We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

2nd Street Inn & Suites

1013 2nd Street SW, Rochester, MN 55902
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
2nd Street Inn & Suites
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
2nd Street Inn & Suites
Add Photo Write a Review

15 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    2
    4
    2
    2
    5
See reviews for
4
Couples
0
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (15)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
north carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Well, it's kind of like going back in time--not much has changed here since the 1950s, when it was likely built, except for updated bedspreads, wall prints, and TV from the mid-1980s, guessing from the blue and rose decor. However, it's clean, cheap, and close to St. Mary's. Oh, and it has free Wi-Fi that works. If you just need... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

I had stayed at this place before when I went to the Mao Clinic and had no issues but this last time was a disaster. I got there late on a Monday night and had reservations and they had my room on the third floor. I was in a walking boot and told them I had a really hard time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Rochester hotels

Holland, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

My family and I stayed at this hotel for over a week while a family member had surgery at Mayo. We were a bit skeptical based on reviews. We were greeted and assisted by helpful, courteous staff. There were some things that had been updated in the rooms, though much of the decorating was out of date. The beds were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

I had a terrible experience in this place. The room is dirty, the furniture is old and there is no heat!!! The lady in the front desk is nasty and not willing to help you with anything. You can sure find a better place to stay for $10 dollars more a night. Please don't go this place!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

The front desk lady is just nasty as heck, It is close so I can roll my wheelchair to the hospital but the lady said I am not welcome there anymore as she had my dad on camera stealing a roll of toilet paper down by the laundry room and if we talked to the manager she would call the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Cokato, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

After viewing the room there was no way we were going to stay there. Like my 88 year old mother could walk 3 flights of steps. We looked in the refrigerator and there was a pizza box with really old gross pizza in it. Looking at the bed from the bottom to the front, the mattress was slanted. It was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HotelManager426, Manager at 2nd Street Inn & Suites, responded to this review

I am sorry that you had a bad experience that is by no way acceptable and we are in the process of doing a update. I have found that they charge you were referring to was refunded to your card. I am glad you were able to find accommodations you were happy with. More 

Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

The place was dirty. Dust on stair handrails that clearly hadn't been cleaned for years. Dirty carpet. Old towels. The water in our sink would drain very slow so I asked a plunger which brought up the most disgusting water I have seen (see picture). Don't know if it was a coincidence but a lady was asking for a plunger... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HotelManager426, Manager at 2nd Street Inn & Suites, responded to this review

I am sorry that you had a unpleasant stay, we have refunded one day back to your card for the backup drain and inconvenience of the move. More 

Coppell, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

If you are looking to be very cost conscious, this is a reasonable place. Located directly across the street from St. Mary's hospital, and relatively close to Mayo Clinic, if you are visiting for health care it is in a good location. As cheap a room rate for the area as you'll find. However, not conducive if you have mobility... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Creston, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We had a Mayo clinic visit and only booked one night. We needed to stay two more nights and they upgraded our room for the same price. The 2nd room had a great view of the park (rock cliff and trees) across the street. Clean, comfortable rooms for a great price close to Mayo.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

If you need a place that's pretty, don't stay here. But if you want a clean bed, a quiet room and a central location, at a very low rate, this is the place. The furniture is scratched, the bathroom tiles are mismatched and the ambience is mid- seventies Soviet, but the bed is comfortable and the housekeeping is good. Sweet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rochester - Saint Mary's & Mayo Clinic Area
0.2 mi away
Aspen Suites Rochester
Aspen Suites Rochester
#8 of 57 in Rochester
4.5 of 5 stars 187 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#30 of 57 in Rochester
3.5 of 5 stars 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#23 of 57 in Rochester
4.0 of 5 stars 474 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brentwood on 2nd
Brentwood on 2nd
#31 of 57 in Rochester
4.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
3.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay