We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 54 Rochester hotels

Extended Stay America - Rochester - South

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Wood Lake Dr SE, Rochester, MN 55904
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Rochester - South to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Rochester - South
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
72%
Ranked #30 of 54 Hotels in Rochester
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
CBRabenecker West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    27
    8
    10
    5
See reviews for
24
12
14
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (84)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is nothing fancy.. kitchenette, all working facilities (A/C, TV, shower, laundry) and convenient to the Mayo Clinic where we went daily. However, there is no fitness center, lounge or outdoor seating. The benefit is the price. Half of what most hotels charge if you book in advance online. If you're on a budget, I would recommend this place.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am glad to read that you were pleased with our hotel overall and that my staff provided you with such great service. I am so pleased to read that you found us to be such a great value. The staff and I would like to thank you again for... More

Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This is the second time in five weeks we paid for a non-smoking room and received a room that smelled like an antique ash tray in a smoker's lounge. It will not happen a third time as this is our last stay at Extended Stay America South in Rochester, MN.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review

Brad - We read your comments about your stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the experience you had at our hotel. We can assure you that we have spoken with our staff to ensure your experience is not repeated. Just so you know for future reference, if you book through a third party site, it does state that room... More

Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The hotel staff are excellent - friendly and help you to the best of their abilities. The only draw back is the corporate office decided they were no longer going to have their kitchen amenities that they advertise. Poor decision on their side. I will no longer be staying at any ESA's

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review

Janet - We read your comments about your stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments about our friendly staff; however, we apologize that you were not informed of our customizable kitchen packs. We are now storing our kitchenware in a sterile environment to ensure our guest's receive the cleanest items possible. Our guests can customize their kitchen with whichever... More

Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at the Rochester South Extended Stay America on July 17th. The room was very comfortable and clean. The hotel could use some redecorating & Updating. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were there since we had a family member at the Mayo Clinic. We would definitly stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review

Stanley - Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to read that you were pleased with your clean, comfortable room and that our staff provided you with friendly service. We would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future! More

Seattle, Washington
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I like this hotel because the room is only cleaned once a week, I don't mind making my own bed. The hotel carpet needed to be cleaner, but other than that, it was fairly clean. Staff was very nice and the hotel was quiet. It's a bare bones place, the price was right

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our housekeeping service; however, I do apologize for the cleanliness issues with your carpet. I will be meeting with my housekeeping staff to review our cleanliness standards to ensure that your experience is not repeated. The staff and I would like... More

Exeter, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
18 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

These lovely rooms, located a 5 min drive from the Mayo, are clean and well appointed and homelike, with cupboards and appliances and all the conveniences of a home. The staff is useful, courteous and welcoming and when our rental truck's roof collapsed, they were compassion itself and even extended the check out time for us! The breakfast is a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I'm thrilled that our staff took such good care of you. We strive to provide our guests with all the comforts of home, so I am so happy to read that you had such a comfortable and home-like experience at our hotel. The staff and I would like to thank... More

Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed here one night. The carpeting had lots of stains and the beds were like sleeping on plywood. Would only stay here again if nothing else on the south side of Rochester was available. Staff were all very efficient and friendly. Complimentary coffee and fruit is a nice benefit in the morning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review

John - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed our grab-and-go breakfast and found our staff to be friendly; however, we apologize that our beds we're too hard for your liking, as well as, for the stained carpet you described. In response to your feedback, we are having... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

I like the kitchen in the room & the recliner, but my floor smelled of cigarette smoke (although the room did not), and the fluorescent lighting in the room was unpleasant. There were also a few carpet stains in my room & the hall (along with what appeared to be cigarette ashes in the hall which was never cleaned up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I am glad that you enjoyed your fully equipped kitchen and the recliner in your room. Still, I am sorry to hear that you experienced cleanliness issues at our hotel. I am meeting with our housekeeping staff to review your comments to ensure your experience isn’t repeated. As well, I also... More

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

This is a pretty bare bones hotel but the property is clean, the staff is friendly and I got a great rate ($50/night plus taxes). The rooms are spacious but you will need to supply your own toiletries, coffee and the morning breakfast is a grab-and-go with instant oatmeal, muffins, some fruit and coffee. Room cleaning service is included in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am glad to read that you were pleased with our hotel and your stay. The staff and I are proud to have provided you with a clean room at a great rate. As this hotel's manager, I am especially pleased to read that my staff was friendly. The staff... More

Minnesota
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We booked online about an hour before we arrived for a rate of $60. Everything else was full. You essentially get what you pay for. A full kitchen is nice if you are doing the 'extended stay'. The bed was OK, but a little on the firm and somehow saggy side. A/C worked, but the unit was falling apart. Rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review

The staff and I read your comments about your stay with us. I regret to read that you felt your room could have been cleaner. I will be working with my housekeeping staff to review our cleanliness standards to ensure that this experience is not repeated. As well, I do apologize that our grab-and-go breakfast did not meet your expectations.... More

Do you own or manage Extended Stay America - Rochester - South?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Extended Stay America - Rochester - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Rochester - South

Address: 55 Wood Lake Dr SE, Rochester, MN 55904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Extended Stay America - Rochester - South 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Extended Stay, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Extended Stay America - Rochester - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Rochester
Extended Stay America Rochester
Rochester Extended Stay

9 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Extended Stay America - Rochester - South