We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Downtown Duluth Motel

2.0 of 5 131 West Second Street, Duluth, MN 55802 (Formerly Best Western)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Downtown Duluth Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Downtown Duluth Motel
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    39
    43
    22
    22
See reviews for
31
46
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (153)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (68)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Fargo, North Dakota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Came to Duluth for overnight sightseeing getaway and to see the band play. I was nervous as to what I would get but the hotel was clean and well kept. My room was very acceptable and clean. The only thing that would have been nice was a mini refrigerator. Parking was off street and I could have walked to First... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Don't stay here if you want a no smoking room or want to get work done online. My room was a "non smoking" room that smelled like a frat party was in there the night before. Bed were good. TV channel listing not current. WiFi worked about a quarter of the time. 100 bucks and I've had better at motel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review

Dear David S, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We really appreciate your feedback and are very sorry for the condition of your guest room and poor WiFi service you received. Please accept my apologies for the discomfort and frustration we caused. We will take your comments under consideration as... More 

Thunder Bay, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here after our flight from Vegas.It was a cold night and we were freezing.The lady at the front desk told us to let her know if we need extra blankets or anything else.The room was small but very warm.They had continental breakfast which included cereals,fruits,yogurt,toast,pastries and drinks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review

Dear Sally155017, Thanks so much for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. We endeavor to give all our guests the best in service and accommodations and we appreciate your compliments. I hope you will let us serve you here again. Sincerely, Ken Jacobs Guest Relations More 

Bel Air, Maryland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Came to Duluth for an overnight visit on a steam train. This hotel was pretty close to the depot and was priced the best out of the other bigger (and presumably nicer) hotels nearby. This place is a few streets up the hill on the edge of a semi-burnt out section of downtown Duluth. Everything generally looked run down once... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review

Dear Brad L, Thanks for staying with us and posting your comments. Our pricing is in line with similar properties in this area and we feel that we offer good value given our central location and facilities. However, in your case it appears we failed to meet expectations, and I am truly sorry for the disappointment and discomfort you experienced... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014 via mobile

My wife and her friend each booked a room here for a marathon but ended up backing out. For whatever reason her friend was able to cancel it she was not (?) so she rebooked a later date and we tried to make a weekend trip out of it. We checked in and the clerk gave us directions to our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review

Dear racerx8410712, I am truly sorry for the disappointment and discomfort you experienced here and offer my sincere apologies that we didn't do a better job of demonstrating our commitment to guest satisfaction. Timely feedback from you and other valued guests is very important to us, and it is used in discussions and training to improve our operation. We do... More 

Grand Forks, ND
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

A friend and I planned a girls' weekend in Duluth and were on a budget. The BWDT was the most affordable to downtown and port proximity. We were a little apprehensive based on some of the other reviews, but our room was updated, comfortable and clean. There was plenty of hot water--something I really prize and the towels were new.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review

Dear laurels10, Thank you very much for writing and posting your nice review. Everyone here enjoys delivering a higher quality guest experience than our competitors and I'm glad you were happy with our performance. I'll share your comments with our team so they know their efforts are appreciated. I hope we can welcome you back and serve you here again.... More 

Duluth, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

The shower was 2 feet square, good thing I'm a thin guy. Table was uncomfortably tall, wish I was a tall man. Heater ran loudly or not at all. Cleaning was sub-par, found hair and lots of dust. TV remote wouldn't channel up. New carpet and drapes, but kept some of the old furniture, ie. chairs. Only Ice machine is... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review

Dear Daniel M, I am truly sorry for all the frustration and hassle we caused you and offer my sincere apologies that we didn't do a better job of delivering an excellent guest experience. Timely feedback from you and other valued guests is very important to us, and it is used in discussions and training to improve our operation. I... More 

Saint Paul, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

It was a cheap and comfortable hotel if you are not looking for anything too fancy. Nice breakfast in the morning but the common area for eating is too small for all the guests they have. The hotel is very close to the main street in Duluth so it is very convenient for walking around the area.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review

Dear Maria C, Thank you for staying with us and posting your nice review. We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate your business. I hope we can serve you here again. Sincerely, Ken Jacobs Guest Relations More 

Cass Lake, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

The hotel is a good quality for the price. Continental breakfast did not include eggs, bacon or sausage... just carbs and fruit. Being a diabetic, the breakfast offerings were few. Most of all I was disappointed in the Rewards program. After 3 stays, I should have earned a free night. I did not. : ( Apparently, one of my stays... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review

Dear Priscilla F, Thanks for coming back to stay with us and for posting your comments. Making and keeping good relationships with our guests is very important to us and we are always happy to receive feedback on how well we are doing our jobs, and what we can do to make things better. I'm sorry you are understandably unhappy... More 

Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

Stains on pillows. Very outdated furniture. Room needed paint and a great deal of updating. NO WIFI. I can't believe they advertise free wifi when it does not work. Internet tech was not knowledgeable. Toilet chain had to reattached after each flush by my husband. Shower was lukewarm and fluctuated between lukewarm and cool. Internet tech was not knoledgeable. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review

Dear kelsea2, I am sorry we did not live up to the standards that you have experienced at other Best Westerns and offer my apologies. Please don't let this one experience make you leave the brand. I understand your disappointment and frustration regarding your room and the lack of internet connectivity and appreciate your candid comments. Your feedback will be... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Downtown Duluth Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downtown Duluth Motel

Address: 131 West Second Street, Duluth, MN 55802 (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Downtown Duluth Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Downtown Duluth Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Downtown Hotel Duluth
Duluth Best Western
Best Western Duluth

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (16)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay