We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown

3.0 of 5 411 Minnesota Street, Saint Paul, MN 55101 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Center)
Hotel deals
Hotel website
Special Offer
Weekend Special
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    131
    85
    47
    14
See reviews for
91
71
12
161
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (382)
  • Mar-May only
    (80)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (110)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (135)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (57)
All months
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Had to travel to St. Paul for business, actually had to go last year too. So this hotel is located right in downtown St. Paul and close to everything via the skywalk. they had construction going on in the lobby, hopefully once it's done it will be nicer. The gym was ok, had a few machines which i was able... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel and housekeeping staff. We work very hard to accommodate all our HHonors members on the HHonors floors. In fact we just added another floor or 20 more rooms! At times we do run out of rooms for our members; however you should have still received complimentary water upon check-in. I will... More

Indianapolis, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This hotel is in a great location in downtown St. Paul. Once the lobby is updated and construction is finished, the hotel will be even better. The service here is always excellent, and the rooms are very clean and confortable with all the expected amenities.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you Meghan! We are so pleased to hear that your were completely satisfied with your stay. Wait until you see the new look in a few weeks. Brian More

Ames, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Everything was fine with the room -- normal hotel with nice staff, a passable fitness center, the tasty cookie, and a really comfy bed. Unfortunately I purchased a pantry item which gave them my debit card number. When I next looked at my statement I discovered that an extra $10 had been charged for a day after I left. I... More

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

We apologize for the billing discrepancy you encountered and appreciate that you brought the issue to our attention. We assure you that our staff is held to very high integrity and values. We're glad we were able to rectify and clarify the situation but regret our delay in following up. By now someone has followed up with you. I have... More

Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This was a great experience due to the amazing front desk employees. The first floor is under construction, but tolerable. Parking was easy and checkout flawless. The grill provided a wide variety of American fare. There is something for everyone. The Sunday morning buffet was a bargain with juice and coffee included.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Alda Thank you for the wonderful comments on the staff. We work very hard to make sure all our guests have an enjoyable experience. Brian More

Mosinee, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

The beds were comfortable. Check-in was easy, but the staff didn't recognize my HH membership. The check-in cookie was warm and good. The hotel room was quiet and I could control the temperature. However, I received a wake-up call I didn't request and the staff didn't say anything, plus the parking I paid for was only good until 4:00 pm... More

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Brian More

Houston, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I like this hotel, but their bath rooms need to be cleaned a little better, specially the bath tubs. Also, wish they include breakfast. Maybe increase the rate a bit and include breakfast. The beds are comfortable and the staff is friendly, that is why I keep going back!.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Hello Lina Thank you for your comments. I did meet with the Executive Housekeeper about your bathroom and we will both address it. We were glad to hear everything else was to your satisfaction. See you again soon. Brian More

St Paul, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We flew into Minnesota for a wedding. The hotel is currently under construction, however I could overlook it because of the staff. They were welcoming, helpful with directions, no problem with parking. They also provided a shuttle to the wedding and back. I only had breakfast in the hotel and it was very good. Then again, the staff went out... More

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Paul Thank you for the wonderful comments! Construction of the new restaurant an lobby will be completed very soon. We anticipate around June 1st. All the heavy construction is completed. All that's left is painting and setting up furniture. Until then, we will keep providing the outstanding service you enjoyed. See you again soon! Brian More

Columbus, NE, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

This hotel was extremely nice and clean and was in a great location. However, you can tell that when a remodel was completed, they pretty much polished a turd. The windows gave the room an extremely old feel as did some other things that weren't replaced during remodel.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Darren We are sorry you felt the hotel was not to your particular liking. The renovation of the lobby and the addition of a new restaurant will be completed around June 1st. We trust you will like changes. Glad to hear everything else was to your liking. Brian More

Bemidji, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Probably not a total fair evaluation as lots of remodeling going on. Front desk area was moved to temp location. I average 80 nights a year in hotel rooms. Very seldom in big cities so not used to the high prices on everything and that influenced some of my ratings. Wasn't a bad place to stay but not that special... More

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Hello Rich We are sorry you did not find value in the buffet breakfast. Also, if your travels ever take you to St. Paul again, please ask for other parking options. As we do not own the parking garage, there are other parking garages close by that can accommodate your full size vehicle. Thank you Brian More

St Paul, MN, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Room was very dirty, appeared to be dried blood on the bathroom door frame and shower curtain. The room was warm and humid. Ended up turning the temperature controls off completely and opening a window. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, I will not be staying there again.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Corey Once I received your comments I immediately met with the Executive Housekeeper to fix the problem. We do apologize. Renovations will be completed soon. We have renovated the lobby and added a great restaurant adjacent to the lobby. Thank you for the nice comments about the staff. Brian More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown

Address: 411 Minnesota Street, Saint Paul, MN 55101 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Hotel Saint Paul
Hilton Garden Inn Saint Paul
Hilton Saint Paul
Saint Paul Hilton

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (26)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay