We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Shakopee hotels

Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1244 Canterbury Road, Shakopee, MN 55379 (Formerly Canterbury Inn)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
50%
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Shakopee
  • Overview
  • Reviews (71)
  • Photos (29)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (26)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    16
    7
    15
    13
See reviews for
24
12
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shakopee, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Hotel was going through remodeling but when we booked the rooms nothing was said at that time. No mirrors in the bathroom, bugs in the bathroom, rooms were dirty, air conditioner didn't work right, no coffee pot in the room, hallway floors were wet from water coming somewhere. Was there for 3 nights and there was the same litter outside... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andover, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We got to the hotel at 430 and they still did not have a room ready for us. They said it would be 30 mins to an hr. The hotel was dirty and under renovations. I would not stay again, and if you wanted to go to the bar it cost five bucks to get in per person.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hermantown, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I have stayed here one weekend each year for the past 6 years. It used to be an above average and clean hotel. It is currently a run down mess. Our room was a complete disaster with stained toilet and tile, blood on the bathroom wall, no garbage can in the entire "suite", broken drapes, cracked and water stained paint... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Loveland, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We would not stay here again. The rooms and bath are not clean. The windows are dirty. The drapes are falling off their hooks. It smells stale. The towels were not changed and when I called, I was told they had been busy and I had to go to the front desk to get clean ones. They also were out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This is the most disappointing hotel stay I have ever had. When we got to our Nottingham Suite hotel room, we found many things wrong with the room. The room had been falsely advertised on their website to make it seem more luxurious than it really was. On top of that there was hair on the comforter, hairs on one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

we attended a wedding in Pike in May. The hotel stinks like an ashtray, Arizonas looks fresh out of the 80's, it was easily 80 degrees in the banquet room, banquet bar was ill-stocked & staffed. All around poor, from first impression to the bitter end. Ick!

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The hotel seemed nice online and even during check-in, but our experience from there was nothing but disappointing. Our room didn't seem that clean, the bathroom had old tiling, and the television had local channels only, which was okay, except it was mostly static. The pool area had old beer bottles and pizza crusts laying around it. And both my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karianne O, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We are very sorry for the experience you had last summer! We are under new ownership since your stay last summer and undergoing renovations at the property. I hope that you will stay with us again and am confident you will recognize the improvements and changes. More

Savage, Minnesota
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

We had a room that was horrible! The two person jacuzzi hardly fit one person and the jets did NOT work. You went to shower and the water trickled out so you couldn't shower at all. The phone in the room did NOT work. Went to the pool to sit in the hot tub and the jets there did NOT... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andover, Minnesota
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

we have stayed here multiple times this had to be the worst the key cards to get in the room didn't' work most of the time had to run to the front desk multiple times for this issue and our TV didn't have a remote everything needs upgrade.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This place used to be nice. Now it's sadly just very run down. The vending and ice machines didn't work. The elevator was out of service, garbage and bad smells in the hallway, cig butts and band-aids in the rocks by the hot tubs..which coincidentally didn't work either. Poolside room door was broken, cig butts and dog crap all over... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeffrey A, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review

MatildaLMNOP, Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay. I am sorry our hotel did not meet your expectations. I have alerted our housekeeping staff of your findings and we are addressing those issues immediately. I apologize for that. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our restaurants. Thank you again for sharing your... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Address: 1244 Canterbury Road, Shakopee, MN 55379 (Formerly Canterbury Inn)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Shakopee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Shakopee
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites
Canterbury Hotel Shakopee

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
176

See which rooms travelers prefer