We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron

GreenLeadersBronze level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
8570 Rock Ridge Drive, Mountain Iron, MN 55768
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    33
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
24
13
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (74)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron
See the most recent reviews
Columbus Grove, Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I chose the Holiday Inn over its competitor in Virginia due to the competitor's so-so reviews, and I was glad I did.The property is only about a mile outside of Virginia and almost brand new.Check in and checkout were fast and easy and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room on the third floor was very large, tastefully... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Buffalo, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed in room 208. It had two queen beds, a table with two chairs and a mini fridge located in the bureau. It had good space and was very clean and comfortable. Seemed typical for a Holiday Inn. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the complimentary breakfast was good with lots of variety to choose from. My... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hiexpress_10, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel. We use all of the reviews we receive to monitor our levels of service. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to serving you in the future. More 

Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Sounds travel a little more than I'd like. My hallway end room on 1st floor (nothing on 3rd when I checked in) caught smoke from the smokers outside a couple of times. all in all, not a bad place, and I'd stay here again in this area. Oh, and dont forget to check out the pancake machine at breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hiexpress_10, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am truly sorry that you had to deal with smokers outside I am sure that was not a pleasant experience. I am glad you enjoyed the pancake machine and our breakfast buffet. I do hope we will have the pleasure to serve you in the future. More 

Duluth, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

stayed a few times at this hotel and enjoyed it very much. But this time my room was so dusty and not very clean... I could write my name on the table and TV. now understand I tried to check in at 10 that morning and front desk said oh the people have checked out .but they have not gotten... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hiexpress_10, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are always grateful when a guest takes the time to provide feedback. We ame truly sorry that your room was not up to standard. We do try to provide high levels of cleanliness unfortantly we fell of our goal. WeI do hope you will give us another... More 

Fargo, ND
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
82 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

My stays here are always relaxing. There's a fridge and a microwave in my room, the exercise room is adequately equipped, and there's a nice happy hour in the evening. MY only complaint of this hotel and so many others is that housekeeping never gets the bathtub completely clean. I like to relax and take baths before bedtime and I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thunder Bay
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

While the hotel looks beautiful, I can honestly say that I haven't stayed in a hotel that has such horrible sound problems in a very long time! It wasn't even that people were being abnormally loud (except for the room full of kids the second night, fighting with each other, but the problem had already presented itself). We were really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron, responded to this review

Dear stardust1971, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I'm glad to hear you found our front desk staff agent to be efficient and helpful. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. However, I would like to apologize for any disturbance you have experienced during your stay. Guest... More 

Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

--Nice, comfortable room. --Good staff. --Located close to area restaurants. --We stayed here since they were no hotels close to Duluth for Grandma's marathon. It was NOT a good substitute as it was over an hour away! --Externally, it looked like a lodge. Prett cool.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pittsburg, Kansas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Nice Hotel. This is a relatively new property. Hotel staff was nice, check in was quick. Room was very clean with a minifridge (no freezer section) so that we could keep stuff cool. Room also has a Microwave. Bed is comfortable with a nice selection of soft and firm pillows (which are labeled). Towels are clean and just the size... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This place is new and very, very clean! We had a great stay. Quick and friendly check in and out. Comfortable beds, no gross bedspreads like so many hotels. Really nice granite stone in bathroom! Nice mini fridge in room. The continental breakfast was nice. Stay here. It is worth the extra money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Minneapolis
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Whenever I come to the Iron Range for work, I love to stay here! The location is fairly new and is located in a quiet area on the outskirts of town. The beds are very comfortable! They have a great managers reception and the hotel is very nice and clean! I really appreciated the friendly and accomodating the staff. Pool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities