We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Caribou Highlands Lodge

371 Ski Hill Road, Lutsen, MN 55612
Hotel amenities
Caribou Highlands Lodge
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lutsen
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Bulldog7410 Mankato, Minnesota
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    73
    40
    31
    22
See reviews for
116
62
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (250)
  • Mar-May only
    (44)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (83)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (60)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (63)
All months
Mankato, Minnesota
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was very clean. The decorations and feel of the room was wonderful. It was a little smaller than I had expected but still very nice. However, the showers water pressure was slightly better than a trickle... The internet connection (wifi) was unusable. Generally when I go on vacation I don't need wifi, but this time both my wife and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

We enjoyed a stay in a Nordic Condo in early April. The property shows its age and some wear and tear as others have noted, but the room had a very nice layout and was comfortable and well-equipped. The flat screen T.V. has a DVD player and the front desk has movies you can check out. There are also games... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
minneapolis
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

Stayed in 2 Br Room Popular Home, Unit 610. More room than our family of 4 needed. Very nice layout with kitchen, fireplace and well furnished and decorated throughout. Large kids room could have slept 4 itself. Not really a ski in/ski out as others mentioned but I did try one day and hiked up 20 feet to get to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer G, Manager at Caribou Highlands Lodge, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking time to let us know how your stay was at Caribou Highlands. We’re happy to announce that we will be doing some renovations to our indoor pool area, and hope that you will come back soon and check it out! It’s good to hear that you were able to enjoy your time with our staff, as... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

This facility is run down, out dated, and poorly maintained. Service is horrible to boot. Being close to slopes not worth it, would rather be farther away in a nicer facility. Not coming back to stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer G, Manager at Caribou Highlands Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Caribou Highlands Lodge. I sincerely apologize that you were not able to enjoy your stay with us. We pride ourselves in our quality of guest service and I am sorry we fell below our level of standards for your stay. We appreciate the feedback and I have passed along your comments to the department... More 

Travelers are raving about these Lutsen hotels

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

We stayed in a three bedroom town house for the weekend and the stay was wonderful. We were able to walk outside and have immediate access to the slopes. The rooms were clean and we had everything we needed for the weekend. We decided to go and see some live music one night and the shuttle service made transportation to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer G, Manager at Caribou Highlands Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Caribou Highlands! We’re glad you were able to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service and hot tub area. It’s nice to hear that you will be making Caribou Highlands a new tradition with your group. We hope that in years to come you are able to make many more enjoyable memories with... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

Just returned from an awesome Spring Break trip at Caribou Highlands & Lutsen Ski Resort. We stayed in an Executive Lodge 4 Bedroom that was also Pet Friendly. While there was a slight snafu at check-in, Kimberly quickly resolved it, provided us with a gift card for dinner on 'them' at Moguls restaurant, and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jennifer G, Manager at Caribou Highlands Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Caribou Highlands! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations and took advantage of the Ski-in/Ski-out access. We look forward to your return in the future! Thank you for being our guest. More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

The room looked like no one had touched it in 30 years. It was almost comically dirty and outdated. The staff was not helpful. The restaurant was pretty good. Great location. The place is a dump. I had bad experiences making a reservation, checking and dealing with the desk staff

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer G, Manager at Caribou Highlands Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Caribou Highlands Lodge. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed Moguls Grille and Tap Room and the location. However, I am certainly disappointed by the lack of service you had during your stay. We pride ourselves in our quality of guest service and I am sorry we fell below our level of standards for... More 

Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

This place is really showing its age. It is unusually warm and the snow is melting off the roof. The patio is unusable because the snow above is melting and creating a waterfall onto it. I can hear every foot step of the people above me. The floor squeaks. Who uses stick frame construction for a multi level condo/ lodge?... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer G, Manager at Caribou Highlands Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I apologize the accommodations did not meet your needs and I am certainly disappointed by the lack of cleanliness you experienced. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness at Caribou Highlands and I will definitely bring this to the attention of our Housekeeping Department. You stayed in one... More 

Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

We just got back from a great weekend skiing in Lutsen. Beautiful skiing very close by! We stayed at a townhouse for $500 per night. I felt it was very over priced for what it was. The townhouse was fine with nothing really wrong but nothing special either. The carpet and floor felt dingy and bathroom was very average- for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer G, Manager at Caribou Highlands Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are pleased you found the location and accommodations to meet your needs. However, I do greatly apologize you did not find the accommodations to exceed your expectations. We have many accommodations on site that are ski-in/ski-out such as our Poplar Ridge homes which are absolutely stunning... More 

Hudson, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

Caribou Highlands was a great place to stay slope slide. We have been here several times and we love the Poplar Ridge Homes. The wood burning fireplace is a plus, and the view of the mountain is amazing. The internet service worked which is always a big plus. There was a blind missing in our bedroom, and some of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jennifer G, Manager at Caribou Highlands Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about the wonderful stay you had at Caribou Highlands Lodge! The wood burning fireplaces are always a great amenity when staying in our Poplar Ridge homes. We hope that you continue your tradition with us and we see you again soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (56)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay