We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 Saint Paul hotels

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 Minnesota Street, Saint Paul, MN 55101 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Center)
Hotel deals
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Special
Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
61%
Ranked #6 of 17 hotels in Saint Paul
  • Overview
  • Reviews (287)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (50)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (34)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    97
    67
    34
    11
See reviews for
65
58
7
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was trying to find a hotel with 2 queen beds so we could all stay in one room. Two doubles was the best we could find for under $200. That cool angle on the building is not so cool when your room window looks out on it. It is not glass on the other side so you are staring... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
9 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

If you need dark and quiet for a good-night's sleep, stay at the Double Tree. Add to that one of the most comfortable beds ever and you've hit the hotel trifecta. If there is anything negative to say, it would be that there was no coffee in the lobby, but otherwise, our 3-night stay was perfect. The staff was always... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. Paul, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms were small & of average upkeep. After the race there were only 2 towels in bathroom (4 when we got there the day before). Housekeeping said it would be 4 hours before we got more towels. This was unacceptable, so they looked again and were able to bring more towels 15 minutes later. Breakfast service was good. Good waitress.... More

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duluth, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When you ask about breakfast staff indicate it is included. When you show up for breakfast only a small portion/corner is free, then it is $15.00 for a few scrambled eggs. The restaurant and bar were great. They had a ping pong room.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. Paul, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There isn't anything to special about this hotel. They have normal beds and very average rooms. The parking kind of stinks because you have to pay $15 a day; although it feels safe. The "bellboys" were always really nice and very friendly. Overall it was pretty decent but I have had more fun in cheaper hotels. As all hotels the... More

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vermont
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Conveniently located downtown within walking distance of office but a longer walk from restaurants and other activities. Hotel HVAC needs work as my room was never cool enough yet someone else's room was never warm enough. Humidity level in my room also high, another sign of HVAC issues. Otherwise, rooms could use a little updating but everything worked fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Minneapolis
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wish I could attach a photo of my bathtub although you would lose your appetite. I checked into my room and the tub was full of what looked like vomit or feces in standing water. I took a picture and showed the front desk and they didn't apologize but rather said they can't inspect every room! What!? If you have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
St Paul, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was stuck in the hotel elevator for 1.5 hours. Maintenance guy couldn't figure out how to fix. Had to call elevator company for repair. My brother finally figured out how to get the elevator doors open. Escalator not working in the hotel. Long hairs found in the bathroom after it had been cleaned. Ice build up formed in fridge, needed... More

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the unpleasant experience you had. We're making every effort to make the necessary updates and repairs to our elevators and improving some of our quality assurance practices. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and please feel free to contact us if you have any additional concerns. More

Minnetonka, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is was my second time staying at a DoubleTree by Hilton in the last year. On my first stay they neglected to tell us on check in that the A/C was not working, and had not been since that morning. Very frustrating. Decided to give them another shot recently and, while the room looked nice, the stay wasn't the... More

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

We are so glad that you chose to stay with us during your travels to our area. However, we're very disappointed that your recent stay fell short of meeting your expectations. We appreciate your feedback about the plumbing issues, false fire alarm disruptions, and miscommunciation regarding the parking fee. We have passed on your comments to the appropriate teams and... More

Decatur, Illinois
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
11 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I enjoyed my short stay at the Double Tree. My room was lovely and quiet. Being a Honors member I got free water. I also enjoyed having the little refrigerator. The desk help was very friendly and helpful answering my questions. I also liked that there was a business center.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown

Address: 411 Minnesota Street, Saint Paul, MN 55101 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Hotel Saint Paul
Hilton Garden Inn Saint Paul
Hilton Saint Paul
Saint Paul Hilton

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (17)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Paul Downtown offers guests comfortable accommodations in a convenient location in the heart of St. Paul’s entertainment and business district and skyway connected to many state, federal and corporate offices as well as great shopping and dining outlets. Each guest room in our St. Paul hotel includes a microwave and refrigerator for you convenience plus complimentary wireless for you to stay connected while away. Relax in the indoor heated pool or keep up with your exercise routine in the modern fitness center. Check out nearby attractions like the top-rated Minnesota Children’s Museum or Minnesota Science Museum. Visit us and enjoy The DoubleTree by Hilton Downtown and a memorable trip to the Twin Cities! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
251

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer