We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 54 Rochester hotels

Extended Stay America - Rochester - South

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Wood Lake Dr SE, Rochester, MN 55904
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Extended Stay America - Rochester - South
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Extended Stay America - Rochester - South to your Saves list
Ranked #29 of 54 Hotels in Rochester
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
GodsFav1
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    27
    10
    11
    5
See reviews for
25
12
14
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (88)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel was nice when you walked into the lobby. However room did not have any pots or pans, silverware, glasses or eating utensils. When we finally received glasses they were plastic. Couldn't cook the entire time we were there because no pots or utensils so had to eat out every night. When we asked for toilet paper could only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Columbia, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall, this wasn't a bad place to spend a night. Not overly comfortable, but I was just looking for a place to crash while visiting someone in the hospital. The front desk service was friendly. Hotel is tough to get to, need GPS to find your way.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hebron, Indiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great place to stay if you don't want to pay twice the price for fitness center and hot breakfast. Friendly staff and only hotel in Rochester that still has smoking rooms available. Clean rooms and comfortable beds.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your clean, comfortable room and that we were able to accommodate you with a smoking room. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America. We hope to see you again, should your travels bring you back to... More

Rochester
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

there was no place to sit and eat downstairs by the lobby. the "GRAB AND GO BREAKFAST" was a joke, it matches it's name, as there is no place to eat it. it consists of a granola bar,some fruit, muffins and coffee. oh, and oatmeal that you have to eat on the shuttle on the way to Mayo clinic. there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review

The staff and I read your comments about your stay with us. The situation you described regarding your handicap room not being available is truly regrettable. We are very sorry for your experience. In response to your feedback, I am working to review our reservation system and procedures so that we can work to prevent this from happening again. As... More

West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

This hotel is nothing fancy.. kitchenette, all working facilities (A/C, TV, shower, laundry) and convenient to the Mayo Clinic where we went daily. However, there is no fitness center, lounge or outdoor seating. The benefit is the price. Half of what most hotels charge if you book in advance online. If you're on a budget, I would recommend this place.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am glad to read that you were pleased with our hotel overall and that my staff provided you with such great service. I am so pleased to read that you found us to be such a great value. The staff and I would like to thank you again for... More

Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This is the second time in five weeks we paid for a non-smoking room and received a room that smelled like an antique ash tray in a smoker's lounge. It will not happen a third time as this is our last stay at Extended Stay America South in Rochester, MN.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review

Brad - We read your comments about your stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the experience you had at our hotel. We can assure you that we have spoken with our staff to ensure your experience is not repeated. Just so you know for future reference, if you book through a third party site, it does state that room... More

Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The hotel staff are excellent - friendly and help you to the best of their abilities. The only draw back is the corporate office decided they were no longer going to have their kitchen amenities that they advertise. Poor decision on their side. I will no longer be staying at any ESA's

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review

Janet - We read your comments about your stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments about our friendly staff; however, we apologize that you were not informed of our customizable kitchen packs. We are now storing our kitchenware in a sterile environment to ensure our guest's receive the cleanest items possible. Our guests can customize their kitchen with whichever... More

Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at the Rochester South Extended Stay America on July 17th. The room was very comfortable and clean. The hotel could use some redecorating & Updating. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were there since we had a family member at the Mayo Clinic. We would definitly stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review

Stanley - Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to read that you were pleased with your clean, comfortable room and that our staff provided you with friendly service. We would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future! More

Seattle, Washington
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I like this hotel because the room is only cleaned once a week, I don't mind making my own bed. The hotel carpet needed to be cleaner, but other than that, it was fairly clean. Staff was very nice and the hotel was quiet. It's a bare bones place, the price was right

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our housekeeping service; however, I do apologize for the cleanliness issues with your carpet. I will be meeting with my housekeeping staff to review our cleanliness standards to ensure that your experience is not repeated. The staff and I would like... More

Exeter, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
18 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

These lovely rooms, located a 5 min drive from the Mayo, are clean and well appointed and homelike, with cupboards and appliances and all the conveniences of a home. The staff is useful, courteous and welcoming and when our rental truck's roof collapsed, they were compassion itself and even extended the check out time for us! The breakfast is a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I'm thrilled that our staff took such good care of you. We strive to provide our guests with all the comforts of home, so I am so happy to read that you had such a comfortable and home-like experience at our hotel. The staff and I would like to thank... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Extended Stay America - Rochester - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Rochester - South

Address: 55 Wood Lake Dr SE, Rochester, MN 55904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Extended Stay America - Rochester - South 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Extended Stay, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Extended Stay America - Rochester - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Rochester
Extended Stay America Rochester
Rochester Extended Stay

9 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay