We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Caribou Highlands Lodge

371 Ski Hill Road, Lutsen, MN 55612
Hotel amenities
Caribou Highlands Lodge
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lutsen
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
mikermcn
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    70
    39
    30
    22
See reviews for
113
61
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (245)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (83)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (60)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (63)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed in a three bedroom town house for the weekend and the stay was wonderful. We were able to walk outside and have immediate access to the slopes. The rooms were clean and we had everything we needed for the weekend. We decided to go and see some live music one night and the shuttle service made transportation to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from an awesome Spring Break trip at Caribou Highlands & Lutsen Ski Resort. We stayed in an Executive Lodge 4 Bedroom that was also Pet Friendly. While there was a slight snafu at check-in, Kimberly quickly resolved it, provided us with a gift card for dinner on 'them' at Moguls restaurant, and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room looked like no one had touched it in 30 years. It was almost comically dirty and outdated. The staff was not helpful. The restaurant was pretty good. Great location. The place is a dump. I had bad experiences making a reservation, checking and dealing with the desk staff

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is really showing its age. It is unusually warm and the snow is melting off the roof. The patio is unusable because the snow above is melting and creating a waterfall onto it. I can hear every foot step of the people above me. The floor squeaks. Who uses stick frame construction for a multi level condo/ lodge?... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We just got back from a great weekend skiing in Lutsen. Beautiful skiing very close by! We stayed at a townhouse for $500 per night. I felt it was very over priced for what it was. The townhouse was fine with nothing really wrong but nothing special either. The carpet and floor felt dingy and bathroom was very average- for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hudson, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Caribou Highlands was a great place to stay slope slide. We have been here several times and we love the Poplar Ridge Homes. The wood burning fireplace is a plus, and the view of the mountain is amazing. The internet service worked which is always a big plus. There was a blind missing in our bedroom, and some of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

We stayed in a Condo at Caribou Highlands. The first night was great. Because of guest's above the rest of the weekend was terrible. We could hear everything from the unit above. They definitely used poor construction in these units. Not what I'd expect for the price. Stay somewhere else. Called front desk they said nothing they could do about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jennifer G, Manager at Caribou Highlands Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at Caribou Highlands Lodge. I greatly apologize for the experience you had during your stay with us and I am happy to report that in the Spring of 2015 we will be continuing renovations on our Condo facility. We are very excited about this renovation and believe... More 

Jordan, Minnesota
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

We stayed here for an entire week after our wedding, a mini-moon just to relax. I would say that we have mixed reviews about this spot. We dined at the restaurant numerous times and found everything delicious and the service wonderful. We also booked massages that were amazing. Not sure if we actually booked a hot stone session but the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jennifer G, Manager at Caribou Highlands Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent getaway with Caribou Highlands. I am pleased to hear you greatly enjoyed the food and service in our onsite restaurant; Moguls Grille and Tap Room. We agree that Teri, our onsite massage therapist, is absolutely wonderful. She does specialize in hot stones and we are glad you were able to have that relaxing experience... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

I like Caribou Highlands facility and proximity to Lutsen and have gone with my friends annually for many years. I am surprised and disappointed that we were not allowed to play music on the hit tub area even with the approval of EVERY other person on the whole pool / hot tub area. Very lame! I will check into Eagle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer G, Manager at Caribou Highlands Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of Caribou Highlands. I do apologize for the disappointment you felt during your visit. We do however restrict music from our pool facilities due to the disturbances it may cause with other guests. Our pool facilities are high traffic areas with guests coming and going constantly including families with kids of all ages. We... More 

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

Snow was fantastic for early season! We were worried but they assured us ski conditions were good. We were not disappointed. The kids loved the ski in / ski out option (so did mom and dad for a much needed lunch break and rest!) Our unit was very nice and modern. Indoor hot tub was right across the road so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer G, Manager at Caribou Highlands Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your holiday vacation with us! We are pleased to hear you all thoroughly enjoyed your time together along with our accommodations. We look forward to your return in the future! Thank you for being our guest. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (56)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question