in Shakopee
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
JENNIFER N MARION
  • Overview
  • Reviews (90)
  • Photos (34)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (30)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    19
    7
    16
    27
See reviews for
31
14
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (90)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
MARION
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our room was very nice/clean and quiet.The curved shower curtain even closed completely. The Pool/2hot tubs were a great way to relax at night. Downside- no fridges/microwaves in the room (fee) and the curtain didn't block out all the light from outside (we like it dark when we sleep). Clean and pet friendly- only $5/night! This hotel is only a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jordan, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This place deserves nothing but 0 out of 5 stars!!! Have a wedding planned here? RUN....!!!! Trust me, you will thank me later!!! The contract you signed will no longer be honored and you will be charged for things that were not in the original agreement! We were told that if we didn't like it that was okay, they would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Little Falls, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If I could give a zero stars, I would. We had to check in late into a FILTHY, SMELLY room! Bugs in dirty windows, dirty towels, dirty bedding, Filthy microwave. I would NEVER, NEVER return! Stay Away!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brainerd, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We checked into one of our rooms at 3:30. The other wasn't ready until nearly 5. Both rooms were nasty. Mold everywhere, filthy microwave, dirty towels and bedding, broken toilet paper holders (or none at all), popcorn on the floor, cigarette burns on the tables- in nonsmoking rooms no less, torn furniture.... I could go on and on.... We went... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hometown, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

AC and "air mattresses" didn't work in our first room, #136. The toilet leaked all over the floor (all of the time) and the shower (drain?) smelled TERRIBLE. There was also black mold on the ceiling. The room was very damp - so damp, that the water on the floor that we tried to wipe up never dried. They switched... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Crosby, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Broken doors, no smoke detectors, dirty, smells, no air conditioning, brother got stuck in elevator for 15 minutes, ants crawling in room, dirty blankets and sheets with blood on them. I do not care if this place is cheap, find a new hotel and pay the extra $30. Every person we talked with said they would never come back and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here as a default choice due to an unexpected change in plans. What a mistake! Exterior is deceptively nice. Interior - rooms are disgusting! It does appear that they are making some changes but in a very bizarre, haphazard manner. Nice new rooms near pool were unused! Assigned folks to dumps! Stayed in Rm 234. New granite counter... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clendenin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

But stayed anyway because it was very close to where I needed to be and was lowest price. Room was clean, staff did good job AND there were plenty of towels and washcloths. Had made the reservation for 4 people. Usually have to ask or beg for more towels. This place had them in the room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marinette
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel was very dirty!! Garbage everywhere by the pool, old food on tables, dried up puke on side of the pool, water was cloudy, and ceiling tiles were falling apart! Not to mention the uncovered electrical outlets! Our room was horrible, the ac didn't work not to mention how unclean it was! I now have a major infection on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karianne O, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review

I am sorry to learn of your unpleasant stay at our hotel. As proud hotel owners we strive to ensure that each guest is satisfied with their stay. We understand that providing a clean room is a crucial element to guest satisfaction. Unfortunately, our goals were not met during your visit. Thank you for bringing our shortcomings to our attention.... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This place was terrible. The rooms a/c didn't work and upon checking in they were charging me more money plus $100 deposit. The lobby looked nice but the rooms were disgusting and the beds were so hard. We cancelled the room and booked another one. Never again will I stay here. And I hope you guys don't book here!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Karianne O, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review

I am sorry that our rooms were not up to your standard and i have informed the housekeeping staff of the standards that are supposed to me met at our hotel. I do want to let you know the $100.00 deposit is something we charge to all guests who are paying cash without a debit or credit card we can... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Address: 1244 Canterbury Road, Shakopee, MN 55379 (Formerly Canterbury Inn)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Shakopee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Shakopee
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites
Canterbury Hotel Shakopee

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Shakopee with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
176

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Americas Best Value Inn & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer