We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 32 Duluth hotels

BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   131 West Second Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel to your Saves list
45%
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Priscilla F Cass Lake, United States
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    36
    41
    19
    22
See reviews for
31
43
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (145)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (68)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Cass Lake, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is a good quality for the price. Continental breakfast did not include eggs, bacon or sausage... just carbs and fruit. Being a diabetic, the breakfast offerings were few. Most of all I was disappointed in the Rewards program. After 3 stays, I should have earned a free night. I did not. : ( Apparently, one of my stays... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review

Dear Priscilla F, Thanks for coming back to stay with us and for posting your comments. Making and keeping good relationships with our guests is very important to us and we are always happy to receive feedback on how well we are doing our jobs, and what we can do to make things better. I'm sorry you are understandably unhappy... More

Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stains on pillows. Very outdated furniture. Room needed paint and a great deal of updating. NO WIFI. I can't believe they advertise free wifi when it does not work. Internet tech was not knowledgeable. Toilet chain had to reattached after each flush by my husband. Shower was lukewarm and fluctuated between lukewarm and cool. Internet tech was not knoledgeable. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review

Dear kelsea2, I am sorry we did not live up to the standards that you have experienced at other Best Westerns and offer my apologies. Please don't let this one experience make you leave the brand. I understand your disappointment and frustration regarding your room and the lack of internet connectivity and appreciate your candid comments. Your feedback will be... More

Green Bay, WII, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You must fix the wireless internet system in the hotel. It is terrible even when it is available. Much tooooooooo SLOW! cbcbbcbcbcbbcnxmxmmxmxmxmxmxmxmskskskskiewieieieiryryrythgfhghghgnbnbnbmnmnkjkjkjkjkjkjkoyyoyoyouiuiuiuiyiyip qkqkqkqkwnnwnwnwnvxvxvxvxvxvxvxvxv

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review

Dear James P, I'm sorry about the WiFi and apologize for the frustration and inconvenience you experienced here. I have forwarded your comments to our IT team so they can follow up. We want all our guests to have a great experience here and take it very seriously when we learn of any dissatisfaction. I hope you will give us... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Close location (walking distance) from Canal Park. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were fairly clean. Kind of mildew smelling but not horrible. The beds were comfortable. If your just looking for a cheep place to lay your head at night while in Duluth, this place serves the perpouse. If your looking for a spot for some weekend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review

Dear timothye08, Thanks for staying with us and posting your frank comments. I'm glad you were happy with the service and accommodations we provide , and that you found us to be a good value. I hope you will be our guest again. Sincerely, Ken Jacobs Guest Relations More

sarasota, fl
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here when visiting Duluth for my husband's birthday. The hotel is in a very seedy area -- I wouldn't walk anywhere around there, day or night. Only one person on duty at any given time, and she was repeatedly called away from the desk (doing laundry, tending to emergencies) . We waited over an hour for her to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review

Dear jfz, I am truly sorry for the problems you encountered during your recent visit and offer my sincere apologies for the hassles and discomforts you experienced. Guest comfort and safety are top priorities here and we take it very seriously when we learn of any guest disappointment. It is our goal to provide our guests with the utmost in... More

St. Neots, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

The outside appearance and surrounding location show that this is an old style motel in not the best part of town. What was inside was OK. The room was pretty compact but acceptable and the main thing is that it was clean and the bed was pretty comfortable. The breakfast was listed as continental and by that I took light... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review

Dear Brian R, Thanks for choosing our hotel and sharing your great review. We are proud to provide excellent service and accommodations at a reasonable price and pleased to know you found us to be a good value. I hope you will let us serve you here again. Sincerely, Ken Jacobs Guest Relations More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

I was very disappointed with this place! Breakfast had cold hard boiled eggs, no hot scrambled eggs, pancakes were dried and flat, and selection for breakfast was not acceptable. The rooms had no microwave, no refrigerator and beds were lumpy.You could hear thru the walls and when someone took a shower the water was very loud in our room. There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review

Dear Jayne I, Thank you for taking the time to write and submit comments about your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your room and our breakfast and hope you will accept my sincere apologies for the frustration and discomfort you experienced. Our goal is to provide exceptional service on every... More

Home
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

The room was ok it was fairly clean but had a very strong musty smell. The location was good we walked back and forth to canal park. Did not have any issues with noise. Wonder if rooms on second floor would be better and not have the musty smell.The staff were all wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review

Dear LynnRWMN, Thank you for taking the time to write and post your candid comments about your recent stay with us. I'm sorry for the musty smell you encountered and offer my apologies for any discomfort you experienced here. I'm glad you were happy with other aspects of your stay and appreciate you including those remarks in your review. I... More

United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Very good accommodations. Clean quiet rooms, good staff. Close (.5 Mi) to canal park area, less to down. Rooms clean, Flat screen TV/Cable nice. WiFi mostly very slow most of the time (not usable when busy). Continental Breakfast nice in morning, miss hot items offered at some Best Westerns.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review

Dear Robert L, Thanks for posting comments about your recent stay with us. I'm sorry you you disappointed with the breakfast and WiFi and offer my apologies for any inconvenience you experienced. We have ordered equipment for a significant upgrade in WiFi service which should arrive and be installed in the next week or two. It was nice of you... More

Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

My wife and I stayed here on Thursday, August 22nd, 2014 on the first leg of an anniversary getaway along the Lake Superior North Shore. We made reservations using Travelocity. Try reserving a hotel room in the Duluth area for any Summer weekend and and you'll understand how pleased I was to find this room for under 100$. I was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review

Dear Jeb6kids, Thanks for taking the time to write and post your detailed review about your recent stay with us. You are right, we are a motel, not a hotel, and I apologize for any disappointment you experienced here. I'm glad you were generally happy with your stay and appreciate your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel

Address: 131 West Second Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Downtown Hotel Duluth
Duluth Best Western
Best Western Duluth

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay