We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nichols Inn

2400 Vermillion Street, Hastings, MN 55033 (Formerly Asteria Inn & Suites)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nichols Inn
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Nichols Inn
Add Photo

22 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    14
    5
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (22)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My wife and I came up to Hastings for a family members wedding and we were searching TripAdvisor for a hotel. This was the best one by far. When we checked into the hotel I was shocked to see how affordable this updated establishment was. $99. I wasn't sure how the room would be since the price was low but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Beds were perfect, staff was friendly, room was clean and comfortable. I will be back for a longer stay. We plan to call and find out what type of mattresses they have. I haven't had that good a night sleep in weeks. They even added my AARP discount when we checked out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We booked this hotel last minute. The front desk lady was very nice and efficient. The front lobby area and hotels rooms were noticeably upgraded. Clean and bright! We didn't get a chance to browse through breakfast or look at the pool area. Our room had two queen beds. Comfy buy my sheets seems a bit dirty...meaning it felt like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pam S, Manager at Nichols Inn, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. Our goal is to make ever guest our priority and to ensure that they leave feeling relaxed and well rested. Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor and please come be our guest again when you return... More 

Bowling Green, Kentucky
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I completely admit I'm a snob when it comes to hotels - fair or unfair, I feel safer going with a big-chain name I've heard of. So I was a little unsure what I was getting into with the Nichols Inn when we were in town recently for a Baptism. But it certainly delivered. If you need a solid, modern... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had booked a hotel room here for my friend's wedding in which I was a part of. Called the number made the reservation, gave my credit card to the lady I had talked to over the phone over a week prior to the date. Was told my room was reserved and I was all set to go. I show... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pam S, Manager at Nichols Inn, responded to this review

I am extremely sorry that this happened. We have never had this happen before and I take full responsibility for this. Our goal is always to offer excellent guest service and we fell short. I would appreciate your giving me the opportunity to speak with you. Please contact Pam at 651-437-8877. More 

Mount Horeb, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was clean and modern. The hotel staff was friendly. Prices were fairly reasonable. The hotel was in a food location. There is also a pool and hot tub ... which we did not use. The wifi was difficult to access from the room but could get in the lobby and then go to your room to use.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

We stayed here on a recent trip to visit friends. I based the decision on the previous great reviews on here and I am happy to say I can add to the thumbs-up review. The hotel was very clean and orderly with modern decor. Our room was pretty much spotless and we really enjoyed having the in-room refrigerator, as we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Pam S, Manager at Nichols Inn, responded to this review

Thank You for your recent stay and review of Nichols Inn of Hastings! Your review is exactly what we strive for, thank you for taking the time to review us. I am glad that our hotel met your standards for cleanliness, comfort, and service. I also appreciate that you let us know that you had concerns about our back parking... More 

Wichita, KS
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015 via mobile

My family and I stayed at the Nichols Inn at Hastings for two nights over the weekend, in town for a family funeral near Buffalo. We had an eight-month-old baby with us, by the way. TripAdvisor reviews led me to choose this hotel over others in town, and we were not disappointed. It seems to me that hotels are starting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pam S, Manager at Nichols Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel while you were in Hastings for family reasons. We enjoy hearing that we met your expectations with the cleanliness and quality of our guest rooms. Your comfort will always rate number one with us. Thank you also for rating us and writing a response on Trip Advisor. We hope to be... More 

California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015 via mobile

I was in Hastings a couple of years ago and stayed at the motel across the street. Big mistake. Nichols Inn is much much nicer. It's clean, has a pool & hot tub, the breakfast is better, and the staff is nicer. I highly recommend it

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pam S, Manager at Nichols Inn, responded to this review

It has been our pleasure to have you and your wife as our guest. We have enjoyed talking with you when you come down for breakfast. We are so pleased that our hotel has met and exceeded your expectations. Our goal is always to have a friendly staff to assist you and a clean and comfortable hotel for you to... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

First rate service. Excellent Breakfast. Waffles - Yummy. Nice Room. Pool is great. Overall very nice experience and price is right. I would recommend this hotel. It is the best in the area. Two thumbs up!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pam S, Manager at Nichols Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest at Nichols Inn in Hastings. We are glad that you found our front desk staff accommodating during your stay and that you enjoyed your breakfast and other features of our newly renovated hotel. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We will look forward to having you as... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay