We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beacon Pointe Resort

2100 Water Street, Duluth, MN 55812
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beacon Pointe Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Beacon Pointe Resort
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    34
    26
    17
    8
See reviews for
45
58
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (144)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (61)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
There are newer reviews for Beacon Pointe Resort
See the most recent reviews
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

The units are right on Lake Superior. Great views of the lake and looking back toward Canal Park and the Liftbridge. Two of the structures are condos for purchase; one building has condos divided up into rental units. The rental units have an interesting design. You can rent a one-bedroom unit, with living space, full kitchen and small deck, or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your positive comment about your recent vacation at Beacon Pointe. We hope the memories you made here last a lifetime – or at least until you come for your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again at Beacon Pointe Resort. More 

Southern MN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at Beacon Pointe. This is our second stay. Each time our experience is better. The staff is exceptionally friendly. The location to the Walking path is our main reason for staying plus the LOCATION. The underground parking is a plus as is the closeness to the Lake.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We really do appreciate it when our guests reach out to everyone to tell them about Beacon Pointe Resort. We hope the memories you made here last a lifetime – or at least until you come for your next visit. We look forward to seeing... More 

Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011 via mobile

Great place in every way. Beautiful rooms and views with easy access to the lakewalk. Free rentals are a huge advantage for those who want to explore the outdoors. See what you've been missing and love your next trip to Duluth!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post a review and give us your feedback. I am sorry that the level of noise in our resort was disruptive of your stay. I hope the rest of your stay was enjoyable! Thank you for being our guest, we hope to see you again! More 

St Paul, MN
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Oh, I wish I had read the reviews before booking. As others have said - excellent location on the lake, friendly staff, but zero soundproofing. The door locks in particular had the loudest clicking mechanism I have ever heard. Even with earplugs I was woken up every time our neighbors went in or out of their room. Especially because we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post a review and give us your feedback. I am sorry that the level of noise in our resort was disruptive of your stay. I hope the rest of your stay was enjoyable! Thank you for being our guest, we hope to see you again! More 

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed at Beacon Pointe again for a night in July on our way to a family vacation, and were reminded of why we love this spot so much. The view is unrivaled, watching big ore ships go buy and having the fog over the water when you wake up each morning. The coffee was great and the staff were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Beacon Pointe Resort! We hope you come back soon to make more life long memories! More 

Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

My daughter and I stayed here for a quick get away and we had a great time. The location is perfect 1.5 miles north of Canal Park right on the lake. The area is quite the views beautiful. This is much better than staying in the hotels on Canal Park, similarly priced, no privacy or private access to lake and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post a review and give us your feedback. I am sorry that the level of noise in our resort was disruptive of your stay, and the layout of your unit was not as you expected. I hope the rest of your stay was enjoyable and you decide to join us again for vacation! Thank... More 

Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Beacon Pointe was a great place to stay! The rooms have awesome views of the lake!We took advantage of the free bicycle rentals and rode to Canal Park! The kayaking tour was wonderful, I strongly reccomend it! A lot of other reviews said the rooms were noisy, but our room was not noisy at all. I highly reccomend Beacon Pointe,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We really do appreciate it when our guests reach out to everyone to tell them about Beacon Pointe Resort. We hope the memories you made here last a lifetime – or at least until you come for your next visit. We look forward to seeing... More 

MN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

Beacon Pointe looks like such a great place in theory. The rooms have AMAZING views, really fantastic amenities (comfy beds, nice bathrooms/jacuzzis, updated furniture and fixtures, super soft towels), the location was so convenient to all sorts of things, and was priced very reasonably. Unfortunately all of that is destroyed by there being absolutely no sound proofing. We thought this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and give us your feedback. I am so sorry that the level of guest service and excessive noise had an impact on your stay with us. I have already had a discussion with my front desk staff to make sure they are following up on all guest requests. We don’t... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

The location is beautiful. Right on the lake, with great view of the lift bridge and all of the activities downtown. But what we enjoyed most about our trip was the views. We had specifically reserved a suite and a king size bed and were moved to a larger condo with a queen size bed. The bedroom is in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate every guest stay and believe that each and every experience with us should be all positive. We apologize that your expectations were not met, and if you’ll give us the chance, we would like to try and make it right. Please contact the General Manager Mark Crowl through his email, mark@beaconpointeduluth.com. We would appreciate hearing from you directly... More 

Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

We stayed mid-week on an anniversary trip because we got a good deal on our room. Without that deal I would have been much more disappointed. I would never pay full price for this place. I'll start with the positives: Our suite (which was essentially a condo that was for sale) was beautiful. The view of the lake was stunning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Troy M, General Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate every guest stay and believe that each and every experience with us should be all positive. We apologize that your expectations were not met, and if you’ll give us the chance, we would like to try and make it right. Please contact the General Manager Mark Crowl through his email, mark@beaconpointeduluth.com. We would appreciate hearing from you directly... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Beacon Pointe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Pointe Resort

Address: 2100 Water Street, Duluth, MN 55812
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Beacon Pointe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Pointe Hotel Duluth

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (48)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay