We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fairfield Inn Duluth

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
901 Joshua Avenue, Duluth, MN 55811
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Duluth
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Fairfield Inn Duluth
Fairfield Inn Duluth
Fairfield Inn Duluth
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    40
    35
    26
    4
    3
See reviews for
36
23
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (108)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
There are newer reviews for Fairfield Inn Duluth
See the most recent reviews
Kenora, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel is right across the street from the Miller Hill Mall. The continental breakfast is very good with waffles and Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwiches. The room is quite small and sometimes you need to wait for a table. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The hallways make the hotel seem old with the carpet lifting and bumpy on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fairfield_Inn_Duluth, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Duluth, responded to this review

Thank you for talking about our hotel on TripAdvisor. The Miller Hill Mall and other shopping is one of the reasons that guests choose us. You will be pleased to know that our renovations taking place at the end of this year will be beautiful. Thanks, Ellen Betzold, General Manager More 

San Jose, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My review may be somewhat biased by getting assigned a room next to the elevator, but I really did find this hotel very average. The staff were not especially nice and the room was small but satisfactory. I think this hotel would benefit from more Marriott competition in Duluth.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I have used the conference room/meeting room multiple times. The room is always clean and the staff is very friendly. The location is convenient and easy for my business colleagues to find. Great place to hold a professional meeting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shell Lake, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Great place to stay. Very clean motel, great breakfast and helpful staff. We'll be back again. This motel is located close to the mall and the airport. We enjoy staying at a motel that has staff and enjoy their jobs and are friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
minnesota
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Given the weekend, it was way over priced!!! I payed almost $500 for two nights. Blues fest was in town. They kind a have you by the throat if you want to stay in or near Duluth. It's clean and comfy. The employees were all very very nice!!! Bed comfy for sure. Average room.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FFIDuluth, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Duluth, responded to this review

We are so glad you took time to tell us about your stay. We are glad you enjoyed our comfy beds. Our staff strives to make you feel welcome at every stay. Thank you, Ellen Betzold, General Manager More 

Ferney-Voltaire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I stayed a whole week in July. Location at the outskirts was fine, as I had a car to get around. Hotel staff was friendly and provided me with useful information. The room was fairly big, bed comfortable, A/C working and bathroom functional. Hotel has a very small gym with a cross-trainer and two treadmills: I only used the cross-trainer,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FFIDuluth, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Duluth, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your week here at Fairfield Inn Duluth. Thank you for sharing about your experience. 2013 will bring new changes to the breakfast at all Fairfields, but until then, I will keep my eyes open for local items to add to our Breakfast offerings. Thank you, Ellen Betzold, General Manager More 

Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Very nice hotel. Rooms were clean and quiet. The continental breakfast was good. Location is convenient to pretty much everything in Duluth. Many restaurants close by and Miller Hill mall is right across the highway. Never more than a 10 minute drive anywhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FFIDuluth, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Duluth, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing about Fairfield Inn Duluth. Yes we are luck enough to have a location that can get you to all points of intrest in town, in a short amount of time. Thank you, Ellen Betzold, General Manager More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Checked in without any problems. Service was very good. Upon entering the hallway, could see the hotel was dated (carpet had "humps" running down the middle). Room was similar. And it wasn't all that clean (grout was dirty, bathroom drains were slow, etc). Room was quiet however. Pool was very clean. Exercise room was very modern. But dirty too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FFIDuluth, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Duluth, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed the service and the pool and fitness center while you stayed. We will have new carpet and wall coverings coming the end of this year. Thank you, Ellen Betzold, General Manager More 

Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This hotel is quite old and dingy. The rooms and hallway are dirty. Only one ice maker and it's location is in the lobby. If did not find the staff quite that helpful or friendly. I'm a Platinum at Marriott and stayed at several Marriott brands. This is my least favorite hotel and the $179.00 a night is not worth... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FFIDuluth, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Duluth, responded to this review

I was sorry to hear you were unhappy with your stay here. I wanted to clear up that we do not charge for the water at the Front Desk. The water has a suggested donation cost of $1.25, with all proceeds going to our Dollars For Dreams charities. You will be excited to hear that we will be remodeled at... More 

Level Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Really enjoyed my stay here. It is an older property, but the rooms are very clean. Pool is very small with a small hot tub. However, the hospitality is top notch! With the mall across the street, there are plenty of places to eat and a Walgreens next door if you need anything. Great location! Breakfast is very small and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FFIDuluth, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Duluth, responded to this review

Wow. Thank you for your great review. Our staff work hard to build positive relationships with our guests. Thank you for seeing that. Ellen Betzold, General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
3.3 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
2.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay