We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Glenwood B&Bs / inns

Americas Best Value Inn Glenwood

2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   340 County Rd 21 S, Glenwood, MN 56334 (Formerly Scotwood Motel)
Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
Hotel amenities
Americas Best Value Inn Glenwood
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn Glenwood to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 2 Glenwood B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014
joelwx39 Saint Paul, Minnesota
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
7
2
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (21)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Staff is Rude, didn't greet as we walked in took 15mins to check us in, attitude from the minute you walked in the door continued our whole stay! No towels in pool which was full of hair in the drains. Our room was missing the smoke detector, Room so small could barely walk, WE couldn't even enjoy our stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Starbuck, Minnesota
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Extremely dissatisfied with my entire experience. The front desk person was very unprofessional, short and snippy me and the other guests that were checking in before me. I wasn't even greeted when I walked in the door. It was extremely over priced for the size of the rooms. There was barely a walk way between the bed and the dresser.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

We are americas best value rewards members and often choose a abvi but will never stay at this one again!!! Pool and hot tub closed, could not get internet service and when I asked man at front desk I seemed to be a bother. When we checked in a employee or friend of employee stood at side of desk and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

We were staying overnight after a performance in town. The rooms are clean but basic. The pool looked nice. Our rooms tub had been coated and the coating was peeling back. Beds were comfortable. We did not eat much for breakfast. It is a standard hotel breakfast buffet with waffles and biscuits and gravy. The staff were not very engaging.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fargo, North Dakota
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
32 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

OK for one overnight, very basic small room with a musty smell. Definitely an old motel with cement walls and still using keys in their locks and double faucets on tub shower. Needs updating. Staff was helpful and friendly, pool area was small but alright. Breakfast is not well-stocked and if you don't get there right away you might not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
America's Best V, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Glenwood, responded to this review

Thank-you for your comments. I feel this is one of the best ways to bring any issues we may have to the attention of my staff. I like to hear when my staff was helpful and friendly....that is something that we stress and I would be disappointed if they were not friendly and helpfull. We try and keep the breakfast... More 

Suburban Chicago
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Nothing special, but rooms in the area were at a premium and this was all that was available. Disinterested font desk staff. Tiny room (Queen) There was only one bath towel, one hand towel and one washcloth in the room - had to go to desk for a second set. Concrete block walls reminiscent of a college dorm Carpet was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
America's Best V, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Glenwood, responded to this review

Thank you for dropping us a line to let us know how we are doing and where we can make improvements. There are a couple of thing that you mentioned that are out of our control......like the concrete block walls/size of our rooms and the size of our parking lot. But the 2 issues you had that concern me the... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I hope that I am not limited on how much I can review, because there is plenty. Our stay was during their annual Waterama festivities, so the town was very busy. We were in town for a family wedding and this is where the block of rooms was reserved. Going on a majority of the reviews, one would think this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
America's Best V, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Glenwood, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to put a review here on Trip Advisor. I have just recently taken over as manager after your stay. I appreciate the input, it help to to understand some of our problem areas and what we need to improve upon. I hope that in a short time I can fix or improve on most (... More 

Des moines
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The lobby and pool areas are nice....that's where it ends. The front desk person couldn't run the computer to get us checked in so we had to spend 15 minutes redoing everything. I asked where the room was and she was like I think you take a right. Hbo didn't work. The bathroom looked like a pigsty. The tub was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
America's Best V, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Glenwood, responded to this review

Getting reviews on Trip Advisor is the best way for me to get input from our customers, so thank-you for taking the time to write this review. I have recently taken over as the Manger since your stay. I think that we are improving daily on the our guest services & quality of the guest rooms. I think we still... More 

Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

The motel is undergoing renovation, which did not affect us. Our room was not renovated yet. The room was small, clean but a little tired. Our daughters stayed in a renovated room, which was newer and had a flat screen TV. The motel offers a free breakfast, which was very minimal...we ended going out to eat. Okay place to stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cindy B, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Glenwood, responded to this review

I always enjoy receiving feedback from our guests and thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are currently beginning phase 3 of our renovation project which includes updating the remainder of our rooms. Although I am unable to enlarge our traditional rooms, I would love your ideas on making the room feel more inviting. Our breakfast... More 

Stillwater, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The room was small with nothing to write home about. Pillows were too fluffy and high to sleep on. However it was tidy and functional. Decent pool area. The best feature is the continental breakfast that includes do it yourself homemade waffles that were nice and crisp on the outside and chewy and eggy on the inside. Nice surprise.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cindy B, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Glenwood, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed the waffles. They are wonderful!! I hope that you will be back in the future and I recommend you try one of our several other room options we offer. It is always great to hear from our guests. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Best Wishes. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Glenwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Glenwood

Address: 340 County Rd 21 S, Glenwood, MN 56334 (Formerly Scotwood Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Glenwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Glenwood 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Glenwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay