We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 32 Duluth hotels

The Inn On Lake Superior

350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Hotel amenities
The Inn On Lake Superior
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added The Inn On Lake Superior to your Saves list
88%
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Jason S Farmington, Minnesota, United States
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    137
    40
    21
    12
See reviews for
240
183
10
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (617)
  • Mar-May only
    (120)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (260)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (148)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (89)
All months
Farmington, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel is fantastic, as most hotels on Lake Superior are. What Sets the Inn on Lake Superior apart is the exceptional staff. Everyone at the hotel is there for you and will make certain your stay is as amazing as the North Shore of Lake Superior.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review

Dear Jason S, Thank you very much for writing and posting your nice review. Everyone here enjoys delivering a higher quality guest experience than our competitors and I'm glad you were happy with our performance. I'll share your comments with our team so they know their efforts are appreciated. I hope we can welcome you back and serve you here... More

Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

M<y spouse and I enjoyed a clean, quiet, nicely appointed room with a beautiful view of Lake Superior. The location was perfect for our business in Duluth, very near the DECC. Plenty of restaurants are nearby and so is the pier with the entrance to the harbor. Without any exaggeration, this was one of the nicest motels I've used. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review

Dear BillM462, Thanks so much for returning to us and for sharing your comments. It’s guests like you that make our jobs of providing excellent service and accommodations very rewarding. We really appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back and serving you here again. Sincerely, Ken Jacobs Guest Relations More

Minnesota
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Had a wonderful one night stay while winding up our fall trip to the North Shore. It was our first time staying at this hotel and we were impressed. We had a third floor room overlooking the lake and enjoyed watching the boat traffic on lake Superior. We took advantage of the third floor outdoor pool and loved the experience.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review

Dear lesfergie5, Thank you for taking the time to write and submit a review of our hotel. It is our goal to provide our guests with the utmost in service, comfort, cleanliness, value and facilities, and I am glad we exceeded your expectations. We really appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit. Sincerely,... More

Mississauga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The price felt a little steep at first, however when you factor in how wonderful of a location this place, the great bikes that they offer for free, the fire and s'mores at night, the location was on a lakefront walking/running /biking trail and it was "downtown" as well, everything was great. The breakfast was awesome also, hot or cold... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review

Dear Donna B, Thanks for choosing our hotel and sharing your great review. We are proud to provide excellent service and accommodations at a reasonable price we feel that we offer good value given our central location and extensive facilities. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and hope you will let us serve you here... More

Aberdeen, South Dakota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While our budget wouldn't permit a repeat of this stay, we had a special group rate that got us a Lake View suite on the third floor, and that view was spectacular. We had a private balcony where we could sit and watch the lake and other lake visitors enjoying the lake or the Water Walk (when not enjoying it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review

Dear Homelytraveler, Thanks for taking the time to post your wonderful review about your recent stay with us. We take a great deal of pride in our people and operations and endeavor to deliver a terrific experience to every guest. I have shared your comment about the pool roof with our maintenance team so they can deal with this immediately.... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for two nights. The complimentary smores is a great touch. The rooftop hot tub is very relaxing. The front desk staff is very friendly and helpful too. But the powdered eggs? Was disappointed by the eggs. The rest of the free breakfast was very enjoyable. But for the price i paid, i want real eggs in the morning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review

Dear Stephen L, Thanks for posting your candid comments about you recent stay with us. I'm sorry you were unhappy with our eggs and will take your feedback into consideration as we work to improve our guest experience. I'm glad you were happy with other aspects of your stay and appreciate that you included positive remarks in your review. I... More

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fabulous location right by the lift bridge, on canal park and by the shops. We had the jacuzzi suite with a tub - awesome. Great breakfast in the morning that is FREE, sure to feed the kiddos well so you can save money on a meal. S'mores at night with half a bar of chocolate! Seriously they don't skimp. Bed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review

Dear stpaulgal2007, Thanks for staying with us and posting your nice review. I'm sorry that our housekeeping job didn't do an excellent job in your bathroom and offer my apologies for any discomfort you experienced. If you would send your room number to me at kenjacobs@zmchotels.com, I'll make sure this is addressed immediately. We will also look into the television... More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The location is fine, the room was clean but very average. For the price this hotel was VERY overpriced. The breakfast was very bad. The scrambled eggs were luke-warm and like rubber. No restaurant. less than a third of the rooms have a view of the lake. Our view of the parking lot certainly should not command the rate we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review

Dear gene Z, Thank you for staying with us and posting your comments. We believe that our pricing is in line with similar properties in this area and we feel that we offer good value given our central location and extensive facilities. However, in your case it appears we failed to meet your expectations, and for that I am truly... More

Marshall, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I brought a friend and her daughters to the shore of Lake Superior for their very first visit. $233 a night. The bathroom was worn, with mold/dirt in the corners. The pillows were disgusting; lots of stains under the pillowcases. The breakfast room was nice, but the food was so so. The eggs were obviously powdered or instant and one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review

Dear DirtyMartiniGirl, Thank you very much for posting your candid comments about your recent stay with us. We value specific and timely feedback from our guests, and I will share your review with our team. We will review our procedures and revise them if necessary so we can improve our guest experience. I am truly sorry for the disappointment and... More

Rochester, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Inn never disappoints!! We have stayed here often while in the Duluth visiting our son who is a student at UMD. Love the location and all the extra amenities the Inn offers! Especially enjoy the rooftop pool, evening s'mores and full complimentary breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review

Dear Nancy G, Thank you very much for your loyalty and patronage over the years. Making and keeping good relationships with our guests is very important to us and we are always happy to receive feedback on how well we are doing our jobs, and what we can do to make things better. We value your business and look forward... More

Do you own or manage The Inn On Lake Superior?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Address: 350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

129 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (109)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near The Inn On Lake Superior

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Lakewalk
Lakewalk
Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas
Canal Park
Canal Park
Landmarks/ Points of Interest