We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
5700 W Highway 61, Lutsen, MN 55612
Special Rate
Summer Getaways from $119
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
Add Photo Write a Review

283 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    137
    84
    30
    21
    11
See reviews for
99
112
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (283)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (104)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (73)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (46)
All months
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Ok this was a page out of a time capsule. I felt like I was in the resort from dirty dancing. Beautiful grounds and access to the lake. Had lots of activities and is a place to take the family for the week. Loved the wood in the rooms, we had a room over looking the garden that was peaceful.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have stayed there 5 times now. Each time we stayed it was very relaxing & wonderful. We have stayed at the Log Cabins, Poplar River Condominiums & the Sea Villas. We need to still stay at the Main Lodge & the Cliff House Town-homes. We will definitely go back. We came all the way from Fargo, ND to stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We just stayed at Lutsen for four nights, and overall, we had a nice time. The weather was lovely, the Main Lodge at Lutsen had great food, good service, and a beautiful view. We stayed in a Sea Villa condo with one bedroom and a loft (K1). The condo was in need of some upgrades, mainly a new mattress in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LutsenResort, Owner at Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior, responded to this review

Thanks for your recent review about your stay at the resort. I am so glad you enjoyed great food and service as well as beautiful views! The resort is definitely located in a beautiful spot and we are very pleased with the all the delicioust food our Chef creates! Your description of the beds in your unit certainly does not... More 

Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Love this resort! We stay in the log cabin for 3 days last week, and had a great experience. The size of the cabin actually is bigger than I thought, and the pictures that I saw from the internet are not as pretty as I see in person。super beautiful, peace Lake Superior are just in front of you, breath taking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My husband and I recently stayed here for a wedding and we paid for a lake view room. We were given a room that required you to bend down and crane your neck sideways to see the lake. They did refund our money for the upgrade but beware you may not get what you pay for. I rated so low... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LutsenResort, Owner at Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior, responded to this review

Thanks for your recent comments. I apologize that you did not have adequate hot water just before the wedding. I know that must have been very frustrating. Thanks for bringing it to our attention that day as we were quickly able to address a malfunction in one of the hot water heaters which caused us to have a shortage of... More 

Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When planning a visit here, I was confused by all the different properties. Fortunately, a friend knew just what we were looking for and recommended the Lutsen Resort Sea Villas, a collection of Condos a few miles south of the main resort. The Sea Villas has its own office and indoor pool, spa, and sauna, but no restaurant. Our condo,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a lower level master suite in the poplar river units. The view from the master bedroom and the deck was spectacular -- looked west and south to the lake. The unit was clean and a great size for 3 people. The construction of the units is not great -- clearly no sound-proofing between the floors and we could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LutsenResort, Owner at Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior, responded to this review

Thanks for your recent comments on your stay at our resort. I appreciate your taking the time to do so. I'm glad you enjoyed the great views from your lodging....Lake Superior is an amazing body of water! I spoke with the Chef regarding the food allergy issue. He remembered the request and felt that he could not absolutely, 100% guarantee... More 

Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in a the poplar units. It seemed nice because it had a lot of great features, however there was a terrible smell in the buildings lobby. It smelled like rotting garbage and a backed up septic system. Apart from that it's a little out dated and not as clean or impressive for the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LutsenResort, Owner at Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay. I'm glad you appreciated the great features you found in the condo. I apologize for the odor outside your unit. It appears that it was a "dry drain" in the laundry which responded to water being poured into it. I have spoken with the maintenance department about a regularly scheduled... More 

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lutsen Resort was the perfect choice for our family reunion. Many styles of lodging to choose from to accommodate all needs and price ranges. We are staying in the cabins. Perfect vacation getaway. Our cabin overlooks the lake which provides not only a picturesque view but the lulling sounds of the waves and nature that surrounds you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LutsenOnSuperior, Manager at Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior, responded to this review

Hello Frances G, Thank you very much for your response. The cabins are definitely a great Minnesota experience and being right on the lake, there won't be any shortages of astounding views. I'm glad you enjoyed your trip and hope to see you again soon. Mike Martins Marketing Director More 

Washington, DC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is awesome! Yes, a couple people complained that the rooms were a bit dated. Or complained about the lack of glass glasses in the rooms. Maybe so. But the rooms were perfectly clean and maintained. And honestly, this is not the place you go to sit in your room and get fat. You don't need glass glasses to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LutsenOnSuperior, Manager at Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior, responded to this review

Hello Sudc1, Thank you for your comments. I'm glad that you had an enjoyable experience on the North Shore. I think the activities are one of our greatest assets here at Lutsen Resort. There is always something to do or a beautiful place to visit. I really appreciate your feedback on the rooms. We strive to make them as clean... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

189 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (135)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (49)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lutsen
7.3 mi away
Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior
19.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
8.4 mi away
Surfside on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 11 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
7.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
3.7 mi away
The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay