We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nichols Inn Red Wing

Hotel website
1819 Old West Main St, Red Wing, MN 55066
Nichols Inn Red Wing
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Red Wing
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015
Shirley E Stockton, Minnesota
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    22
    29
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
30
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (62)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
There are newer reviews for Nichols Inn Red Wing
See the most recent reviews
Stockton, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

We have stayed at 6 different hotels in Red Wing over the past few years. We have found the Nichols Inn the "best bang for your buck". Some are as nice but are too pricey or need alot of updating.No complaints about the Nichols Inn. Room was clean and bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was good. Will only stay here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
justin h, Manager at Nichols Inn Red Wing, responded to this review

Shirley E, What a great response! We work hard to keep all of our properties in good shape and take a lot of pride in them. We look forward to your next stay. Like us on Facebook to see special rates that we may post throughout the year. Thank you, More 

Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

First time here. Booked 3 rooms-very helpful on reservations. Breakfast items basic and ok. Room fine-had not been vacuumed under desk as evident by mms and fried chicken remnants. Didn't see that until night before checking out. No biggy. Liked access to highway and not far from downtown. Would stay here again for price/value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
justin h, Manager at Nichols Inn Red Wing, responded to this review

Dear M E, Thank you for staying with us. We are very sorry about missing the crumbs under the table. We have addressed the issue with the housekeeping staff. We look forward to your next stay at the Nichols Inn of Red Wing. More 

Madison, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

We came to visit on a very busy weekend but the room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was mediocre but ok. It's s small space and apparently we all came down for breakfast at the same time. Overall we think we got what we paid for.

Was this review helpful? Yes
justin h, Manager at Nichols Inn Red Wing, responded to this review

Dear Katherine T, Thank you for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the feedback. Our lobby and breakfast area can get a little tight when everyone comes down for breakfast at the same time. We look forward to your future stays. Please like us on Facebook @ Nichols Inn of Red Wing for specials... More 

Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

This hotel shares a parking lot with another hotel. We had never stayed at a Nichols Inn, and we were pleasantly surprised. The room was very clean and pretty spacious. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was small but certainly fine. Our only challenge was figuring out how to turn on the shower!! You have to pull down on a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Teresa F, Manager at Nichols Inn Red Wing, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review on your stay. I'm glad you found us here at the Nichols Inn and enjoyed your stay. The shower can be tricky to figure out the first time, but I bet on you next visit you won't have to think twice. We look forward to seeing you next time and... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

Small hotel. Freshly redone. Clean and quiet. Staff was very accommodating. Room with King Bed provided enough space for my wife and I. The breakfast area was very good. The breakfast was limited. Waffles, fruit, cereal. bread, muffins along with juice and milk. We would stay her again should we visit Red Wing

Was this review helpful? Yes
Teresa F, Manager at Nichols Inn Red Wing, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us here on Trip Advisor. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Red Wing Nichols Inn. We love providing a serene atmosphere where guests can relax and recharge. Whether it's for business or pleasure we look forward to serving you again. More 

Annandale, Minnesota
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Inconvenient location and poor parking. Clean, quiet, good bed. Small bath, limited vanity counter space. No comfortable chair in room. dining room style chairs, no arms. Front desk help poor. Checking in, quite young woman, unprofessional, alone at desk. I commented that looks like Americinn. Told same company, same owner. Asked if my Americinn rewards would work. She didn't know,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Teresa F, General Manager at Nichols Inn Red Wing, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to rate us on Trip Advisor we really appreciate your doing so. I am sorry to hear you felt that our accommodations left something to be desired. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We truly appreciate when guests let us know when we do not live up to those... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Our power went out for several days during a large blizzard and ice storm. My family (two teenagers, a baby, my husband and myself) found refuge in a king suite. The room was perfect! There was a nice sized kitchenette which came in handy for a family of five. The teenagers bunked on the queen sized Murphy bed in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Teresa F, General Manager at Nichols Inn Red Wing, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to rate us on Trip Advisor we really appreciate your doing so. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Red Wing Nichols Inn. Your comfort is very important to us! We take pride in our king suites, they sure are perfect for large families. I'm glad we were given... More 

Hutchinson, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed here for one night for a wedding. The hotel rooms need some major updating - the room we were in seemed very worn and dated. The comforters on the bed were pilled and had seen better days. The towels were tough and scratchy, and left something to be desired. The hotel was clean, and the staff friendly. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Niagara, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I travel to Red Wing regularly for business and I always stay at Nichols Inn. I have never had a bad experience here. It is conveniently located with clean, comfortable quiet rooms and a friendly staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Teresa F, Manager at Nichols Inn Red Wing, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to rate us on Trip Advisor we really appreciate your doing so. We take a lot of pride in having friendly personal service and making every effort to ensure you have a comfortable stay with us. We look forward to greeting you on your next business trip to Red Wing. More 

Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night while attending a concert at a nearby casino. The room was generally clean, although the coffee pot needed cleaning. The beds were clean and very comfortable, although they were a bit rumpled. The person who prepared the room didn't really take time to smooth out the pillows and spread. Staff was friendly and check-in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Teresa F, Front Office Manager at Nichols Inn Red Wing, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at Nichols Inn in Red Wing, I am pleased to hear that you found our staff to be pleasant and efficent in the check in process. I do appologize that your room was not as crisp as it should have been. Your comfort is very important to us. Thank you also for taking the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay