We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fairfield Inn Duluth

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
901 Joshua Avenue, Duluth, MN 55811
Special Offer
Mobile Check-In
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Fairfield Inn Duluth
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a pet friendly hotel, with no extra charge for your animal. This was the first time bringing my dog to a hockey tournament and thanks to Racheal (the front desk attendant) made it a wonderful experience. We were going out for dinner, thought I had better let Racheal know that we were leaving the dog in the room,... More 

Helpful?
Thank sherrifl12
FFIDuluth, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Duluth, responded to this review

How wonderful to hear of the great care Rachel provided during you stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience with Tripadvisor. E Betzold More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016 via mobile

This property is okay, very average! Room decor is wild with various patterns with contrasting color. The carpets were dark brown and blue patterns. The couch was burnt orange with a leaf pattern. The walls had yellow and blue. One wall had blue and yellow patterns. The halls were mustard yellow and blue carpets! Who ever put this together had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mary A
FFIDuluth, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Duluth, responded to this review

WOW, yes our new décor is quite exciting. Marriott directed our latest remodel and that was completed in 2014. The vibrant colors are intended to enliven our brand. More 

St. Paul
Level Contributor
90 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2015 via mobile

The Marriott chains are pretty consistent. This was my first stay at this property and the location is great by the mall and next door to Buffalo Wild Wings - walkable. With that being said the property is older; clean and nice people but it is time to update the rooms.

Helpful?
1 Thank BriN188
FFIDuluth, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Duluth, responded to this review

We are so happy to see that you enjoyed your time here. We completed our remodel in 2014. More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2015 via mobile

When my elderly mom visits us, she cannot stay at our house because of the steps! We were tickled to find the Fairfield Inn, and when we asked about a room with limited walking we were given one literally across from the breakfast area...terrific. Our room appeared recently remodeled, with great mattresses and a pleasant, clean appearance. Breakfast was bountiful... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debra H
Fairfield_Inn_Duluth, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Duluth, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We were constructed in 1995 so there's some limitations on our size, but we did a full remodel of the hotel in 2013-2014. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015

Bad part is that hotel is not in Duluth's downtown, the good thing is that the hotel is across from the mall and restaurants. Good room prices, not a romantic destination!! The rooms are clean and breakfast is good.

Helpful?
Thank Giovanny R
FFIDuluth, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Duluth, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review of our property. We are happy to provide a great stay next to shopping and eating accross from the Miller Hill Mall. More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2015

I could tell that this hotel wasn't always a Fairfield Inn - it had to be some other hotel before it became a Fairfield because the layout of the hotel was kind of odd. From the outside, it looks like any other Fairfield Inn (I've stayed at a lot), but the inside is weird. The lobby doors aren't automatic, which... More 

Helpful?
Thank OwlYaDoing
sassypants1110, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn Duluth, responded to this review

Thank you for your lengthy and descriptive review. Our hotel was built a Fairfield Inn back in 1994, and was just newly renovated in 2013, the lobby doors were not replaced with automatic doors due to the temperatures in the winter. Our hotel has 61 rooms, it is a smaller hotel but we do our best to give it a... More 

Goochland, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
417 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015

Nice, well maintained property. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and up to date. Breakfast offerings are average for Fairfield. I would likely stay again. Convenient location for most anywhere in the area.

Helpful?
Thank Mark G
FFIDuluth, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Duluth, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your post about your stay with us. I am pleased that our staff were able to add to the value of your stay. More 

Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015 via mobile

A level 6 Marriott property that should really be a 2. It's got to be the high season weekend Rate but for $270+ a night on a Friday I expect more . It's clean and comfortable with a nice breakfast but far more expensive than it should be. Nothing special, average hotel room, no bell staff, no view, just off... More 

Helpful?
Thank krewerka
sassypants1110, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn Duluth, responded to this review

More 

Rosemount, Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2015 via mobile

This hotel is okay. The pros are very clean room. Friendly staff. Although the 800 number said no pets, this hotel allows them. The cons. Small/no air flow in fitness room. No hot tub. The free breakfast was terrible. There is no flow for people to move through and the sitting area was filthy. Partly because of the sheer number... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike N
sassypants1110, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn Duluth, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. We appreciate your feedback. The 800 number does not acknowledge us as being a pet friendly hotel because we limit our pets to the first floor. We do this for the convenience of outdoor access, as well as for our guests who have pet allergies. We are happy to... More 

Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015

Having stayed at this hotel on multiple previous occasions, I booked here because of the price, location and the hot tub... Unfortunately, once we arrived we went down to the pool for a hot tub, to find that it had been completely removed and tiled in. Such a disappointment. Everything else about the hotel is great... It's clean, central, rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank Azarius74
FFIDuluth, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Duluth, responded to this review

Thank you for your posting about your visit with us. Yes we do not have a hot tub at our location any longer. I'm sorry to hear that it affected your stay so much, but it had to go as it was no longer ADA compliant. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
3.8 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay