We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 32 Duluth hotels

Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value to your Saves list
Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
47%
Ranked #27 of 32 hotels in Duluth
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012
ColoradoNative85 Minnesota
  • Overview
  • Reviews (238)
  • Photos (18)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (68)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    70
    51
    41
    34
See reviews for
112
46
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value
See the most recent reviews
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had a 2 queen room. It was nice and clean. The carpet in the room was clean which is big thing for me. The beds were clean and comfortable.The bath room was a bit small, but not too big of a deal. The walls are thin, I heard lots of noise through the night. The hallways were a little... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy that you were pleased with your stay and found our hotel to be clean and inviting. We are updating our décor and amenities a little at a time, but the log furniture in our rooms receives a lot of compliments. Our pool deck area is very popular... More

Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Normally rooms are priced at $79. No rooms in the Duluth area and they charged over $200! The room was worth $79 but nowhere near $200. Old, outdated, dirty and no elevator! The bathroom was small with the sink Placed by the entrance door!Don't stop - keep driving!

Was this review helpful? Yes
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and we are sorry you weren’t satisfied with your stay. During the summer, weekends are the busiest nights for hotels in Duluth. When the entire area is sold out the demand for rooms is extremely high and the prices are high in reaction to this. Our standard room for one adult is $79 on... More

Rochester, MN
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed here on a Wed night when taking our son to college. This hotel is just like it says on their website. Nothing fancy, but clean, and the breakfast satisfied us just fine. The beds were comfortable. The front desk staff could not have been more friendly. During skiing season this would be a very convenient place to stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased that you were happy with your stay here and that you found our beds comfortable. Our staff works hard to keep our hotel clean and we all do everything we can to make sure our guests are satisfied with their stay. We are happy that you enjoyed... More

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I felt a little mislead by what the internet showed me and the reality of what it was. I thought it was going to be a cute, cabin-like hotel nestled in a hill and surrounded by woods but in reality it was an old hotel with few decorations, little ambience, and a view of the loud highway and a gas... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are sorry that you feel misled by the internet about our hotel. We have log furniture in all of our rooms providing a cabin-like feel, and there are trees enclosing our 4 acre property on the parking lot side of our hotel. The view facing the highway also shows the lights of West... More

Rush City, Minnesota, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I was impressed by how Nicole, Pamela and the staff went out of their way to accomodate our need to check in a large block of rooms early, they exceeded our expectations and were very friendly along the way. Nicely done! Breakfast was very good, rooms were nice and clean, nice hot tub, customer service was excellent. Nice view

Was this review helpful? Yes
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for our hotel. It was our pleasure to work with your group and we are happy that we could get you checked in early. We always try to best accommodate our guests and our goal is that everyone has the same great experience at our hotel that you were shown. Our... More

Aitkin, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was reasonably-priced place to stay in Duluth. It is clean, and had a pretty good breakfast. We stayed on a Wed. night. All was well until we tried to sleep, the beds are old and make a crunch noise everytime you roll over, the pillows were the worst, not soft just lumpy. During the night we could hear people... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that you found our hotel to be clean and enjoyed our breakfast. We are sorry you didn’t find our beds to be comfortable; we are working on updating all of our amenities in our hotel, which is why we appreciate when guests let us know the problems... More

Burnsville, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We first stayed here last Oct. I was able to score a great deal for a BOGO offer thru Steals @ star tribune. We enojoyed our stay. The room was clean, nice sized and conveniently located. I thought the view was really nice. The staff was friendly and accomodating. When we decided to visit Duluth this summer, I immediatly thought... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we are very pleased that you stayed with us again. Our location is great for people who want to experience Duluth while staying in a more country-like setting. We are glad that you found our staff very friendly and helpful; it is our goal for every guest to have... More

Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We went to Duluth on a Saturday, and like usual, Duluth was a madhouse. Many hotels were booked, but we got a room here. I'd stayed here years ago and thought it was sorta run down, but it was either this or drive 1.5 hours home. They wanted $200! I knew better, but the kids were pumped to stay and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

We are very sorry that your stay at our hotel was so unsatisfactory for you. Saturday prices are high because of the extremely high demand for rooms on the weekend in the summer. The amount of people that use our pool differs depending on the current guests, and overall it has been very busy this summer. It is at a... More

Reston VA
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
17 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We needed a reasonably-priced place to stay in the summer in pricey Duluth, and this place filled the bill. It is clean, quiet, and had a pretty good breakfast. The staff tried hard to make our check in go smoothly. It is not the Sheraton, but then we only paid $65 plus tax!

Was this review helpful? Yes
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your staff at our hotel and found it clean and quiet. Our front desk staff always tries to make sure our guests have an enjoyable stay and are there to help if you have any questions or concerns. We take pride... More

Grand Forks, North Dakota
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is not our first stay at this hotel. Reservations went well and smooth and check in was great. When we arrived in our room it was on the 4th floor and had a sink but no fridge or microwave (that was okay). Due to the weather being warm we went out to eat then returned and turned the A/C... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

We are sorry that your recent stay with us was not as satisfactory as previous ones. We only have 3 floors and your room was one of our standard rooms on our third floor. Regarding your air conditioner not working properly, we prefer that you let us know of problems as soon as they arise. By doing so, our front... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Address: 9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duluth Sprit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value Hotel Duluth
Red Roof Inn Duluth
Duluth Red Roof Inn

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
99

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer