We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Extended Stay America - Rochester - South

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
55 Wood Lake Dr SE, Rochester, MN 55904
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Extended Stay America - Rochester - South
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #28 of 56 Hotels in Rochester
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Ricono2
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    27
    10
    11
    5
See reviews for
25
14
14
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (91)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed there four nights while visiting the Mayo Clinic and I can't say enough about it. The staff were all very nice and accommodating. The room was very clean. They have a shuttle to the clinic that runs every hour free of charge. We will definitely stay again for any return trips.

Was this review helpful? Yes
usa
2 reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a great hotel to stay at for a trip to the Mayo Clinc. Very helpful and very friendly! A great kitchen to cook and a full size refrigerator and freezer. The breakfast was grab and go - just something quick to have on the FREE shuttle to Mayos. Thank you so much for making our stay a little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

We had to travel to the Mayo Clinic in Rochester and chose to stay at this hotel. At the last minute notice, we had to leave out a day early and arrive there one day before our reservation. Jayla and the staff there accomodated us and immediately made us feel at home. I have no complaints at all. Where I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad to hear that you were pleased with the service provided by our great staff. Customer service is a top priority of ours, so I'm happy that we succeeded in that mission. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America. We hope that you will stay... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

The hotel was nice when you walked into the lobby. However room did not have any pots or pans, silverware, glasses or eating utensils. When we finally received glasses they were plastic. Couldn't cook the entire time we were there because no pots or utensils so had to eat out every night. When we asked for toilet paper could only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Columbia, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014 via mobile

Overall, this wasn't a bad place to spend a night. Not overly comfortable, but I was just looking for a place to crash while visiting someone in the hospital. The front desk service was friendly. Hotel is tough to get to, need GPS to find your way.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hebron, Indiana, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

Great place to stay if you don't want to pay twice the price for fitness center and hot breakfast. Friendly staff and only hotel in Rochester that still has smoking rooms available. Clean rooms and comfortable beds.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your clean, comfortable room and that we were able to accommodate you with a smoking room. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America. We hope to see you again, should your travels bring you back to... More 

Rochester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

there was no place to sit and eat downstairs by the lobby. the "GRAB AND GO BREAKFAST" was a joke, it matches it's name, as there is no place to eat it. it consists of a granola bar,some fruit, muffins and coffee. oh, and oatmeal that you have to eat on the shuttle on the way to Mayo clinic. there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review

The staff and I read your comments about your stay with us. The situation you described regarding your handicap room not being available is truly regrettable. We are very sorry for your experience. In response to your feedback, I am working to review our reservation system and procedures so that we can work to prevent this from happening again. As... More 

West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

This hotel is nothing fancy.. kitchenette, all working facilities (A/C, TV, shower, laundry) and convenient to the Mayo Clinic where we went daily. However, there is no fitness center, lounge or outdoor seating. The benefit is the price. Half of what most hotels charge if you book in advance online. If you're on a budget, I would recommend this place.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am glad to read that you were pleased with our hotel overall and that my staff provided you with such great service. I am so pleased to read that you found us to be such a great value. The staff and I would like to thank you again for... More 

Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This is the second time in five weeks we paid for a non-smoking room and received a room that smelled like an antique ash tray in a smoker's lounge. It will not happen a third time as this is our last stay at Extended Stay America South in Rochester, MN.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review

Brad - We read your comments about your stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the experience you had at our hotel. We can assure you that we have spoken with our staff to ensure your experience is not repeated. Just so you know for future reference, if you book through a third party site, it does state that room... More 

Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The hotel staff are excellent - friendly and help you to the best of their abilities. The only draw back is the corporate office decided they were no longer going to have their kitchen amenities that they advertise. Poor decision on their side. I will no longer be staying at any ESA's

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review

Janet - We read your comments about your stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments about our friendly staff; however, we apologize that you were not informed of our customizable kitchen packs. We are now storing our kitchenware in a sterile environment to ensure our guest's receive the cleanest items possible. Our guests can customize their kitchen with whichever... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question