We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Glenwood B&Bs / inns

Americas Best Value Inn Glenwood

2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   340 County Rd 21 S, Glenwood, MN 56334 (Formerly Scotwood Motel)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn Glenwood to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn Glenwood
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
58%
Ranked #2 of 2 Glenwood B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
radtech4 Fargo, North Dakota
  • Overview
  • Reviews (17)
  • Photos (6)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (2)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
5
1
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

OK for one overnight, very basic small room with a musty smell. Definitely an old motel with cement walls and still using keys in their locks and double faucets on tub shower. Needs updating. Staff was helpful and friendly, pool area was small but alright. Breakfast is not well-stocked and if you don't get there right away you might not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
America's Best V, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Glenwood, responded to this review

Thank-you for your comments. I feel this is one of the best ways to bring any issues we may have to the attention of my staff. I like to hear when my staff was helpful and friendly....that is something that we stress and I would be disappointed if they were not friendly and helpfull. We try and keep the breakfast... More

Suburban Chicago
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nothing special, but rooms in the area were at a premium and this was all that was available. Disinterested font desk staff. Tiny room (Queen) There was only one bath towel, one hand towel and one washcloth in the room - had to go to desk for a second set. Concrete block walls reminiscent of a college dorm Carpet was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
America's Best V, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Glenwood, responded to this review

Thank you for dropping us a line to let us know how we are doing and where we can make improvements. There are a couple of thing that you mentioned that are out of our control......like the concrete block walls/size of our rooms and the size of our parking lot. But the 2 issues you had that concern me the... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I hope that I am not limited on how much I can review, because there is plenty. Our stay was during their annual Waterama festivities, so the town was very busy. We were in town for a family wedding and this is where the block of rooms was reserved. Going on a majority of the reviews, one would think this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
America's Best V, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Glenwood, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to put a review here on Trip Advisor. I have just recently taken over as manager after your stay. I appreciate the input, it help to to understand some of our problem areas and what we need to improve upon. I hope that in a short time I can fix or improve on most (... More

Des moines
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

The lobby and pool areas are nice....that's where it ends. The front desk person couldn't run the computer to get us checked in so we had to spend 15 minutes redoing everything. I asked where the room was and she was like I think you take a right. Hbo didn't work. The bathroom looked like a pigsty. The tub was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
America's Best V, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Glenwood, responded to this review

Getting reviews on Trip Advisor is the best way for me to get input from our customers, so thank-you for taking the time to write this review. I have recently taken over as the Manger since your stay. I think that we are improving daily on the our guest services & quality of the guest rooms. I think we still... More

Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

The motel is undergoing renovation, which did not affect us. Our room was not renovated yet. The room was small, clean but a little tired. Our daughters stayed in a renovated room, which was newer and had a flat screen TV. The motel offers a free breakfast, which was very minimal...we ended going out to eat. Okay place to stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cindy B, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Glenwood, responded to this review

I always enjoy receiving feedback from our guests and thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are currently beginning phase 3 of our renovation project which includes updating the remainder of our rooms. Although I am unable to enlarge our traditional rooms, I would love your ideas on making the room feel more inviting. Our breakfast... More

Stillwater, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The room was small with nothing to write home about. Pillows were too fluffy and high to sleep on. However it was tidy and functional. Decent pool area. The best feature is the continental breakfast that includes do it yourself homemade waffles that were nice and crisp on the outside and chewy and eggy on the inside. Nice surprise.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cindy B, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Glenwood, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed the waffles. They are wonderful!! I hope that you will be back in the future and I recommend you try one of our several other room options we offer. It is always great to hear from our guests. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Best Wishes. More

Wadena
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Our hockey team stayed at this hotel for a tournament weekend. We were treated like family! The beds were very comfortable the breakfast was awesome. It is a older facility, but the hospitality and service make up for that!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cindy B, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Glenwood, responded to this review

It was a pleasure having your team stay with us and fun for us to be a part of the excitement from your win on Saturday. I have not been able to find the results from Sunday yet, but I'm sure no matter the outcome - fun was had by all!!!! Best of luck and please come back to visit... More

Arbor Vitae
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

There are two hotels in Glenwood, MN. This one comes in at #2 in the competition for business. It is old, but they claim to be remodeling. The rooms have a jail-cell kinda feel as they (or at least the one I stayed in) have painted block walls instead of your average drywall finish. The hotel is old enough to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cindy B, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Glenwood, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Please accept my sincere apology for your unsatisfied stay. Your complaints are justified and not the standard of Americas Best Value Inn of Glenwood. I have reinforced the correct procedures for food preparation and display with all of my staff as well as retraining of internet problems. We have done extensive renovation projects over the past 7 months... More

Detroit Lakes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I was very impressed as I drove up to the Americas Best Value Inn in Glenwood MN. The building and grounds were very attractive with new siding and landscaping. The lobby, pool area and breakfast area were all modern and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and attentive, and the room was clean and comfortable. I would certainly stay here... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cindy B, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Glenwood, responded to this review

Dear Mary: It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. Although the cold weather arrived before we could completely finish the outside renovations, it's great that your arrival was memorable. We are glad you enjoyed the amenities and look forward to your next trip to America's Best Value Inn of Glenwood. Happy Holidays More

Le Roy, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I have stayed at ABVI in Glenwood several times this past year while visiting friends and have been greeted warmly and sincerely friendly on each visit. Cindy and Heidi remember me and express their appreciation in my visit! The entire staff is willing to do what it takes to make your visit comfortable. The remodeling continues and is fun to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cindy B, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Glenwood, responded to this review

It is so nice to hear from returning guests and their pleasure with all the remodeling that we have done. . As always, without a genuine, hard-working staff, this would have been an impossible task. Kudos to all my staff, desk clerks, housekeeping and maintenance. And a special Thank You to our loyal guests. We are excited for your next... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn Glenwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Glenwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Glenwood

Address: 340 County Rd 21 S, Glenwood, MN 56334 (Formerly Scotwood Motel)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Glenwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Glenwood 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Glenwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
56

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Americas Best Value Inn Glenwood staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer