We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Traveler's Lodge

1425 E College Dr., Marshall, MN 56258
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Traveler's Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Traveler's Lodge
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    3
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
2
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (19)
  • Mar-May only
    (1)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

I was in Marshall for business and stayed at the Travelers Lodge. It is an older motel but was impressed with the updates they have done to the rooms. The rooms were clean, flat screen TV's, good internet access and that is all I needed, especially for the price savings. Unless you need a pool, this is a great option.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Morton, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

I booked this motel due to looking like the better of the few pet friendly hotels in area..I called and booked a room pretty late on a weekend night and the lady who I spoke with was really friendly and the small pet charge is nothing compared to ones I have paid at other hotels in the cities..staff was really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

We have stayed here 3 times. We liked the price and proximity to SMSU. We were able to walk to our daughter's apartment on campus. The only complaint is our last visit. The loud noise of the shower coming from the next room made it impossible for us to sleep. It was at 6AM, so were awake for the day.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Minneota, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

My stay was wonderful here at the Traveler's Lodge. First of all, the staff is very pleasant and accommodating to any need you have. If you need extra towels, pillows, blankets, or ice, they seemed very nice and friendly about getting those things as requested in a timely manner. I felt really comfortable and relaxed in my room. I slept... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Florence, Mississippi, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

My husband and I have traveled all over the world with his job for over 40 years now. We came to Marshall about a year ago and stayed at a local motel. After being there for about 4 months, we decided we needed to find a new place to stay mainly because of the racket during the night time when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TLmgrMarshall, Manager at Traveler's Lodge, responded to this review

Thank You very much for your review. I appreciate being able to excede guest's expectations. I also appreciate if there is something that needs to be addressed, that is brought to my attention because being on site, I can normally take care of an issue immediately. Thank You again and it has been a pleasure having you stay here Bruce... More 

Corning, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Hotel advertised internet so I booked. I work while traveling & require internet. Internet did not work...response I got was "Sorry, when there are a lot of people staying it doesn't always work". REALLY???

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TLmgrMarshall, Manager at Traveler's Lodge, responded to this review

I am sorry if someone ever has an issue with the internet. There can always be the possibility of an issue with the internet company, but I don't think so that night. We were full that night and had no other internet complaints that night. I actually reset the system to try to enhance the signal strength, so her concerns... More 

2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Wow. I came to Marshall while in transit to my duty station. I decided that I would stay here and I realized it was a terrible mistake. The hotel is nice itself however the people that are staying here are rediculous. So loud and acting like criminals. I couldn't even park my vehicle near my room because these hooligans parked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
TLmgrMarshall, Manager at Traveler's Lodge, responded to this review

There have been National Guard staying here for many years and I expect to see and support them for many years to come. I will not spend much time responding to this review because it is based on Stereotyping and rascism. This guest did not have an incident or any verbal discussions with these guests. The guests in question are... More 

Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

My cousin and I visited the area to attend the Little House on the Prairie Reunion/Pageant weekend. We stayed 2 nights. The reviews we read weren't great but they certainly weren't awful enough to deter us. Our other choices came at a 2 or 3 times higher price tag. Remember - many times, the cheapest option is your worst choice.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
TLmgrMarshall, Manager at Traveler's Lodge, responded to this review

I am always sorry for any issues that come up with guests. I also apologized to this guest if I was a little defensive at checkout because I am protective of both my Motel and my housekeepers. We have been putting a lot of time and money into improving the motel. I did offer to move this guest the night... More 

Stillwater, MN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I'm writing this review as a very disappointed customer. I had read the reviews on hotels in this area, having never been here before, and booked this hotel based on the reviews. I didn't have super high expectations, knowing this was an older motel-style property, but ugh. First, I had reserved my room over a month ago, NON SMOKING, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
TLmgrMarshall, Manager at Traveler's Lodge, responded to this review

I will do whatever it takes to help make a guest's stay pleasant and hopefully more than they expected. This review is unfair because it is based on having a smoking room and that is exactly what they reserved ONLINE. I still would have changed it if I could but we were booked that weekend and that is why they... More 

Monticello, Minnesota
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
51 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Well, This is another could be really cool old school motor lodge. It is not. I asked for nonsmoking room and was put in a room that smells of stale smoke and weed. Fairly certain they are smoking a bit next door. There was partying in the lot from 10 till about 1. The room over all was mostly clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
TLmgrMarshall, Manager at Traveler's Lodge, responded to this review

I am sorry if there where issues with this guest's stay but I do believe this was a situation of looking for an upgrade. These comments came from 2 seperate rooms that were more upset about not having room in the newer motel in town where there buddy's were staying. The guest that these comments actually did come from, did... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities