We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

2.5 of 5 1244 Canterbury Road, Shakopee, MN 55379 (Formerly Canterbury Inn)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    20
    9
    21
    29
See reviews for
38
15
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (100)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (52)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Chaska, Minnesota, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Checkout lines were long and very slow, our room had a non functioning airconditioning/heating - room temp was too hot - no need for any covers. Pool area was a mess and not enough towels. Front desk was notified of the heat problem but nothing was done - still have not been contacted by the "Missing Manager"

Was this review helpful? Yes
Megan P, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review

I do apologize your stay was not what you expected. We do have a house person to clean the pool area at night and fill towels, I will make sure to address our head housekeeper of the issues so they can be corrected. I will be in my office all week please contact me personally. More

Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Check in line was out the door. While there were 2 people at the check in counter, only one was able to check people in. We were issued a room on the 3rd floor. I over heard the check in people saying something about the keys not working on the 3rd floor, yet they still issued us keys and let... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Megan P, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We do apologize that your stay was not what you expected. We did have a couple issues with our reservation system so unfortunately we were working a little slower. As far as the issue with the keys we have addressed and corrected it and we apologize for the inconvenience... More

River Falls, Wisconsin
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'm sorry to say this was an awful experience for my family. We stayed at this hotel for a wedding. We couldn't check in til more than an hour after their check-in time as 1 of the rooms we booked in June wasn't ready for us when we arrived in August. I made multiple calls to see if the rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Megan P, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review

I want to that you for your feed back about our hotel, as this is how we can make improvements. I do apologize that your experience with us is not what you expected. I would like you to personally contact me at the hotel, as I am the new front office manager so we can discuss your issues. Thank you More

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel because it was literally the only option for a concert we went to at Canterbury Park. I was expecting it to be horrifically disgusting based on the reviews so I was pleasantly surprised! There were no scattered band aids or turds on the floor that I saw. I would go as far as to say... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Megan P, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review

I want to start by thanking you for your feedback on our property. Unfortunately when Canterbury has large events we do get crowds in here that have behavior we don't want associated with our hotel. We do have security that try to keep up on anyone that may be causing issues, so I do apologize for any issues you may... More

Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I just returned from booking 2 rooms at this hotel, one of the rooms had to be switched 4 times before we got one that we could actually stay in!!! One room had a nice little pile of vomit nest to the bed that was covered up with some kind of powder, the 2nd room had the wall heater pulled... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Megan P, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on our property. I do apologize that your stay is not what you expected. We do want you to have a positive experience at our hotel. We are in the process of renovating, we are under new ownership and management. As far as your concerns with the rooms we do have a new head housekeeper... More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nasty water damaged, musty smeeling room. Leaking roof over eating area dripping on our food. Yuck. Never again. Ther is water damage all over this hotel. Can't believe it hasn't been shut down. Wanted to get food in the eve but they opperate a douchy nightclub out of the resturant with a cover charge. Shakopee nightlife.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Megan P, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I do apologize that your experience with us was well below your standards. We did recognize the water damage and have since resolved the problem. As far as the night club goes we do have live bands Thursday-Sunday that charge a cover. we have different bands each night so I do apologize if the one... More

Dubuque, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

I was worried about the ratings that had been posted earlier on this hotel. But we took our chances. I did call ahead and asked questions. The friendliest of the people at the front desk was fabulous, especially Deb. We booked three rooms. The rooms were clean. Yes the curtains were alittle bit to be desired. But also I know... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Megan P, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am glad to hear your stay with us went well. We are in the middle of a transition and it is appreciated that you recognize this. I do however apologize for your experience at Arizona's. I will contact the correct managers and take appropriate action. We hope to see you next time... More

Lansing, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

I was extremely nervous when it came time to stay at this hotel, as I've been locked into the reservation for over a year, since my sister's wedding reception was at the hotel and the guests were all staying in a block of rooms. All of the negative reviews were certainly enough to scare me away, but I couldn't do... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Megan P, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review

we do appreciate your feedback as it helps us improve our hotel. I am very glad you enjoyed your experience with us. I do want to let you know we are in the process of renovations and included in that is new furniture for all of the rooms. I will address some of the cleanliness issues with housekeeping to make... More

Mandan
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

Upon arriving we noticed there was no sign outside so we weren't totally sure we had arrived at the correct hotel. That should have been our first warning. We had reserved a non-smoking room but found out when we entered our room that we were in for a rough stay. The cigarette smoke smell was unbearable. We tried to open... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Megan P, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review

I sincerely apologize that your stay was well below your expectations. We do have a new housekeeping manager who has really turned things around for us and addressed all cleanliness issues. as for the smoke smell, we are a 100% smoke free facility and anyone who does smoke gets charged a fee so we do apologize that you had to... More

Decorah, Iowa
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Was impressed with the courtesy and helpfulness of the staff. The ice machine did not work however the woman at the front desk provided ice cubes from a cooler. We requested a later checkout time so the kids could swim longer and the front desk cheerfully agreed to that.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Address: 1244 Canterbury Road, Shakopee, MN 55379 (Formerly Canterbury Inn)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Shakopee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Shakopee
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites
Canterbury Hotel Shakopee

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay