We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown

Hotel deals
Hotel website
411 Minnesota Street, Saint Paul, MN 55101 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Center)
Special Offer
Saint Paul Saints
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    158
    98
    52
    18
See reviews for
113
87
14
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (460)
  • Mar-May only
    (114)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (110)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (137)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (99)
All months
Aliquippa, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel was very luxurious for the price. As a Hilton Honors members I was able to stay on one of the top floors. It was only 4 blocks from my daughter's party and graduation event, so the location was ideal.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milwaukee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My stay was for a wedding. I was given early check-in, the staff was wonderful and helped me with a couple of transportation issues. Although the attached parking ramp is not owned by the property a $15.00 charge for the entire stay was very reasonable for a metropolitan area and that included unlimited ability to come and go with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Roger Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Sorry about the room service trays. I will review this this right away with my F&B Manager. Brian More 

gardenstown, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

great hotel friendly staff. pretty central for downtown. bus stop for airport and Mall of America just outside hotel. Route 54 $1.75 great value. would stay again. great beer at Great Waters and cheap

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks Joe! Glad we were able to add to your concert enjoyment! Brian More 

Plymouth, WI, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Having never done the DoubleTree thing before, my friend and I stayed here during a recent trip to St. Paul because of its central location downtown and proximity to the Amtrak depot, the good reviews, and quite reasonable rates for what you get. Was extremely impressed with the service, extremely helpful and welcoming staff, wonderful bartending at the restaurant, and... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Aaron Another happy customer! That's what we work hard on. Thank you for the great comments and the wonderful comments about the restaurant. Brian More 

Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

One of the worst places I have ever stayed. A tired and outdated hotel with few amenities. Small cramped underground parking with few spaces to park $15 per day. The hallways are very dark and hardly lit so it seems night time during the day. The room is the same and there is very little light. The rooms are outdated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Katie Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sorry you were unhappy with the lighting in the hallways and our guestrooms. We appreciate your feedback, and will keep your comments in mind while we work to improve our guest experience. As well, we’re very sorry that the wi-fi wasn’t working... More 

Springfield, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The lobby and restaurants are very nice. The food is very good and the service is quite good too. Often there is a distance to walk from the elevators to the room. I have stayed there multiple times and will stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Awesome Judy! Thanks for the wonderful comment. Also, glad you enjoyed Rival House restaurant. Brian More 

Chicago, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I arrived on Amtrak and this hotel is close. The area lacks restaurants opened late on a Sunday. Otherwise the room was clean and was fine. The restaurant had an event going on with ear-splitting volume and the pizza was pretty basic.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Kathleen Yes, Rival House our sports parlor is loud at times. Sorry that you did not enjoy the pizza. Keep in mind we do have a large menu of options to consider. Thank you for your comments. Brian More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
21 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall a good stay. It is located very near the metro stop if you need to use that. I found the room to be clean and the bed to be comfortable. My only complaint would be that around 7:00 AM each morning it sounded like they were doing construction right above my room. It was very loud, and while I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Benny I heard about the early start that Saturday morning. We immediately stopped the construction. I am very sorry it disturbed you. The construction was not supposed to start until 9am. I have already met with the contractor about this miscommunication. Thank you for your comments. Brian More 

Minneota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff offered assistance because of construction in the area for travel from the hotel to my meeting. Although I did not have time to use other facilities within the hotel, I would hope to take advantage on my next stay. The room was comfortable and quiet. Parking was also easy, and traffic was no issue in and around the hotel... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Peter Glad to hear everything was to your liking. See you again soon. Brian More 

Fenton, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Did not make up the room between our 1st and second nights. Bathroom looks dingy with a drop in tile ceiling. Cookies were good, but good enough to make up for the short falls. Not enough cable channel to keep us entertained. Workspace should have a power strip so phones, computers and other chargers can be plugged in.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Jamie I will meet with my housekeeping department as to why you did not receive service on the second day. I am very sorry. Brian More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities