We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Adventure Inn

1145 E Sheridan St, Ely, MN 55731
Hotel website
Click for phone number
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Adventure Inn
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Adventure Inn
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    23
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
23
38
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (106)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (49)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Osceola, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Homey, pet friendly rooms with reasonable rates (including the added fee for out pet). Our room was not fancy, but it was clean. The fresh pastries continental breakfast and good coffee was a bonus. We totally enjoyed the friendly helpful staff,and their truely EcoFriendly efforts.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sueedgington, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to write a review. We try hard to provide a good stay at a reasonable price. Winter rates are now available so that makes our stay even more of a bargain. We are also welcoming for dogs and only charge $10/night extra. Hope that you will return to Ely again. More

Maple Grove, Minnesota
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed in Ely over MEA weekend. Spent 2 nights here. Property was a typical motel - nothing fancy, but nothing to complain about either. We stayed in room 21 - the second building, upstairs. Good location in the center of town. Clean room with space to move about - two beds, small table with two chairs, TV, micro, fridge. Liked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sueedgington, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn. Rm 21 is a nice room that is tucked away upstairs away from the rest of the rooms. Only a room across from you. We do not have peep holes and chains as Ely is a very safe community with little crime. We also attract family types and usually very... More

Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The staff at the hotel is very friendly and the eco friendly accommodations are a nice touch. They have a small continental breakfast available every morning. The bathroom did not have a tub but did have a nice stone tiled shower. Parking in the parking lot is limited and no overnight main road parking is allowed so if you arrive... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sueedgington, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and the kind words for our staff. I was saddened to hear you did not have a restful stay at the Inn. I will try to address some of the comments. The gap under the door downstairs. It is there in part because we do not have carpet in the hallway or at the door... More

Needham, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We spent one night here on our way from Voyageurs to Isle Royale. The room was lovely and clean and the morning pastries were delicious. Unfortunately I left the pouch that I used to store my earrings on the bed when we left. The owners could not have been nicer. They tried to call us but we missed their call.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

This was our second time staying at the Adventure Inn in Ely, MN. Our stay this time (Aug. 2014) was in the newly built "Green" portion of the Inn. The mattress on the bed was very comfortable and just the right firmness, not like you find in most hotels. In keeping with their "Green" theme, the hand and body soap... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Duluth MN
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

My wife and I spent three nights here while in Ely for a wedding. The room was nice enough. Our room had a bed, a desk long enough for two chairs and a sofa. Since I had a great deal of down time while my wife stayed on top of her work, I really appreciated the sofa. The bathroom was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sueedgington, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for staying with us for the wedding. I would like to explain about the toilet paper and tissue. We are dedicated to reducing our footprint and try hard to buy sustainable products. Both the tissue and toilet paper are made from 100% recycled paper products. The paper products are unbleached whenever possible to help... More

San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
65 hotel reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

This hotel is clean and the staff are pleasant and helpful. It is also promoting itself as a "green hotel", so if you are tidy people and leave your room with the bed straightened and the towels hung up......that's the way it will stay. There is no further attempt by the staff to make it look like it has been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sueedgington, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I remember the confusion over replacing used towels, if they are hung up. It has been our policy as with many other hotels who are trying to reduce our footprint, that if your towels are hung up then you will be reusing them. If they are placed on the floor, in the shower we... More

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

This is the only place we stay in Ely - before and after our BWCA trip. It's reliably the same and improved each time we go there. Only suggestion would be to add hooks for towels/clothing in the bathroom. And while you're there, if it's open, make sure to go to the ice cream/custard stand across the street - homemade... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fredericksburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

A very nice "green" motel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The dog was welcome, they even gave us sheets to put over the beds in case he decided sleep on them! The only suggestion I had was a shelf in the shower.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sueedgington, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Kristi for your kind words. We value every review and take seriously any improvements etc. The room you were in does not have a shelf in the shower. It is set up for wheel chairs or people who need a bit more help in the shower. I agree that a shelf would be nice. That being said, most... More

Crestview, FL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

I have been going up to the Boundary Waters for over 18 years. After we found this jewel we never fail to stay here. You probably want reservations because it is a small hotel. Even though it has changed hands over the years I think it has just gotten better. The rooms are comfortable. But what I really love is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Address: 1145 E Sheridan St, Ely, MN 55731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Ely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel Ely

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay