We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 32 Duluth hotels

BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   131 West Second Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
47%
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Brian R St. Neots, United Kingdom
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    36
    38
    19
    20
See reviews for
31
41
20
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The outside appearance and surrounding location show that this is an old style motel in not the best part of town. What was inside was OK. The room was pretty compact but acceptable and the main thing is that it was clean and the bed was pretty comfortable. The breakfast was listed as continental and by that I took light... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review

Dear Brian R, Thanks for choosing our hotel and sharing your great review. We are proud to provide excellent service and accommodations at a reasonable price and pleased to know you found us to be a good value. I hope you will let us serve you here again. Sincerely, Ken Jacobs Guest Relations More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was very disappointed with this place! Breakfast had cold hard boiled eggs, no hot scrambled eggs, pancakes were dried and flat, and selection for breakfast was not acceptable. The rooms had no microwave, no refrigerator and beds were lumpy.You could hear thru the walls and when someone took a shower the water was very loud in our room. There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review

Dear Jayne I, Thank you for taking the time to write and submit comments about your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your room and our breakfast and hope you will accept my sincere apologies for the frustration and discomfort you experienced. Our goal is to provide exceptional service on every... More

Home
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was ok it was fairly clean but had a very strong musty smell. The location was good we walked back and forth to canal park. Did not have any issues with noise. Wonder if rooms on second floor would be better and not have the musty smell.The staff were all wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review

Dear LynnRWMN, Thank you for taking the time to write and post your candid comments about your recent stay with us. I'm sorry for the musty smell you encountered and offer my apologies for any discomfort you experienced here. I'm glad you were happy with other aspects of your stay and appreciate you including those remarks in your review. I... More

United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very good accommodations. Clean quiet rooms, good staff. Close (.5 Mi) to canal park area, less to down. Rooms clean, Flat screen TV/Cable nice. WiFi mostly very slow most of the time (not usable when busy). Continental Breakfast nice in morning, miss hot items offered at some Best Westerns.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review

Dear Robert L, Thanks for posting comments about your recent stay with us. I'm sorry you you disappointed with the breakfast and WiFi and offer my apologies for any inconvenience you experienced. We have ordered equipment for a significant upgrade in WiFi service which should arrive and be installed in the next week or two. It was nice of you... More

Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here on Thursday, August 22nd, 2014 on the first leg of an anniversary getaway along the Lake Superior North Shore. We made reservations using Travelocity. Try reserving a hotel room in the Duluth area for any Summer weekend and and you'll understand how pleased I was to find this room for under 100$. I was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review

Dear Jeb6kids, Thanks for taking the time to write and post your detailed review about your recent stay with us. You are right, we are a motel, not a hotel, and I apologize for any disappointment you experienced here. I'm glad you were generally happy with your stay and appreciate your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back... More

BATAVIA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

older motel in downtown duluth. the only odd feature was the restricted, angled parking lot. there was upper level parking behind the motel; uphill. other than that; the room was completely acceptable for our stay. the staff was always courteous. the room was always cleaned, and stocked with fresh towels, etc.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review

Dear DAVID J, Thank you for staying with us and posting your nice review. We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate your business. I hope we can serve you here again. Sincerely, Ken Jacobs Guest Relations More

Grand Forks, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was just awful, the room smelled , the parking was terrible you had to park in the back were there was no lighting and walk around, the lady at the checkin was not neet and was not at all helpfull when she could not find my confirmation number and then told me I could have a room that someone... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review

Dear Clay S, I am truly sorry for the disappointment and discomfort you experienced here and offer my sincere apologies that we didn't do a better job of demonstrating our commitment to guest satisfaction. We want to learn more details about your visit and hope you will contact me via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com at your convenience so we can discuss this further... More

Owatonna, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here August 21-24 and were a little hesitant about the hotel after reading the not so good reviews about the neighborhood and parking, When we checked in, the front desk clerk was very nice and friendly. The neighborhood didn't seem 'shady' to me...just a little older downtown location....I didn't see any suspicious people hanging around...but the plants and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review

Dear Katie K, Thanks so much for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. We endeavor to give all our guests the best in service and accommodations and we appreciate your compliments. I hope you will let us serve you here again. Sincerely, Ken Jacobs Guest Relations More

Detroit Lakes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have been staying here for the past 3 years and have been happy. This hotel is nothing fancy so if you are planning to be out and about most of the day and just come back to sleep/shower then this would be suitable. They usually have a good breakfast with variety but this past weekend not much but pancakes... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review

Dear Lisa S, Thank you for your many visits and for posting your candid comments. I'm glad you know you can count on us for a comfortable stay when you are visiting Duluth. We really appreciate your business and your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are here. sincerely, Ken Jacobs Guest Relations More

Bismarck, North Dakota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pro - Location, comfortable beds, pillows, free breakfast, good A/C Con - Wifi didn't work at all during four nights, bugs on window sill, dirty toilet, grimy bathroom tile, greasy spots on sheets, remote didn't work properly, free parking was limited and the extra parking was extremely tight and has broken asphalt and big potholes enough to hit the bottom... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review

Dear karineb689, Thank you for taking the time to post comments about your recent stay with us. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations. It is only with honest feedback from valued guests such as yourself, that we can make changes and improvements to ensure an enjoyable stay. I hope you will... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel

Address: 131 West Second Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Downtown Hotel Duluth
Duluth Best Western
Best Western Duluth

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Duluth with
any amenities