We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Inn On Lake Superior

#4 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Hotel amenities
The Inn On Lake Superior
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Kathy P
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    151
    47
    26
    12
See reviews for
270
215
11
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (710)
  • Mar-May only
    (132)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (260)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (177)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (141)
All months
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Rooms were clean. Linens were fresh white. Breakfast was convenient but okay. Walls were thin could hear the neighbors. Overall for the purpose we were there it was nice. A clean bed is most important. Location was great. Kids love the outdoor pool.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

One of our favorite places to stay while in Duluth. The staff is courteous, the rooms are nice, the location is great (in Canal Park near the shops and restaurants), and the view is amazing (one side has the bridge view with the other facing Lake Superior). They offer s'mores on the patio, the breakfast selection is very good, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review

Dear troywl, Thank you very much for writing and posting your nice review. Everyone here enjoys delivering a higher quality guest experience than our competitors and I'm glad you were happy with our performance. I'll share your comments with our team so they know their efforts are appreciated. I hope we can welcome you back and serve you here again.... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm a recent college graduate from Minnesota currently living in the UK. My family has been staying at the Inn on Lake Superior every few years since before I can remember and it never fails to impress me. You can't beat the location on Canal Street and the views from the lake side and proximity to the boardwalk are wonderful.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review

Dear Karen S, Thank you very much for your many visits and for posting your excellent comments and 5 star rating. It’s guests like you that make our jobs of maintaining the highest standards of cleanliness, service and facilities very rewarding. We are very proud of our people and appreciate your recognition of jobs well done by our team. We... More 

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Duluth is a perfect weekend getaway from the Twin Cities, and our favorite place to stay is The Inn on Lake Superior. It does two things better than the other lake hotels on Canal Park: 1) The lake view rooms ALL have balconies (there are very few balconies at the others) 2)The breakfast room has the best view of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review

Dear Kathleen C, Thank you very much for your loyalty and patronage over the years. Making and keeping good relationships with our guests is very important to us and we are always happy to receive feedback on how well we are doing our jobs, and what we can do to make things better. We value your business and look forward... More 

Trout Creek, Montana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I grew up near Duluth but haven't lived in the state for decades. I've always been in love with that city, and specifically with the Aerial Bridge, Park Point and Lake Superior. My trip back to Duluth was a retreat into Fantasyland, due in large part to the lodging at the spectacular Inn On Lake Superior. The room was spacious,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review

Dear Lizziemom, Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and posting your nice review and rating about your stay with us. We value all guest feedback and it is always gratifying when it is as positive as yours. We look forward to and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, Ken Jacobs Guest Relations More 

Minneapolis, MN
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We go up to Duluth from the Twin Cities every few years. This year is different and special in that my father is fighting cancer and so we decided to celebrate Easter there as he really wanted to spend time somewhere he has always found peace. We usually stay at the Canal Park Lodge, but decided to try the Inn... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review

Dear Bijougan, I am very sorry we didn't do a better job of treating you and your father during your recent visit, and understand your sorrow and disappointment. Please accept my apologies. Our Guest Services Manager will be in touch with you shortly to apologize and make amends. I hope we can regain your confidence. Sincerely, Ken Jacobs Guest Relations More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our room had hair all over the floor as if someone cut their hair in there. Beds were squeeky. During pool visit, the cleaning crew decided to run the vacuum cleaner while we were trying to have a conversation

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review

Dear Shannon K, I am truly sorry you were unhappy with us during your recent stay and apologize for the discomfort and frustration you experienced here. Our goal is to provide all guests with excellent service and accommodations and we take it very seriously when find that we have fallen short. We welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here because the reviews were great, but next time we will be staying elsewhere. The kids at the front desk were very unhelpful and made a mess of checking us in. The rooms were OK besides the beds being very uncomfortable. We got 20% off because we were in Duluth for medical reasons but I don't believe it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review

Dear Tim O, I am truly sorry for all the frustration and hassle we caused you and offer my sincere apologies that we didn't do a better job of delivering an excellent guest experience. Timely feedback from you and other valued guests is very important to us, and it is used in discussions and training to improve our operation. I... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

Let me just say that I made the mistake of booking a room too small for my family. That was may fault and I in no way consider this the error or the hotel. And their customer service was outstanding in trying to get me a larger room the whole weekend. Unfortunately the entire hotel was booked and no one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review

Dear mbuttler, I am truly sorry for the frustration and inconvenience you experienced and offer my sincere apologies that we didn't do a better job of demonstrating our commitment to guest satisfaction. Timely feedback from you and other valued guests is very important to us, and it is used in discussions and training to improve our operation. We appreciate your... More 

Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

My husband and I stayed at The Inn on a cold wintery Thursday night. It was quiet in Duluth that evening, which was great. We wanted some peace and quiet. We chose a "city facing" room because we are cheap. The room ended up being a spacious corner room and was warm, attractive, and very comfortable, and the view of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review

Dear MarthaJane57, Thank you very much for sharing comments about your recent stay with us. I'm glad you were happy with the service and accommodations we provide and really appreciate your recognition of jobs well done by our team. Your recommendation means a great deal to us and I hope we can serve you here again. Sincerely, Ken Jacobs Guest... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

505 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (115)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
View from room (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Other (29)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (369)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
Double Queen Poolside Room (59)
Viewed
King Sofa Lake Room (72)
Viewed
King Whirpool Bridge View Room (54)
Viewed
Pool (36)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (27)
Viewed
Rooftop Pool (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question