We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Downtown Duluth Motel

2.0 of 5 131 West Second Street, Duluth, MN 55802 (Formerly Best Western)
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Downtown Duluth Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Downtown Duluth Motel
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    39
    43
    22
    22
See reviews for
31
46
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (153)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (68)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Downtown Duluth Motel
See the most recent reviews
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

You have to be kidding. It is an old broken down motel with even the room doors opening to the outside. I thought I was lost in the 60's. The heater was noisy and hardly kept up. The decor was outdated. The walk to the ice machine was scary. Time to tear the old place down as it is not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to make me aware of the disappointment you had during your recent stay with us. I apologize for the inconvenience you encountered due to the conditions of the hotel. We make every effort to provide each guest with a quiet and comfortable stay, and appreciate your feedback. I hope you will consider giving us... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for two nights back in February. Our room was ok. Standard, clean, what we expected. The staff on the other hand was great. Female manager came to our room and fixed our closet door and the brought us a refrigerator. It was later in the day so we expected that we would have to wait... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive review about our hotel. We are pleased to know that you were happy with your room and the service you received during your stay. It is always our gratifying to receive guest feedback especially when it is as positive as yours. We look forward to and welcome the opportunity to serve you again... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
14 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Picked this place because it was only a few blocks from the Starbucks and $50 less than others in the area. We weren't looking to enjoy the stay--just looking for a place to sleep while visiting family. As others mentioned, the curb appeal is lacking. However, we stayed in a King room, and for $69 plus tax, we were pleasantly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent stay and nice review. I'm glad you were happy with the room and service we provide, and that you found us to be a good value. I hope you will let us serve you here again soon. More 

Motley
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This was an older Motel which upon pulling in I had some initial reservations. The downtown area of Duluth has gotten so much more rough than it was years ago. The rooms were dated but clean which is important. The staff 'did their job' nothing more or less. They were not rude but not very friendly either. Breakfast was limited... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to make your very first TA review about your recent stay with us. I'm sorry you were unhappy with the service you received, and hope you will accept my sincere apologies. I will use you review in discussions and training to improve our operation, and I hope you will let us know how we are... More 

Saint Cloud, Minnesota
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Location is in rough area of town, room heater very load bring ear plugs to be able to sleeps. Guests could be heard walking by you room late in the evening, colorful language. When we arrived we were greater with 24 empty beer bottles left just out side our room next to the trash container

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our hotel. I'm sorry you were unhappy with the noise from the heater and other aspects of your stay, and hope you will accept my apologies. Please let us know how we can serve you better the next time you are in Duluth. More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Our room was clean, the location is just a block from the skywalk (handy in the winter!). They had some trouble getting us checked in, but let us go to our room and complete the paperwork the next day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent visit and review. I'm sorry about the problems you experienced during check in, and hope you will accept my apologies. I'm glad it all got worked out, and that you were happy with other aspects of your stay. I hope we can serve you here again soon. More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

By far the dirtiest room I've ever stayed in, the bathroom was disgusting! Shower dropped all night and the bath tub was rotted out and had condensation in the tub the whole time? It was a ground floor unit , maybe thats why? Room smelled rancid, old smoke and mold, comforter was filthy and smokey. The parking lot is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review

I am truly sorry you were so unhappy with us during your recent stay and offer my sincere apologies. The conditions you describe are certainly not up to our usual standards, and I will use your reviw in discussions and training to improve our operation. We welcome all guest input and appreciate your candid comments. More 

South Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I work for a 3 star hotel in the Twin Cities and so am very familiar with the amenities modern hotels should offer. This MOTEL (not hotel) was the type where your room door opens onto the parking lot. The room was small, but clean and had decent beds, flat screen tv, and bathroom fixtures were all working properly (except... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your loyalty to the Best Western family of hotels, and for staying at our hotel. I'm sorry you were disappointed with our service and breakfast and hope you will accept my sincere apologies. I appreciate your understanding of our business, and hope you will continue to let us know how we are doing on your future visits... More 

Albertville, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I was skeptical about staying here after all the negative reviews. This place is not as bad as what some people have said unless you are extremely fussy there is nothing wrong with the Best Western Downtown. Look at the price difference between this motel and the ones in Canal Park. Our room was clean, it is small but we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your candid review of our hotel. I'm glad you were happy with the room and service we provide, and appreciate your recommendation of us. I hope you will allow us to serve you again the next time you visit Duluth. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Downtown Duluth Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downtown Duluth Motel

Address: 131 West Second Street, Duluth, MN 55802 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Downtown Duluth Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Downtown Duluth Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Downtown Hotel Duluth
Duluth Best Western
Best Western Duluth

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (16)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay