We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 53 Rochester hotels

Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   220 South Broadway Ave., Rochester, MN 55904 (Formerly Rochester City Centre Hotel)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
60%
Ranked #31 of 53 hotels in Rochester
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
nekko95 Madison, Wisconsin
  • Reviews (84)
  • Photos (56)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (28)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    28
    21
    6
    6
See reviews for
27
13
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
17 hotel reviews
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed for business 2 nights - pulled into the parking garage and the device read 'Full'. There is a person in one of the exit booths - I explained I was a hotel guest and he raised the arm so I could park - there were limited spots available. This is an older hotel but clean and well maintained. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johnston City, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I liked the hotel. We checked in very late on a Wednesday and looked forward to sleeping in a little in the morning. My complaint was that instead of propping the doors open when cleaning a room, cleaning staff go in and out of the room by letting the door slam on the top door latch. This went on repeatedly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jes G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review

Nova G, Thank you for your recent stay at the Holiday Inn - Downtown. I appreciate the information you shared about the housekeeping staff. I will be using this as a coaching opportunity with the team here, to prevent disturbances in the morning. My Housekeeping manager appreciates your comments, as well. If you make a return visit to Rochester, I... More

Midwest
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Hotel has seen its better days. Room a little shabby, worn bedding, small. Restaurant pretty ordinary. Lobby is on 2nd floor, so elevators are a little misleading which indicate lobby is on 1st floor. Got a good bargain through Hotwire, but the additional charge of $13 for parking made this hotel not such a great bargain for Rochester. Location was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jes G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Holiday Inn - Downtown. I apologize for the fact that you didn't feel the value of this property met your expectations. We do appreciate your stay, and will look forward to serving you in the future. More

SD, USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This is the first time I have stayed at this property. I was warmly welcomed when I arrived. My room was clean, spacious, and comfortable. Best of all it was very quiet all night long! It was a convenient location for my Mayo appointment and for the festive Thursday summer activities downtown. I was treated to a food/drink reception and... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jes G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review

Celebr8life, Thank you for your 5 star review! I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn - Downtown. I am happy that you enjoyed the IHG Member Reception that we hosted. Thank you for being our guest! If you make a return visit to Rochester, please come stay with us agian. We look... More

Powell
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Was there for surgery for my daughter with my brother and sister-in-law. Very convenient to all Mayo buildings and downtown. Rooms were comfortable and quiet unless young children not supervised well were in the pool. Parking is another story. $13 per day. Really? I already knew this beforehand. Most people do not. Please post this with your rates.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jes G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review

Diane F, Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn - Downtown during your recent visit to Rochester. I am pleased that your stay was a comfortable one for you and your family. Thank you, as well, for the notation on the parking rates. I will re-check to ensure that our parking rates are posted on all booking engines we utilize... More

Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Most Holiday Inns are 3-level motels. This is a 12-story high-rise, in the heart of downtown. Right on the skyway close to Mayo or the Convention Center and the parking garage. This seemed like a nicer place than the average HI, too, somewhat befitting the "hotel" rather than "motel" model. Food was pretty good, but service was occasionally slow. When... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jes G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn - Downtown. Our hotel is unique, as we have many privately owned condos that rest atop our convienently located hotel in downtown Rochester. With 8 guest floors, we have a large quantity of rooms to accomodate for our visitors. Our staff goes out of their... More

Austin, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I had a wedding inside the event center and staff were pretty flexible with allowing us time to set up our site beforehand, However there was a lady who was very pushy, telling us how she wanted things to go and we didn't agree, In the end there was another staff member who absolutely catered to my needs and everyone... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review

Dear PeaceandLove2014, Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking time to share your experience with us. I apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced brought about by noise levels and unacceptable behavior of our hotel staff. We take such comments from our valuable guests into serious consideration for this will help us target these specific concerns and make... More

Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I was in Rochester for business on a Saturday. I checked in before 5:00 pm and checked out about an hour later before 6:00 pm when I discovered that my business reason had been cancelled. I had only visited the room and dropped my luggage. I used nothing. The person at the front desk said she could not give me... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marwan H, Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review

Dear sir : as i remmember talking to you regards your refund, because you stayed for one hour and then checked out, assuming that you will get refund and when we refused to give you refund we are terrible people and you rate the property as (one point) after you have used the room, i am sorry that your plan... More

Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My stay at holiday inn was a big disappointment. The hotel is run down, the restaurant was closed, the parking was nearly impossible/huge hassle and the front desk staff not very helpful. We were told to park in the oversize parking, which is a joke, no room to get out. I contacted the front desk and told him my concerns,asked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marwan H, Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Maam I am very sorry for the inconvenience that you faced during your stay, we value you as a customer and we appreciate your business. As far as the restaurant; Easter day is big day for us we served over 750 customer, from 9 am till 2 pm and that is the restaurant hours for the Easter day ,... More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Convenient to Mayo so we selected this hotel. Parking is city owned and not free or included. Hotel staff was helpful and very nice . Room was what you'd expect from a dated Holiday Inn. Room was 77 degrees and after hours of AC warmed down to 76. Like sleeping in a sauna. Bed was good though . An average... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review

Dear pudelpointerman, Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. I am delighted to hear that our location was suitable for your needs and you found our staff helpful and nice. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown

Address: 220 South Broadway Ave., Rochester, MN 55904 (Formerly Rochester City Centre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rochester
Holiday Inn Mayo Clinic
Rochester Holiday Inn

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (52)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Rochester with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A convenient address among Rochester, Minnesota hotels. Experience the community named the 'Best Small City in America' by Money Magazine, where cosmopolitan atmosphere meets Midwestern hospitality. Located in the heart of this bustling locale, the Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown offers a memorable destination for your next vacation or business trip. Look to our downtown Mayo Clinic area hotel for direct climate-controlled subway/skyway access to the city's attractions, including the world-famous Mayo Clinic, St. Mary's Hospital and Methodist Hospital. Explore the Shops at University Square just one block by skyway. Enjoy classic family fun at Silver Lake Park or Graham Arena-both just one mile away. You'll find our deluxe Rochester, Minnesota hotel provides spacious accommodations and convenient services in a comfortable setting. Well-appointed spacious rooms are just the beginning at our downtown Holiday Inn hotel. Be sure to enjoy our Thyme Restaurant and Lounge featuring creative entrees, cocktails and Papa Gotti's New York Style Thin-Crust Pizza. Parking is available in city owned parking ramp adjacent to hotel at $13.00 Plus tax per night. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
173

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer