We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Colonial Inn

1315 North Broadway, New Ulm, MN 56073
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Ulm
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Colonial Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

25 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015 via mobile

This is a mom and pop, so don't expect the perks of a chain. (breakfast, etc.) Our room was clean, bed good and firm and the toilet took everything with flying colors. Our tub looked aged, but the shower worked great. We had a microwave and mini fridge, both worked. A very nice flatscreen T.v. was also in the room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike N
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2015

I am not a picky traveler, and I usually stay at budget motels. I did not pick this motel, but had reserved a room in another motel in town that had unfortunately overbooked. That motel called and told me they had reserved me a room at the Colonial. I was not sure what I would find, based on the other... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jenseeker

Travelers are raving about these New Ulm hotels

Clive, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

Went to the manager and told her that the toilet was running and the TV had no sound and would not turn off. She told me there was nothing she would do. She then told me she was calling the cops. Twenty minutes later, the cops knocked on my door waking me up saying that the manager said I was... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank William C
nucolonialinn, Owner at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

William, I'm sorry you had a problem with the TV and toilet in your room. We take pride in our room condition and spend thousands of dollars a month on repairs and maintenance. We repaired the toilet and replaced the TV soon after you checked out. We would have fixed it during your stay, however the employee working did not... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

My boyfriend and I came to New Ulm to visit some family and friends for the night. The Colonial Inn was recommended to us by some friends. The price was great and the location was perfect. It is only a couple minute drive to the Schell's Brewing Company and to numerous restaurants in town. The owners were very nice and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank K_M_F890
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Colonial Inn in New Ulm and was very impressed. The owners and staff treated me very respectfully and made sure I had everything I needed for a great stay. The room was small, but clean and an excellent value.

Helpful?
Thank John G
Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

This was a last minute trip for us and there were limited rooms in New Ulm. The website says newly remodeled and even has a Trip advisor rating on their main page saying "Bravo! Excellent rating!" This room was terrible, looks like they attempted to remodel but did not actually finish. Crayon all over the back of the bathroom door,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kristine R
nucolonialinn, Owner at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. It really does help us make positive changes at the Colonial Inn. The lampshade was an easy fix. We replaced it as soon as we saw this review. I then inspected the other lampshades in the hotel and found a few more that were cracked. We replaced those as well. The remodeling process in the... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

While the host was friendly and helpful, the rest of our stay was totally unsatifactory! The carpets,walls and chairs were filthy. The shower surround had black mildew on the caulking. Everything was dingy and grimy. My daughter and her husband left there with bug bites on their feet and ankles. The hotel host did apologize and refund the price of... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Kitkatkk
nucolonialinn, Owner at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

I am extremely sorry for your negative experience at the Colonial Inn. I talked with a member of your party after checkout, and they told me about the "bites" they received. Hotel industry standard is to refund the money immediately, no questions asked. I then called Plunketts Pest Control and they inspected the room and found no sign of bed... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Rooms could be taken care of better but expected for the price. Staff is awesome, host is really cool, she helped me out dramatically. I will certainly be back if i ever need a place to stay New Ulm...

Helpful?
1 Thank ty_weber
Båring
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Says hi from Denmark. We were wisiting our daughters host family and they rekommended this hotel nice and heap nice breakfast. Friendly hotel staff. Right in the mittel of New ulm. The pool was at bit durty but the rooms and beds were very nice.

Helpful?
Thank DorteLO
Exeter, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
301 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Located on the east end of town, past the Walgreens, the decor in this average motel looking place are elegant and spacious, with a full writing table. The host was extremely helpful and very friendly, as are most people in this delightful gem of a town. Very reasonable prices and, unlike other hotels in town, far enough away from the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank KaTe2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Ulm
2.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Ulm
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS New Ulm
19.2 mi away
Madelia Hotel
Madelia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Madelia
3.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
No photo provided
W.W. Smith Inn
#2 of 2 in Sleepy Eye
5.0 of 5 stars 4 reviews
2.7 mi away
Econo Lodge New Ulm
Econo Lodge New Ulm
#3 of 5 in New Ulm
3.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
1.5 mi away
Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities