We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Lutsen hotels

Caribou Highlands Lodge

371 Ski Hill Road, Lutsen, MN 55612
Hotel amenities
Caribou Highlands Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Caribou Highlands Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lutsen
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Abbybowwowmom Hudson, Wisconsin
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    70
    39
    27
    22
See reviews for
111
61
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (240)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (83)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (60)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (63)
All months
Hudson, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Caribou Highlands was a great place to stay slope slide. We have been here several times and we love the Poplar Ridge Homes. The wood burning fireplace is a plus, and the view of the mountain is amazing. The internet service worked which is always a big plus. There was a blind missing in our bedroom, and some of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in a Condo at Caribou Highlands. The first night was great. Because of guest's above the rest of the weekend was terrible. We could hear everything from the unit above. They definitely used poor construction in these units. Not what I'd expect for the price. Stay somewhere else. Called front desk they said nothing they could do about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jennifer G, Manager at Caribou Highlands Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at Caribou Highlands Lodge. I greatly apologize for the experience you had during your stay with us and I am happy to report that in the Spring of 2015 we will be continuing renovations on our Condo facility. We are very excited about this renovation and believe... More 

Jordan, Minnesota
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for an entire week after our wedding, a mini-moon just to relax. I would say that we have mixed reviews about this spot. We dined at the restaurant numerous times and found everything delicious and the service wonderful. We also booked massages that were amazing. Not sure if we actually booked a hot stone session but the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jennifer G, Manager at Caribou Highlands Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent getaway with Caribou Highlands. I am pleased to hear you greatly enjoyed the food and service in our onsite restaurant; Moguls Grille and Tap Room. We agree that Teri, our onsite massage therapist, is absolutely wonderful. She does specialize in hot stones and we are glad you were able to have that relaxing experience... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I like Caribou Highlands facility and proximity to Lutsen and have gone with my friends annually for many years. I am surprised and disappointed that we were not allowed to play music on the hit tub area even with the approval of EVERY other person on the whole pool / hot tub area. Very lame! I will check into Eagle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer G, Manager at Caribou Highlands Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of Caribou Highlands. I do apologize for the disappointment you felt during your visit. We do however restrict music from our pool facilities due to the disturbances it may cause with other guests. Our pool facilities are high traffic areas with guests coming and going constantly including families with kids of all ages. We... More 

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Snow was fantastic for early season! We were worried but they assured us ski conditions were good. We were not disappointed. The kids loved the ski in / ski out option (so did mom and dad for a much needed lunch break and rest!) Our unit was very nice and modern. Indoor hot tub was right across the road so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer G, Manager at Caribou Highlands Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your holiday vacation with us! We are pleased to hear you all thoroughly enjoyed your time together along with our accommodations. We look forward to your return in the future! Thank you for being our guest. More 

Europe
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Eight of us (six adults, 2 children) stayed in one of the townhomes. It was not huge, but still felt spacious enough. Especially since it was way too cold to ski our first day and all of us spent the day together inside. Loved the view, the fireplace, and being able to ski in and out of the townhouse the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer G, Manager at Caribou Highlands Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us here at Caribou Highlands. We are honored to be apart of your family tradition and glad that you all had a wonderful time regardless of the weather! We hope to see you all very soon and look forward to welcoming you back again and again! More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

The townhome that we stayed in was very nice. It felt very cozy and homey although it is a lot more compact than one thinks it will be. Clean except for the person who stayed before us didnt wash the dishes well and the towels weren't as clean as I would have liked. The bathrooms were very very nice though!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer G, Manager at Caribou Highlands Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are pleased to hear you found our accommodations to your liking. We value your feedback regarding the towels and shuttle service. Those matters have been addressed with the department managers. Thank you again for your time to review Caribou Highlands and for being our guest. We hope... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

Nice studio, nice view! clean and quiet, but we were there during a slow period. We would request townhouse unit 651 again. Not quite luxurious, but very nice. WiFi would have been nice to have. Did I say nice?

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer G, Manager at Caribou Highlands Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our accommodations and your overall stay. We do have complimentary WiFi throughout the entire property that you are welcome to use as our guest. We again appreciate the review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future! More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

Super nice resort. You will feel like you are at home with all the amenities. Most units have fireplaces. Indoor pool and very large hot tub to soak those bones after a long day skiing. Kitchen equipped with everything you need to make your awesome comfort food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer G, Manager at Caribou Highlands Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing you stay with us here at Caribou Highlands Lodge. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our lodging and all the resort amenities we have to offer here. We hope that you will come visit us again before the close of this wonderful ski season we are having here in Lutsen! Thank you for being our... More 

Thunder Bay, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

We have stayed at Caribou Highlands quite a few times over the past years for the convenience to the ski hill. They lack on service right when you walk in except for one girl Tina who is awesome on the front desk. We always try to get her when we make our reservations.You usually have to stay 3 nights.They are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jennifer G, Manager at Caribou Highlands Lodge, responded to this review

We do greatly apologize for the disappointment you have expressed in your review. We appreciate your feedback and I have passed along your comments to the department managers for correction. We do take great pride in providing each of our guests (and our four legged friends) with top notch customer service, quality accommodations, and a fun experience. I am pleased... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Caribou Highlands Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribou Highlands Lodge

Address: 371 Ski Hill Road, Lutsen, MN 55612
Location: United States > Minnesota > Lutsen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Caribou Highlands Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribou Highlands Hotel Lutsen
Caribou Highlands Resort

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay