We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    84
    70
    51
    46
See reviews for
137
60
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (303)
  • Mar-May only
    (63)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (106)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (75)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (59)
All months
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Nice, cozy little hotel in the mountains above Duluth. Comfy room with all the usual amenities. Hotel has indoor heated pool and a jacuzzi. Close to ski country. Convenient to I-35. Breakfast typical continental fare, but three waffle irons! Only issue was the bedsheets were dirty when we checked in. The manager sent housekeeping down a few minutes later and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dsminn5, Front Office Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

Thank you very much for leaving a review of our property, and I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay! Many guests love our indoor pool, hot tub, and sauna, as well as our deluxe continental breakfast, so I'm glad you were able to take full advantage of all those amenities! As well, even though you said that... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First of all, this place is very affordable at this time of the year. The room was fine, but one of the beds was like a rock no big deal. We were on the first floor and above us was a herd of elephants waking us up at 5:00. Also the people across the hall didn't realize that door slams... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dsminn5, Front Office Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our establishment, as the information gathered in feedback such as this help our business grow. I am truly glad you found your stay to meet your expectations! Many guests love our large indoor pool, hot tub, and sauna areas, so it's great to see you also found them exceptional. Our guests also thoroughly enjoy... More 

MN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I would give it less than one star but on the upside the AC unit was not loud and everything worked. The tub/shower has been painted, yes, painted and is peeling. There are cracks in the ceiling where the wall meets the ceiling. The carpet is stained and the floor ripples underneath. The shower curtain in the bathroom was light... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dsminn5, Front Office Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

Thank you for providing your feedback regarding our hotel, as we use this information to make our company the best it can be. I truly apologize that your stay was not satisfactory for you. Regarding your room itself, our veteran housekeeping and maintenance staff always make sure that rooms are as comfortable as possible before allowing them to be sold... More 

Travelers are raving about these Duluth hotels

Wisconsin
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Don't stay here if you have low mobility because a rather large set of concrete steps must be navigated from outside to reach the lobby which is tiny and crowded. The pool area is ugly and outdated but I have to say the room itself was quite nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dsminn5, Front Office Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

Thank you for providing a review of our establishment, as it helps our company to grow and better serve our guests. I do apologize that your stay did not fully meet your expectations. Regarding mobility, although our building does not have elevators, we do make every effort to accommodate guests who do have mobility issues if informed ahead of time... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
8 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

The accommodations were fine for the price paid, and the breakfast was more than plentiful. The pool and sauna areas were dated and the workout facility was literally a closet, but Mary Elizabeth at the front desk was excellent and the customer service made the stay enjoyable. Wish the microwave I paid extra for had worked, but other than that,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dsminn5, Front Office Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel! I'm glad to see that you found your accommodations enjoyable, and our customer service pleasant! Our front desk strives to provide the best possible customer service to each and every guest, so I will certainly let Mary-Elizabeth know of your good words! I do wish to apologize,... More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Good stay overall somethings good be better but you get what you pay for. The water was very cold but the hot tub was nice. We started off in a room with no fridge or microwave which all should have one. Check out time is a bit early and could have a bit more for breakfast. But the hot tub... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dsminn5, Front Office Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

Thank you for providing a review of our establishment! It is good to see that your found your stay generally enjoyable, and thank you for providing your input regarding some items that you thought could be better. Our top-notch front desk staff thoroughly enjoy providing excellent customer service to all of our guests, so I'm glad you found them to... More 

wisconsin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015 via mobile

I have stayed here before with no issues. We arrives late so we did not use the pool. Our room was clean and nicely decorated. The walls were a bit thin as I could hear the conversation in the next room. Friends stayed also and their room was not as clean. Found underwear in a drawer and candy on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dsminn5, Front Office Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review of our property, and I am glad to see that your stay was enjoyable! Our maintenance staff will appreciate your pleasure from the room decor, as they do everything they can to make our property updated and lovely. I do wish to apologize, however, that your friends found their room to not be up... More 

Spring Valley
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

I read many reviews before we arrived and was quite nervous. My boyfriend picked this hotel. My sister has worked in the hotel business for almost 20 years so I am very picky and know what to look for in bad service and was not thrilled at his choice but thought I would give it a chance. First thing you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dsminn5, Front Office Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

Thank you for your review regarding our hotel, and we are immensely happy that you enjoyed your stay! Each and every member of our front desk staff, our housekeeping staff, and our maintenance staff work incredibly hard to make sure that everything functions as smooth as possible at our facility, and it's great to see that it did not go... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

This is the worst hotel to stay in. We booked a pool side room. We arrived and was told we were upgraded to a better room. The "upgraded" room we were put in was horrible. Our tv didn't work in the "upgraded", their solution was to put us in a conjoined room with a loud obnoxious group of teenage girls.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dsminn5, Front Office Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

Thank you for providing a review of our hotel, and I do sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We do our absolute best to make sure a guest is thoroughly accommodated, especially when a requested room type is unavailable. This involves upgrading to higher-end rooms with either more amenities or larger beds. As well, if notified... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

My husband&our 4kids plus one and others in family(8more)came for two nights on mini vacation. We had 4rooms and they were very accomadating to making everybody comfortable. Younger front desk people during day shift were sooo nice&all housekeeping staff were very friendly&helpfull:) This morning when we were all packing up kids and checking out,there was a younger blond haired gal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dsminn5, Front Office Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel! Our number one priority for every guest at our hotel is to make sure they experience top-notch customer service, and I am incredibly glad you experienced our trademark hospitality. I will most certainly pass your compliments along to our front desk and housekeeping staff! Once again, we thank you for your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities