We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nichols Inn

Hotel website
2400 Vermillion Street, Hastings, MN 55033 (Formerly Asteria Inn & Suites)
Nichols Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hastings
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Sotagal1
Add Your Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
12
9
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (32)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel has recently been upgraded/renovated and it is beautiful! The lobby and our room were very welcoming, clean, and fresh. We only stayed one night so we didn't need housekeeping services during our stay but our room was VERY CLEAN when we checked in which is most important, in my opinion. The breakfast in the morning didn't have too... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pam S, Manager at Nichols Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at Nichols Inn on your most recent visit and for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your room and had a relaxing stay. We take your comfort very seriously and hope to see you the next time you visit Hastings. More 

Golden Valley, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We recently stayed here on a weekend for the show choir concert at Hastings high school. This hotel has recently been renovated. It's by far your best option in Hastings. They have a nice pool and hot tub. Rooms were clean and comfortable. There is complimentary breakfast in the lobby which was nice. If you need to stay in Hastings... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pam S, Manager at Nichols Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your complimentary review! We take our guests comfort very seriously and we appreciate that you had a relaxing stay with us. It was a real pleasure hearing about the Choral Competition, and again congrats on girls placing so well in the competition! We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Hastings! More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Clerk at front desk was average friendly. Outside exterior looks deceiving, but inside is nice. I think it used to be an Americinn hotel. Room was small...we just had one king bed but was amazed room size was not larger for the price. $99.90 on Friday and and Saturday nights (which is when we stayed) seems like a lot for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pam S, Manager at Nichols Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest at Nichols Inn in Hastings, MN. We appreciate that you chose to be our guest and that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are visiting the area. More 

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

This is probably one of the nicest motels we have ever stayed in, and we have stayed at quite a few. Everything is new and updated, including everything in the bathroom with a great shower. Very comfortable beds and pillows. Someone has paid attention to the details here - a full-length mirror, a swing-out two-sided mirror (one side being magnified... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HastingsNichols, Manager at Nichols Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel, we really appreciate your taking the time to do so. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the remodel we have just completed was appreciated. We are excited with the changes and updates we have made and it is so gratifying to hear that as... More 

Coralville, Iowa, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

First class room. Quiet. Bed was 1st rate! Breakfast was wonderful with fresh donuts and waffles. No complaints at all. Nice people. The indoor pool looked inviting but we didn't use it. I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HastingsNichols, Manager at Nichols Inn, responded to this review

It was a pleasure having you as a guest at our hotel. Thank you for the wonderful review that you took the time to post to let others know about our hotel. I am glad you had a relaxing and comfortable nights sleep and enjoyed the breakfast. We get our donuts and Danish from Emily's Bakery here in town and... More 

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

Except for a couple very minor things that kept me from giving the Nichols an Excellent rating, we had a wonderful stay. From the desk staff (pleasant & helpful) to the breakfast (pastry items from a local bakery, not prepackaged like a lot of places) to the updated rooms (wonderful bedding) everything exceeded expectations. Would definitely stay at the Nichols... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HastingsNichols, General Manager at Nichols Inn, responded to this review

I am so glad that you had a relaxing and comfortable stay at our hotel. Our goal is to be there to meet your needs with friendly, professional service and I am happy to hear we succeeded. We will look forward to seeing you on your next return to Hastings. More 

Hot Springs, Arkansas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

We took a 3000 mile trip from Hot Springs, Ark. to Keystone, SD. to MINN. to St. Louis back home. The trip lasted two weeks and we stayed in numerous hotels and motels. Nichols Inn in Hastings was the best place that we stayed. It was very clean and the staff was great. The beds were very comfortable and we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HastingsNichols, Manager at Nichols Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the complimentary review you posted for our hotel. Your comfort is the of the upmost importance to us. A clean and comfortable room is not something we should ever have to "hope" for. We are excited about our newly remodeled hotel and appreciate your taking the time to let other travelers know how you felt about us! More 

Doniphan, Missouri, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

My husband and I went to Hastings,Minnesota the last week of August 2014 to visit our daughter,son-in-law and grandson! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the newly remodeled Nichols Inn :) the room we stayed in was big and beautiful! Had a very comfortable king size bed and an extra full size. Also had a nice refrigerator we put snacks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HastingsNichols, Manager at Nichols Inn, responded to this review

We are so pleased you were happy staying with us at Nichols Inn in Hastings. Your comfort is very important to us. We are always happy to show our guest rooms to anyone in advance to checking in and I am pleased that doing so made you feel more comfortable. Thank you for taking the time to review us also,... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I was recently in Hastings, Minnesota playing for a wedding. I stayed at Nichols Inn for 3 nights and it was so wonderful! The customer service from everyone was excellent. The place is beautiful, quiet, free wifi, free breakfast, and really great coffee! It is close to town and anything you may desire. I would highly recommend staying here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HastingsNichols, Manager at Nichols Inn, responded to this review

It was our pleasure having your group be our guests here at Nichols Inn. We had a great time chatting with you and sharing bits and pieces of the wonderful event that brought you to Hastings! We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Hastings! More 

Red Wing, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We recently stayed at the Nichols Inn and thoroughly enjoyed our visit! Our newly renovated room was beautiful and comfortable. The bathrooms are gorgeous! The new carpeting, bedding and furniture look amazing. Very quiet! Great variety for breakfast as well. You can tell the new owners and management take a lot of pride in their property. We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
HastingsNichols, Manager at Nichols Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review here on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased that you found our newly remodeled hotel to be comfortable and enjoyed you stay. Your feedback is very important to us! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question