We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown

3.0 of 5 411 Minnesota Street, Saint Paul, MN 55101 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Center)
Hotel deals
Hotel website
Special Offer
Saint Paul Saints
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    148
    93
    51
    15
See reviews for
105
78
13
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (426)
  • Mar-May only
    (80)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (110)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (137)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (99)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars NEW

Only reason I didn't give an "excellent" was because of the breakfast buffet. Cookies are a nice little welcome, rooms were very nice. Bed and pillows were GREAT! After returning to the hotel after a wedding down the street, we went to the bar area and that was fun and we had an awesome bartender!

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A cold Sunday in St. Paul MN we are heading to the Double Tree by Hilton, Located in the heart of downtown St. Paul. The entrance was located entering from Cedar st. exiting to Minnesota st. in between buildings. Kind of hidden but entering the lobby there are escalators on the left hand side, with the front desk on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
65 hotel reviews
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Given the winter weather in St. Paul, it is pretty important to have a hotel that you do not mind leaving once you return from a day's work. This was not it. The restaurant/bar also doubled as a game center, and was not at all relaxing. Prices were high and the food was indifferent (and unhealthy). The selection of specialty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Saint Paul, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a great time! Room was great/clean, staff and reservations were very helpful/friendly. I like that you could choose your room! The bar/restaurant attached looked great. Great location, close to downtown attractions.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for a family wedding. We were happy with our accommodations. The rooms were clean, the bathroom fan was too loud. The van driver was awesome, he took us wherever we needed to go. The bar had great pizza, beer was inexpensive and the food ok. The bartender, not so good. The kids loved the cookies and took... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nashville, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel was comfortable and in good shape for and older property. Staff was freindly and helpful. Only small issue was the thermostat in the room did not work well so I could not adjust the temp easily. TV menu was a great touch!

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Roger We are glad to hear you had a good experience. Sorry about the room temperature. We will certainly look into that. Thank you for the opportunity to serve you. Brian More 

Eveleth, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We liked the hotel and restaurant. We were there to attend an event at Xcel. Skyway system needs improvement as there were no signs directing us to Xcel or back to Doubletree. What was to be a 10 minute jaunt was more like a 1/2 hour or more both ways.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

The city is working to better equip the sky-ways with directional signage. We are glad everything else went well during your stay. And thank you for the great comments about our restaurant! Brian More 

Northampton, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My son and I were in town to look at colleges, and were at the hotel for 4 nights. It's clean and nice and updated. What stood out to us was the extraordinarily helpful and extremely nice staff. Everyone went out of his/her way to help us find what we needed and make our stay great. We checked in very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Joel What wonderful comments you had about our staff. Thank you! They are very caring. Brian More 

Breckenridge MN, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a very good stay - quiet and comfy - parking was convenient and the attachment to meeting locations is helpful - wasn't able to eat the good at any of the restaurants but hope to next time - will stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Ann It was our pleasure to serve you. Looking forward to seeing you again soon! Brian More 

Brainerd, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was very impressed with the room when I walked in. Décor and comfort were great. I had a problem with the heat, but the front desk quickly changed my room and the clerks were so nice. The bartender was funny and friendly AND they had my favorite red wine on hand. Not something I see very often. I took... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for the great comments about our staff. Yes, we work very hard to make our female travelers feel safe and cared for. Brian More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown

Address: 411 Minnesota Street, Saint Paul, MN 55101 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Hotel Saint Paul
Hilton Garden Inn Saint Paul
Hilton Saint Paul
Saint Paul Hilton
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Paul

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (16)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay