We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Colonial Inn

1315 North Broadway, New Ulm, MN 56073
Colonial Inn
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    1
    3
    7
See reviews for
6
5
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (23)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Clive, Iowa
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Went to the manager and told her that the toilet was running and the TV had no sound and would not turn off. She told me there was nothing she would do. She then told me she was calling the cops. Twenty minutes later, the cops knocked on my door waking me up saying that the manager said I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
nucolonialinn, Owner at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

William, I'm sorry you had a problem with the TV and toilet in your room. We take pride in our room condition and spend thousands of dollars a month on repairs and maintenance. We repaired the toilet and replaced the TV soon after you checked out. We would have fixed it during your stay, however the employee working did not... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

My boyfriend and I came to New Ulm to visit some family and friends for the night. The Colonial Inn was recommended to us by some friends. The price was great and the location was perfect. It is only a couple minute drive to the Schell's Brewing Company and to numerous restaurants in town. The owners were very nice and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

I stayed at the Colonial Inn in New Ulm and was very impressed. The owners and staff treated me very respectfully and made sure I had everything I needed for a great stay. The room was small, but clean and an excellent value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Iowa, United States
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

This was a last minute trip for us and there were limited rooms in New Ulm. The website says newly remodeled and even has a Trip advisor rating on their main page saying "Bravo! Excellent rating!" This room was terrible, looks like they attempted to remodel but did not actually finish. Crayon all over the back of the bathroom door,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nucolonialinn, Owner at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. It really does help us make positive changes at the Colonial Inn. The lampshade was an easy fix. We replaced it as soon as we saw this review. I then inspected the other lampshades in the hotel and found a few more that were cracked. We replaced those as well. The remodeling process in the... More 

Travelers are raving about these New Ulm hotels

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

While the host was friendly and helpful, the rest of our stay was totally unsatifactory! The carpets,walls and chairs were filthy. The shower surround had black mildew on the caulking. Everything was dingy and grimy. My daughter and her husband left there with bug bites on their feet and ankles. The hotel host did apologize and refund the price of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
nucolonialinn, Owner at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

I am extremely sorry for your negative experience at the Colonial Inn. I talked with a member of your party after checkout, and they told me about the "bites" they received. Hotel industry standard is to refund the money immediately, no questions asked. I then called Plunketts Pest Control and they inspected the room and found no sign of bed... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Rooms could be taken care of better but expected for the price. Staff is awesome, host is really cool, she helped me out dramatically. I will certainly be back if i ever need a place to stay New Ulm...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Båring
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Says hi from Denmark. We were wisiting our daughters host family and they rekommended this hotel nice and heap nice breakfast. Friendly hotel staff. Right in the mittel of New ulm. The pool was at bit durty but the rooms and beds were very nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Exeter, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
19 hotel reviews
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Located on the east end of town, past the Walgreens, the decor in this average motel looking place are elegant and spacious, with a full writing table. The host was extremely helpful and very friendly, as are most people in this delightful gem of a town. Very reasonable prices and, unlike other hotels in town, far enough away from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Mold in the shower, bugs flying in the room, smelled pretty bad. No lock on the bathroom door. We didn't even stay. Went back to the office and they gave us a refund, no questions asked. No way I was sleeping there!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I was hesitant as I pulled up to the Inn, but it was busy and the parking lot was full, so that was a good sign. Check-in was good, casual. I liked that. The place has a nice "Mom and Pop" feel to it. I know they are going through some remodeling (under new management), so I expect to see... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question