We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Downtown Duluth Motel

131 West Second Street, Duluth, MN 55802 (Formerly Best Western)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Downtown Duluth Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Downtown Duluth Motel
Add Photo Write a Review

218 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    47
    61
    56
    29
    25
See reviews for
41
70
26
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (218)
  • Mar-May only
    (65)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (84)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I needed a hotel for a restful nights sleep as my itinerary had me spending the majority of my time in Duluth, not the hotel. This hotel served its purpose perfectly. I would stay here again on my next trip.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Paul
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

There isn't much to this motel. The room was tiny, packed with furniture yet lacking amenities, and somewhat poorly cleaned. However, the location is great, the staff was helpful, and it's one of the cheapest motels around. Worth checking out, but temper your expectations.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review

Dear andrewlB7913DZ, Thanks for staying with us and posting your review. As they say in the hotel business - "It's Location, Location, Location!!!" and I'm glad you like ours. I'm sorry you were unhappy with your room and apologize for any inconvenience or discomfort you experienced. I hope we can serve you here again. Sincerely, Ken Jacobs Guest Relations More 

Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location! Great price. This place used to be a terrible dive before the ownership changed. It's a world of difference now! I look forward to using this location again. Friendly staff, close to downtown, and easy access to rooms.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review

Dear Katherine F, Thanks for posting your nice review about our hotel. I'm glad you like the improvements we've made and that you'll be staying with us again. We look forward to welcoming you back and serving you here again. Sincerely, Ken Jacobs Guest Relations More 

Bemidji, Minnesota
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

parking was a little tricky and we didn't know there was a parking lot in the back until we asked. location was convienent to what we were doing. ran out of spoons for breakfast on the second morning so were quite limitted to what we could eat.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review

Dear 299bethr, Thank you for staying with us and posting your review. I am truly sorry to learn of your disappointment with us during your recent stay and apologize for any discomfort you experienced here. Our goal is to provide all guests with excellent service and accommodations and we take it very seriously when find that we have fallen short.... More 

Suwanee, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Best part of the stay-checking out...super nice gentleman helped us. The room was clean but when we checked in the there were shady people hanging out in the parking lot & the front desk clerk acted annoyed at us and her appearance was not pleasant.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review

Dear Paula J, Thank you for posting comments about your recent stay with us. We want all our guests to receive the best in service from well trained professionals with great attitudes, and I'm disappointed to learn this was not the case with you. I assure you that I will use your review in discussions and training so no one... More 

Travelers are raving about these Duluth hotels

Coquille, Or
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This downtown motel offers free parking, WiFi and the continental breakfast includes yogurt, boiled eggs, etc. The coin laundry consists of one washing machine and dryer, but at $1.00 each a bargain. You can walk to restaurants and bars. I would stay here again. The beautiful flower baskets around the property are a plus.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review

Dear Genelle H, Thank you for taking the time to write and submit your nice comments regarding your stay at our hotel. We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate your business and positive remarks. I hope we can welcome you back and thank you in person soon. Sincerely, Ken Jacobs Guest Relations More 

St. Paul
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We needed a place to stay during a busy weekend, and most other places were either exorbitantly expensive or not available. This motel was available for a moderate price. Nothing special, but did have clean rooms, updated furniture and fixtures, and we didn't experience any problems.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review

Dear nancyhW2762NQ, Thanks for posting comments about your recent stay with us. I'm glad we met your lodging needs and expectations and that you found us to be a good value. I hope you will be our guest again. Sincerely, Ken Jacobs Guest Relations More 

Eagan, Minnesota
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here the night before a Lake Superior fishing charter. The room was clean and comfortable except for the stale cigarette smell in my non-smoking room. Obviously the price was much better than staying directly at Canal Park which is just 3 or 4 blocks away. If the management could simply keep the non-smoking rooms smelling fresh then this... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review

Dear kevinkW1468SN, I am truly sorry for the disappointment and discomfort you experienced here and offer my sincere apologies that we didn't do a better job of demonstrating our commitment to guest satisfaction. Timely feedback from you and other valued guests is very important to us, and it is used in discussions and training to improve our operation. We do... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I don't have a strong opinion about this motel. It was fine. It was the type of place you pick when you aren't going to be spending a lot of time in the room, but don't want to be next door to a drug bust either. There were some dirty tissues between the bed and the nightstand, but no hooker... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review

Dear K554WWjessicar, It is our goal to provide our guests with the utmost in service, comfort, cleanliness, value and facilities, and apologize that this was not the case with you. I will use your review in discussions and training to improve our operation. I hope you will give us another chance to regain your trust the next time you are... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First let me say that I am an optimistic person and I have never taken the time to write a review. The location was great though I wouldn't feel safe walking to it at night. We were really disappointed at the cleanliness of our room. Crumbs on the nightstand, table and dresser (obviously weren't wiped down at all) crumbs and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review

Dear Marie2020, Thank you for staying with us and posting your comments. I'm sorry you were unhappy with our property and the poor job our housekeeping team did in your room and hope you will accept my sincere apologies for any discomfort or inconvenience you experienced. We value your feedback and take it very seriously when we fail to deliver... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay