We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 55 Rochester hotels

Traveler's Hotel

426 2nd St. SW, Rochester, MN 55902 (Formerly Rochester Downtown Travelodge)
Hotel amenities
Traveler's Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Traveler's Hotel to your Saves list
22%
Ranked #50 of 55 Hotels in Rochester
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    3
    1
    14
See reviews for
6
1
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (23)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Rochester, Minnesota
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
49 hotel reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

DO NOT GO HERE!!! Made reservation, got here after a 8 hour drive . . they said wouldn't honor our reservation because our billing address on credit card was a Rochester address - and they don't let anyone within 40 miles stay there. WHAT???????? After seeing the lobby, glad they didn't honor our reservation. Centerstone up the street had no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

Words cannot express the disgusting conditions of this disgusting hotel. No working lock on the door, bed bugs (see pictures), serious nasty staining on carpet all over, extension cords, holes in wall, holes in window screens, wires hanging out of wall socket, dirty disgusting filthy place should not even be open for business.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
HotelManager426, Manager at Traveler's Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were not happy with you stay at Travelers Hotel. We are inspected monthly for all pest and when there is a report of bed bugs they are here within 24 hrs. of report; we have never had bed bugs. Carpets are cleaned by professionals quarterly and when additional is needed. The lock was readjusted the... More

South Dakota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Worst experience ever. Did not get the room we had reserved, instead was stuck in a very unclean room. Had reserved for a month due to donating a kidney and a kidney transplant. I had to clean and sanitize the room before our surgeries. (peeling paint, no air conditioning, bad beds, leaking shower, toilet lid loose, etc...) Did not have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
HotelManager426, General Manager at Traveler's Hotel, responded to this review

We do not guarantee a specific room number to any guest, as many are here for medical appointments and don't know how long they stay. We adjust our incoming reservations to accommodate the in-house guest; we offer this to all of our guest. If a guest is ending a monthly contract early we must charge sales tax if the stay... More

1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This is one of the worse hotels I have ever seen! The poor exterior, dim lighting, peeling paint, cobs, uneven floors, the list goes on. I even thought at one point I would find my mom outside of the room since the beds had wheels on them without any locking devices. Definitely not handicap accessible. I could piss harder than... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We chose this hotel because it is conveniently located to the Mayo Clinic. It included breakfast and WiFi and we felt it was a good option. WiFi was so complicated to access that we ended up not using it at all because we were afraid the settings in our laptops will get distorted. Breakfast was a joke: tapping for juice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
HotelManager426, General Manager at Traveler's Hotel, responded to this review

In order to use our Wi-Fi we ask that every guest completes a form before we give out the password. It is a very easy process and if a guest needs help with the document staff is willing to help. We do not to anything to anyone laptop or wireless device. Our breakfast consist of the following, white and wheat... More

bottineau
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This hotel is ideally located for easy access to mayo clinic. Free shuttle service to mayo buildings. Serviced by a bus to walmart as well. Close to downtown easy walk to clinic or to restaurants. Staff is very friendly! Room was clean and serviced. 24 hr coffee and continental breakfast. I've stayed there many times and will stay there in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I wasn't sure what to expect after reading posts about this hotel, but it was very close to all the Mayo buildings I needed and quite reasonably priced. There were a couple issues which were handled promptly. It is obviously an older building and has the charm of a bygone era. The room had fine water pressure, an alarm clock,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Definitely a lower end hotel. Based on reviews, we asked to see (& smell) our room before checking in. We apparently were given a room in the newer part and it was clean and smelled fine. Water pressure was good but no hair dryer or shampoo. Breakfast was disappointing. Rooms could use more sound-proofing. You get what you pay for,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elk Point, South Dakota
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The only thing missing from this hotel is Norman Bates mother in a rocking chair. Room was dirty, dim, TV did not work (haven't seen one with knobs since the 80s). Hotel reminded me of an old college dormatory. Room smelled musty, bed was uncomfortable, and housekeeping didn't bother to clean up the cupcake wrappers from the previous guests. As... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Algona, Iowa
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I made reservations to stay there because it was a cheaper hotel but I called ahead to check on the place to make sure it was a clean, peaceful place to stay while I was going to the Mayo Clinic. Well I was told the rooms were definitely clean and would be suitable for the stay. we checked in on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Do you own or manage Traveler's Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Traveler's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traveler's Hotel

Address: 426 2nd St. SW, Rochester, MN 55902 (Formerly Rochester Downtown Travelodge)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Traveler's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay