We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Inn On Lake Superior

#4 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Hotel amenities
The Inn On Lake Superior
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
mbuttler Minneapolis, Minnesota
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    151
    46
    24
    12
See reviews for
265
214
11
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (702)
  • Mar-May only
    (124)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (260)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (177)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (141)
All months
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Let me just say that I made the mistake of booking a room too small for my family. That was may fault and I in no way consider this the error or the hotel. And their customer service was outstanding in trying to get me a larger room the whole weekend. Unfortunately the entire hotel was booked and no one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review

Dear mbuttler, I am truly sorry for the frustration and inconvenience you experienced and offer my sincere apologies that we didn't do a better job of demonstrating our commitment to guest satisfaction. Timely feedback from you and other valued guests is very important to us, and it is used in discussions and training to improve our operation. We appreciate your... More 

Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at The Inn on a cold wintery Thursday night. It was quiet in Duluth that evening, which was great. We wanted some peace and quiet. We chose a "city facing" room because we are cheap. The room ended up being a spacious corner room and was warm, attractive, and very comfortable, and the view of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review

Dear MarthaJane57, Thank you very much for sharing comments about your recent stay with us. I'm glad you were happy with the service and accommodations we provide and really appreciate your recognition of jobs well done by our team. Your recommendation means a great deal to us and I hope we can serve you here again. Sincerely, Ken Jacobs Guest... More 

Norway, Maine
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I travel on business quite often. This was the 7th hotel I had been in over a 6 week period. It was refreshing! My room was very spacious. It was on the top floor near the rooftop pool. I had a King bed which was comfortable. The room had a couch, table & chairs, a small fridge, coffee maker. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review

Dear Mainesilver1, Thanks for your visit and nice review. Travelling for business (or pleasure, for that matter) can be stressful and challenging, and we want all our guests to be able to relax and enjoy themselves while they are here. I'm glad you were happy with the service and accommodations we provide and we look forward to welcoming you back... More 

Minnesota City, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed at your hotel for years for various family and school events. In years past we have enjoyed a wonderful, clean and friendly environment. Our recent stay was somewhat disappointing. The room was not adequately cleaned and there was garbage left behind from the previous tenant, under the bed and in the general room area. We were in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review

Dear kate s, I am truly sorry you were disappointed with us and apologize for all the frustration and hassle we caused. It is clear we were not operating up to our usual standards of delivering an excellent guest experience. Timely feedback from you and other valued guests is very important to us, and it is used in discussions and... More 

Elk River, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I took my parent up to Duluth for a weekend in October. They had not been to the area since they moved from there 30 years ago. They were so impressed with the improvements in the area and the beautiful hotel we stayed in. Your staff was so friendly and our room was fresh and clean. We all loved the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review

Dear Rachel A, Thank you very much for posting your terrific comments about your stay with us last fall. We know how important it is to be able to spend quality time with family so you can relax and create new memories to be cherished for many years to come. I'm glad you were happy with the service and accommodations... More 

Toledo, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Travel for business. Hotel was clean, but could use a freshening of decor. Staff was friendly and helpful. Layout is a bit confusing with the convention rooms in between guest rooms and lobby, but not really a big issue.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review

Dear Nate M, Thanks for staying with us and sharing your remarks. We value all guest feedback and use it to make improvements and changes. We appreciate your recognition of jobs well done by our team and hope you will let us serve you here again. Sincerely, Ken Jacobs Guest Relations More 

Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

see above, you need to remodel to keep up with the other hotels on the strip, the wallpaper, the cielings in the bathroom and above the window. we have stayed there many times in the past and now it just seems like you have let it go a little.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review

Dear Gil R, Thank you for making the effort to share your thoughts with us. We value you as a guest, and I do want you to know that your concerns are our concerns! We will have all the rooms completely remodeled before the end of the quarter. Please stay with us again soon so that we can demonstrate our... More 

Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Nice hotel with neat perks such as complimentary pop/water in the room, smores, coloring contest for the kids. Roof top hottub was nice except because of the below zero temps it was shut down one of the days. Good complimentary breakfast. Overall a decent stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review

Dear Rick F, Thanks for staying with us and posting your comments. I'm sorry about the rooftop pool not being open one night and offer my apologies for any disappointment or inconvenience you experienced. I'm glad you were happy with other aspects of your stay and appreciate you including positive remarks. I hope you will be our guest again. Sincerely,... More 

Mauston, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

We have been staying here during the week for business long term, everyone has been very accommodating. The staff has been extremely helpful and responded favorably to any requests we have made. The rooms are quiet which is also a plus! Nice big breakfast and other perks to staying here bring us back! We will be continuing to stay here... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review

Dear Kenneth M, Thanks for staying with us and posting your review and 5 star rating. Satisfying road warriors like yourself is one of the many things we find both challenging and enjoyable. Because you spend so much time away from home, we are very pleased to hear that you were happy with what and how we do things here,... More 

Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

We would never stay anywhere else on Canal Park. We enjoy it all, from the comfy beds / pillows to the breakfast buffet and nightly smores to the outdoor hot tub. The hotel and staff are all 5 stars!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review

Dear Chris G, Thank you for making us your hotel of choice and for posting your wonderful review. I'm glad you know you can count on us for the best in service and accommodations, and appreciate your compliments about our team. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are here. Sincerely, Ken Jacobs Guest Relations More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

505 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (115)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
View from room (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Other (29)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (369)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
Double Queen Poolside Room (59)
Viewed
Other (126)
Viewed
Pool (36)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (27)
Viewed
Rooftop Pool (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question