We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Inn On Lake Superior

#3 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Hotel amenities
The Inn On Lake Superior
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015
Rachel A Elk River, Minnesota
Add Photo Write a Review

899 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    618
    181
    60
    26
    14
See reviews for
343
268
16
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (899)
  • Mar-May only
    (227)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (354)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (177)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (141)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Inn On Lake Superior
See the most recent reviews
Minnesota City, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

We have stayed at your hotel for years for various family and school events. In years past we have enjoyed a wonderful, clean and friendly environment. Our recent stay was somewhat disappointing. The room was not adequately cleaned and there was garbage left behind from the previous tenant, under the bed and in the general room area. We were in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review

Dear kate s, I am truly sorry you were disappointed with us and apologize for all the frustration and hassle we caused. It is clear we were not operating up to our usual standards of delivering an excellent guest experience. Timely feedback from you and other valued guests is very important to us, and it is used in discussions and... More 

Elk River, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

I took my parent up to Duluth for a weekend in October. They had not been to the area since they moved from there 30 years ago. They were so impressed with the improvements in the area and the beautiful hotel we stayed in. Your staff was so friendly and our room was fresh and clean. We all loved the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review

Dear Rachel A, Thank you very much for posting your terrific comments about your stay with us last fall. We know how important it is to be able to spend quality time with family so you can relax and create new memories to be cherished for many years to come. I'm glad you were happy with the service and accommodations... More 

Toledo, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

Travel for business. Hotel was clean, but could use a freshening of decor. Staff was friendly and helpful. Layout is a bit confusing with the convention rooms in between guest rooms and lobby, but not really a big issue.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review

Dear Nate M, Thanks for staying with us and sharing your remarks. We value all guest feedback and use it to make improvements and changes. We appreciate your recognition of jobs well done by our team and hope you will let us serve you here again. Sincerely, Ken Jacobs Guest Relations More 

Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

see above, you need to remodel to keep up with the other hotels on the strip, the wallpaper, the cielings in the bathroom and above the window. we have stayed there many times in the past and now it just seems like you have let it go a little.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review

Dear Gil R, Thank you for making the effort to share your thoughts with us. We value you as a guest, and I do want you to know that your concerns are our concerns! We will have all the rooms completely remodeled before the end of the quarter. Please stay with us again soon so that we can demonstrate our... More 

Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Nice hotel with neat perks such as complimentary pop/water in the room, smores, coloring contest for the kids. Roof top hottub was nice except because of the below zero temps it was shut down one of the days. Good complimentary breakfast. Overall a decent stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review

Dear Rick F, Thanks for staying with us and posting your comments. I'm sorry about the rooftop pool not being open one night and offer my apologies for any disappointment or inconvenience you experienced. I'm glad you were happy with other aspects of your stay and appreciate you including positive remarks. I hope you will be our guest again. Sincerely,... More 

Mauston, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

We have been staying here during the week for business long term, everyone has been very accommodating. The staff has been extremely helpful and responded favorably to any requests we have made. The rooms are quiet which is also a plus! Nice big breakfast and other perks to staying here bring us back! We will be continuing to stay here... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review

Dear Kenneth M, Thanks for staying with us and posting your review and 5 star rating. Satisfying road warriors like yourself is one of the many things we find both challenging and enjoyable. Because you spend so much time away from home, we are very pleased to hear that you were happy with what and how we do things here,... More 

Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

We would never stay anywhere else on Canal Park. We enjoy it all, from the comfy beds / pillows to the breakfast buffet and nightly smores to the outdoor hot tub. The hotel and staff are all 5 stars!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review

Dear Chris G, Thank you for making us your hotel of choice and for posting your wonderful review. I'm glad you know you can count on us for the best in service and accommodations, and appreciate your compliments about our team. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are here. Sincerely, Ken Jacobs Guest Relations More 

Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

I stayed poolside with my grand-daughters, ages 6 and 7. We had a wonderful time. The evening s'mores on the patio was a giant hit as well as the clean pool area and comfortable accommodations. Thanks!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review

Dear Cheryl S, Thank you for staying with us and posting your comments. It is always gratifying to receive guest feedback especially when it is as positive as yours. We look forward to and welcome the opportunity to serve you here again. Sincerely, Ken Jacobs Guest Relations More 

St. Paul
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

This is an excellent hotel, but the prices get a little high sometimes. The rooms are really clean and the hotel employees are very friendly and help you any way they can. The pool area is good size and has seating for parents to get together.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review

Dear John Y, Thank you very much for your many visits and for posting your excellent comments and 5 star rating. It’s guests like you that make our jobs of maintaining the highest standards of cleanliness, service and facilities very rewarding. We look forward to welcoming you back and thanking you in person the next time you are here. Sincerely,... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Another successful stay at the inn. We love this hotel and will continue to stay here whenever we are in the Duluth area. Although the fitness center needs a good deep cleaning, the rest of the hotel is tip top! Great breakfast spread with many good options, including gluten free choices. Very nice and friendly staff!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review

Dear Teresa S, Thank you very much for your loyalty and patronage over the years. Making and keeping good relationships with our guests is very important to us and we are always happy to receive feedback on how well we are doing our jobs, and what we can do to make things better. We value your business and look forward... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

508 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (118)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
View from room (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Other (31)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (369)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
Double Queen Poolside Room (59)
Viewed
King Sofa Lake Room (72)
Viewed
King Whirpool Bridge View Room (54)
Viewed
Pool (36)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (27)
Viewed
Rooftop Pool (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay