We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 32 Duluth hotels

Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value to your Saves list
Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
47%
Ranked #26 of 32 hotels in Duluth
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012
jmaes21 Rochester, Minnesota
  • Overview
  • Reviews (242)
  • Photos (18)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (69)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    71
    52
    42
    34
See reviews for
113
48
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value
See the most recent reviews
Rochester, Minnesota
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Great place to stay on a budget. The property has some pretty nice ammenites for the price. Really nice pool, sauna and hot tub. The building isn't new but it has had some remodeling and the upkeep is pretty good and the decor is nice. Beds were not plush but they were ok for a nights stay. Walls were a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

Thank you very much for leaving us this nice review. We take pride in our hotel and the amenities we have to offer such as our pool, hot tub, and sauna as you mentioned. Our goal is to give our guests a great stay while exceeding their expectations. We also pride ourselves on being a great economical choice in the... More

Aitkin, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The women who greeted us to check in was wonderful! Our room was clean with comfortable beds and a GREAT VIEW. I drink a "blend" in the morning and was so happy to find cappuccino, coffee and cream. My husband had the coffee and my daughter had the cocoa, which we enjoyed while we made waffles. Had a great weekend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

Response: Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us this review. We are very happy that you had such a great time at our hotel and enjoyed our breakfast in the morning. Our staff works hard to ensure that every guest has a great experience, and our housekeepers do an excellent job getting the rooms clean and... More

Monticello, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We want to thank you all so much for the great stay Even though we were in and out our whole visit being tourist. The staff was great. The breakfast was great. Easy to get in and out of the hotel. We had a great honeymoon with you all. We cannot wait until next year to come back for our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

Thank you very much for this great review, and we are very happy that you were able to relax and enjoy your honeymoon while staying at our hotel. Our entire staff works very hard to make sure every guest has an enjoyable stay. We have a very good location being near the freeway and easy access to Duluth, yet still... More

Prior Lake, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I was very impressed with the quality of service from each employee, from the breakfast attendant who fixed the waffle machine quickly to the manager who allowed me to leave a day early and was able to fill my reservation while I was still there. Great employees!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

Thank you very much for leaving us this review. We are very happy that your stay at our hotel was enjoyable for you and that our staff exceeded your expectations. Our staff works very hard to make sure that each guest has a great stay and that our hotel is clean and inviting. We are more than willing to work... More

Devils Lake, North Dakota, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The rustic rooms have a nice homey feel, and are clean and comfortable. We heard no other occupants. The middle of the week prices are very reasonable, half the price of the downtown hotels. The breakfast gets a little crowded, but at those prices, thats fine. The hotel staff is very helpful and is so helpful in getting the best... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

Thank you very much for leaving us this great review! Our goal is for every guest to have as great of an experience at our hotel as you had. We pride ourselves on being a high quality economical choice in the Duluth area, and are more than willing to apply valid discounts for guests Sunday-Thursdays. Our breakfast area is quite... More

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The Good: - Location to Downtown Duluth was 10 minutes - Free Star Tribune paper The Bad: - Stairs, no elevator. Not good if you have trouble walking - Carpets in room have to be 15+ years old... ewwww - Sheets on bed were very rough The Ugly - EXPENSIVE - so not worth the money, however for some reason... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

We are sorry that you were unhappy with your recent stay with us. We are an older building so we do not have an elevator but two of our floors have direct access from the parking lot with no stairs. We are also more than willing to help carry in luggage for our guests if they need help with it.... More

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I may have given this hotel a better rating had the price been below $90/night, but we were charged $173/night on Oct 5-7 and expected much more. This is what we got...offensive smell in the room when we arrived, thin walls and ceilings so we heard way more than we wanted to hear from our neighbors, shampoo in plastic pouches... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review about our hotel. Weekends in Duluth are very busy with travelers and hotels sell out very quickly. All hotel prices are higher to reflect the increased demand for rooms, but we still offer lower prices compared to other Duluth area hotels. It is our mission to meet every guest’s expectations.... More

minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Your room rate is reasonable, but then you try to charge a late check out fee that was never mentioned. Like a bait and switch. Selena had two opportunities to mention your ridiculously early check out time of 1030 and failed. Nicole called at 1115 and said we would be charged a late fee if we werent out in 15... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

I’m sorry that you feel our check-out time and late check-out fees are a bait and switch, I can assure you that is not our intention. The purpose of a check-out time is so our housekeepers have enough time to clean all of the rooms so the guests arriving that day can have a fresh room waiting for them. Guests... More

Lakeville, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Unusual location and setup of hotel with no elevator. One needs to walk down a flight of stairs to get to the lobby but if you stay on the 2nd floor there is a ramp at the end of the building. Rooms had a cabin, rustic feel. Breakfast was usual but room was small and very crowded. They did have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed the décor of our rooms and enjoyed our rustic lodge feel. Our location at the top of the hill gives our rooms a very nice view of the area. We do not have an elevator, as you mentioned, but our staff is more than... More

Circle Pines, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

In the past I have stayed at the Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn and enjoyed my stay. I will never stay there again!! Senior citizens are not the problem clientele. The greeting was not friendly, I was told they will take an imprint of my card so if I incur any damages they can charge my card, and that check out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns about your recent stay with us. We are very sorry about what you experienced at check-in. It is our policy to imprint every guest’s credit card for any incidentals, including possible damage charges, but our front desk staff should never make a guest feel they are under scrutiny for it.... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Address: 9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duluth Sprit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value Hotel Duluth
Red Roof Inn Duluth
Duluth Red Roof Inn

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
99

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer