We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Hotel St Paul - Riverfront

Hotel website
Hotel deals
11 E Kellogg Boulevard, Saint Paul, MN 55101 (Formerly Radisson)
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel St Paul - Riverfront
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Crowne Plaza Hotel St Paul - Riverfront
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    151
    115
    56
    43
See reviews for
75
104
26
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (432)
  • Mar-May only
    (90)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (140)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (118)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (84)
All months
NW Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited one night in January. The hotel was being remodeled, but I didn't mind. The construction zones were kept clean and neat. There was no noise. The front desk attendant was courteous and offered us some dinning options close to the hotel. The valet was very quick. Rooms are spacious and trendy. I loved the decor. Very clean. Walking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ian H, Social Media/Guest Relations Coordinator at Crowne Plaza Hotel St Paul - Riverfront, responded to this review

Greetings, Our guest reviews are an important part of maintaining a guest experience synonymous with our IHG brand of Hotels. We thank you for taking the time to write us a review and really appreciate all we receive. I am pleased to read about your experience with us here in St. Paul. As you had mentioned we are currently undergoing... More 

Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall, hotel was nice. We booked three rooms for hockey tourney. With kids in tow we were counting on the pool, but there is no pool!! They are adding rooms instead. Hotel staff really had no reciprocal arrangements made with other hotels for pool usage, so that was a huge disappointment for us. Newly reno'd rooms are nice, but cave-like!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ian H, Social Media/Guests Relations Coordinator at Crowne Plaza Hotel St Paul - Riverfront, responded to this review

Greetings Stephanie P. I would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience while staying at our Hotel; and do sincerely apologize for any miscommunications and frustrations during your stay. As you had mentioned the pool is no longer available due to our renovations. Once renovations are complete this space with be an all... More 

Brainerd, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Everything was great except that the room we were in with two queen beds left absolutely no room to move around. There were four of us in the room and had to take turns getting off the beds to move around. It was crazy small.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ian H, Guest Relations Coordinator at Crowne Plaza Hotel St Paul - Riverfront, responded to this review

Greetings Kimberly B., Thank you for communicating your experience with us here at the Crowne Plaza St. Paul-Riverfront. As mentioned, we are indeed currently undergoing renovations to become an Intercontinental Hotel. Because of this, some room options and set-ups have been manipulated. The experience you had will enable those involved insight for consideration moving forward. We apologized for any frustrations... More 

Horace, North Dakota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed two nights and will go back again! The hotel is connected to many other buildings in the downtown area (including the Xcel Center) so we never had to walk outside if we didn't want to! The Hotel was under construction but it was still clean and we were always a priority. Very helpful staff too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ian H, Social Media/Guest Relations Coordinator at Crowne Plaza Hotel St Paul - Riverfront, responded to this review

Greetings Stardust2682, We here at the Crowne Plaza St. Paul-Riverfront Hotel are extremely appreciative of reviews posted by guests. It is wonderful to read about your experience during your stay with us here in St. Paul. The Skyway being attached to the building is a wonderful addition to our location within the city, especially on those cold Minnesota days. The... More 

Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Stayed here during Christmas break. It was a 9 member (3 room) mini Vacay to see a Jets vs Wild hockey game. Great location. 5 minute walk from the Xcel Energy Centre. The floor we were on had already been renovated room wise. They were very nice & modern. Decor was simple but elegant. The showers were fantastic. The pool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ian H, Social Media/Guest Relations Coordinator at Crowne Plaza Hotel St Paul - Riverfront, responded to this review

Greetings Laura C., Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us here at the Crowne Plaza St. Paul-Riverfront Hotel. This is a great place to stay for an event at the Xcel Energy Center. Minnesota Wild games are always a blast! I’m overjoyed to read that you found the renovations to... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

This hotel should not be in business! We were given a room right under the jackhammer! Totally unacceptable! They are working on President's Day... Missing chair from room....no pool at all....and on...and on...and on! Room is $170 + $18 parking!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ian H, Social Media/Guest Relations Coordinator at Crowne Plaza Hotel St Paul - Riverfront, responded to this review

Greetings flyover11, I am deeply disheartened to read about your experience here at the Crowne Plaza St. Paul-Riverfront Hotel. We sincerely apologize for any distress it may have caused. Thank you for your time regarding the opportunities we have to improve our guest's experiences and stays. I have discussed this with management and we are working diligently to ensure a... More 

Zimmerman
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

We stayed here the night of 07FEB2015 for my husbands birthday after attending a MN WILD game. Valet and check-in went smoothly and to our rooms w/o incident...opened the door and completely disgusted by our rooms. The carpeting, ceilings and walls were disgusting...I didn't let anything touch the floor except the bottoms of my shoes. We were given a handicap... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ian H, Guest Relations Coordinator at Crowne Plaza Hotel St Paul - Riverfront, responded to this review

Greetings Katrina F, I would like to firstly thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. We are able to work more effectively in providing an experience that has become expected from our brand because of reviews. We never like to read that a guest’s experience was unpleasant for any reason. Renovations are underway as you... More 

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

We stayed here in mid-January to attend a Wild game and took advantage of the "Event" pkg offered. Our room was a corner king business--beautifully decorated with spectacular views of the river and downtown (we could see all the way to Mpls!). We had stayed in this hotel about 8 years ago, almost the same room, when it was under... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel St Paul - Riverfront, responded to this review

We are glad you have notice all the work being completed to restore the Crowne Plaza to an elite hotel in downtown St Paul. Once renovations are completed the hotel will transition into the InterContinental St Paul Riverfront late this spring. Thanks for the great feedback and we hope to see you again real soon. More 

Clive, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

A friend and I stayed at the Crowne Plaza while in town to run the Women Rock half marathon. It was a good location and a nice hotel. Beautiful entry way and lobby, however, it was under renovation at the time so there were parts that were a little messy. Our room was nice, but the air conditioner didn't appear... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel St Paul - Riverfront, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your visit to St Paul for the race. Yes, the train along the river does cause delays from time to time and we apologize that we could not allow for late check-outs on the day of the race. We try our best to honor all requests such as this but on occasion we must get... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

We were in a renovated room looking out over the river. Styling was modernistic and minimalist, decorated in grays, whites and blacks. Room TV had one of the best free options for TV programs, sports and movies. I loved the new marble installed in the lobby and rooms. The restaurant served very good food, buffet or menu for mornings and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim B, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel St Paul - Riverfront, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, Rob.The "opportunities" you mention have been addressed and we plan to make changes to both. Other than that, I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again the next time you're in St. Paul. Take care, Tim Blaschke tblaschke@graveshospitalitystp.com (651) 605-0175 General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

144 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (126)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (45)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question