We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown

Hotel website
Hotel deals
220 South Broadway Ave., Rochester, MN 55904 (Formerly Rochester City Centre Hotel)
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

131 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    31
    40
    37
    10
    13
See reviews for
37
20
15
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (131)
  • Mar-May only
    (41)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (47)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Auckland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

this hotel is convenient to the Mayo clinic and is not very costly. Breakfast was not available at 630 two out of four days. Fridge was very noisy so I unplugged it. Very tired furnishings. Bar friendly. Wifi hopeless after 6pm, so slow

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review

Dear cricketfanBB, Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient and for your nice comment about our bar staff. However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the room amenities, breakfast and the internet service. We... More 

San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our stay at this hotel was a disaster! we stayed for 5 nights and for the first 3 days we almost did not get the room made up. Since we went there for a medical visit we had to leave the room early in the first morning and come back late in the afternoon and by the time we got... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review

Dear 5_ticos, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with our hotel. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience you had with our hotel staff. We would also like to make sure that the points that the hotel was supposed to issue to your account was already showing so we would like to follow up on this situation.... More 

Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

Average hotel, easy to find, alot to do around the area within walking distance. I was on the pool level and my room looked out to the pool, was unable to have my curtain open which resulted in a dark room for my stay. Skywalk to the Civic Center was nice, easy to follow.

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Jan S, Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us. We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we sincerely appreciate your business with us. It is nice to read that the location of the property is convenient to your needs and it is well to your liking. On the other hand, we... More 

New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

Stayed for three nights for a convention. Rooms were clean and staff was generally friendly. My Mom broke her foot the day before we were to attend the convention and needed a wheelchair. We did not have one to bring. The Hotel was kind enough to lend us one for the whole three days we were there. Only had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

An absolutely awful experience. I checked in and left 45 minutes later for a different hotel! The manager was very rude. Unapologetic. Don't stay here! I killed two bugs in the time I was there. Dirty and stained carpet, upholstery, lampshades, chairs. The trim was coming off the wall. The worst part was how filthy the bathrooms were.

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Christina S, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for issues you had experienced during check in and with the cleanliness of the room. I certainly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. We... More 

Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

Decent hotel for the price. Nothing fancy. Staff was helpful when needed. However, would recommend that they keep ink cartridges stocked for their printer. Kind of ridiculous that I couldn't print my boarding pass in the business center because the printer was out of ink. Food in restaurant Thyme was not very good. Had 4 meals there but only finished... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review

Dear GranimalNancy, Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment about our staff. However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the business center. We will address this concern. I understand the discomfort this caused you. We hope you give us... More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

This is an average Holliday inn. Nothing too special, some areas seem like they could use an update. The rooms are clean, the pool was nice I didn't like how there is slippery tile around it though. The restaurant was decent, had two house salads, One beer, an order of thick fried, a bowl of cottage cheese, and 4 bacon... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Cody K, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for reviewing our property. Our efforts are always to ensure our guests are satisfied and our hotel is maintained to be comfortable while you are with us. It is nice to know that the cleanliness of the room and the food served are well to your liking. However,... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015 via mobile

I travel for work and spend over 200 nights a year in hotels. The bath tub in this location did not have a tactile surface and was extremely slippery. It looked like they scrapped it off at some point. That's about all it took. One step into the tub and I slipped and fell against the side of the tub.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Even I, Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I am deeply bothered to hear about your experience at the hotel. Guest comfort and safety are of the utmost concern to us and our hotels are committed to making every possible effort to provide a superior accommodations. Your feedback about the slippery bathroom floor... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015 via mobile

I came to see my dad in the hospital. I left my company cases in the room. They had taken one down and put it back upside down! They handled my things while i was out! I would never put the case on the latches and handle! I use the rubber feet

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Pissedoffandwillsue, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are disappointed to learn about your experience on your recent stay. Please accept our apologies for the difficulties you had experienced. Your comments are valuable to us and we have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain more information. Thank you for staying with... More 

Cabery, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

We only stayed there for one night but there needs some things that maintenance needs to attend to. There was some white stuff under refrigerator I have no idea what it was and it was very dusty...I personally think that it could have been cleaned better. There were also very little piece of door wood missing. I'm sure it wasn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review

Dear blacklightn, Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. I appreciate and wish to thank you for commending the staff. I am also happy that you liked the food being served in the restaurant. However, I am sorry that the cleanliness fell below your expectations. Rest assured that this will... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

192 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (173)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (13)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Other (42)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.2 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#28 of 58 in Rochester
3.5 of 5 stars 914 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#25 of 58 in Rochester
4.0 of 5 stars 489 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Rochester-Downtown
Days Inn Rochester-Downtown
#41 of 58 in Rochester
3.0 of 5 stars 445 reviews
0.4 mi away
Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay