We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Traveler's Hotel

426 2nd St. SW, Rochester, MN 55902 (Formerly Rochester Downtown Travelodge)
Hotel amenities
Traveler's Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #52 of 57 Hotels in Rochester
Add Photo Write a Review

27 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    2
    4
    6
    1
    14
See reviews for
7
2
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (27)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Waukesha
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

Hotel was older than shown on pictures, but VERY convenient to Mayo Clinic. Staff was helpful with questions about Mayo. Free shuttle to Mayo if needed (only 2 1/2 blocks away). An easy walk on a nice spring day. Gave us a late checkout due to doctor's apptmt. Also FREE parking ($12-$15 per day at the clinic and other motels.)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hazen, North Dakota
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

this is not a 5 star motel. if that is what you want and expect, do not stay here. i have stayed here many times. i am satisfied. the price and location, to Mayo, is why i stay here. average $55 per night, for short stays. it is 2 blocks to the mayo clinic. the parking is free, while staying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

This is an older hotel. The place was clean and comfortable--even if it's "scruffy". Reminds me of student housing in college- without the loud music and parties. Good for the price. The breakfast is juice, coffee, toast and muffins. Get there early before everything's gone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gardner
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

You get what you pay for. Good price. Comfortable, large room, clean enough, easy access to Mayo. They have a free shuttle to Walmart. Really nice deck-porch with deck furniture. Lobby computer wasn't working, regardless of what front desk staff said, but wifi worked ok. Was an "older" property, but not falling apart. Some of the cosmetic things could use... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
288 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

DO NOT GO HERE!!! Made reservation, got here after a 8 hour drive . . they said wouldn't honor our reservation because our billing address on credit card was a Rochester address - and they don't let anyone within 40 miles stay there. WHAT???????? After seeing the lobby, glad they didn't honor our reservation. Centerstone up the street had no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

Words cannot express the disgusting conditions of this disgusting hotel. No working lock on the door, bed bugs (see pictures), serious nasty staining on carpet all over, extension cords, holes in wall, holes in window screens, wires hanging out of wall socket, dirty disgusting filthy place should not even be open for business.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
HotelManager426, Manager at Traveler's Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were not happy with you stay at Travelers Hotel. We are inspected monthly for all pest and when there is a report of bed bugs they are here within 24 hrs. of report; we have never had bed bugs. Carpets are cleaned by professionals quarterly and when additional is needed. The lock was readjusted the... More 

South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Worst experience ever. Did not get the room we had reserved, instead was stuck in a very unclean room. Had reserved for a month due to donating a kidney and a kidney transplant. I had to clean and sanitize the room before our surgeries. (peeling paint, no air conditioning, bad beds, leaking shower, toilet lid loose, etc...) Did not have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
HotelManager426, General Manager at Traveler's Hotel, responded to this review

We do not guarantee a specific room number to any guest, as many are here for medical appointments and don't know how long they stay. We adjust our incoming reservations to accommodate the in-house guest; we offer this to all of our guest. If a guest is ending a monthly contract early we must charge sales tax if the stay... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This is one of the worse hotels I have ever seen! The poor exterior, dim lighting, peeling paint, cobs, uneven floors, the list goes on. I even thought at one point I would find my mom outside of the room since the beds had wheels on them without any locking devices. Definitely not handicap accessible. I could piss harder than... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We chose this hotel because it is conveniently located to the Mayo Clinic. It included breakfast and WiFi and we felt it was a good option. WiFi was so complicated to access that we ended up not using it at all because we were afraid the settings in our laptops will get distorted. Breakfast was a joke: tapping for juice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
HotelManager426, General Manager at Traveler's Hotel, responded to this review

In order to use our Wi-Fi we ask that every guest completes a form before we give out the password. It is a very easy process and if a guest needs help with the document staff is willing to help. We do not to anything to anyone laptop or wireless device. Our breakfast consist of the following, white and wheat... More 

bottineau
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This hotel is ideally located for easy access to mayo clinic. Free shuttle service to mayo buildings. Serviced by a bus to walmart as well. Close to downtown easy walk to clinic or to restaurants. Staff is very friendly! Room was clean and serviced. 24 hr coffee and continental breakfast. I've stayed there many times and will stay there in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay