We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beacon Pointe Resort

2100 Water Street, Duluth, MN 55812
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Beacon Pointe Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    68
    42
    28
    21
    11
See reviews for
53
72
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (170)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (78)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We love being able to look out our window and see water. This place is right on Lake Superior with nice large windows for a view. The room had everything we needed and was nicely decorated, but quite small. We loved having a small deck, but unfortunately it was rainy and cold so we didn't use it. The staff was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beacon Pointe offered a nice (but quite small) room right on Lake Superior. We were on the first floor, with a patio looking out to the lake. Great views, wonderful for coffee in the morning, and reading in the afternoon. Staff is very nice and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We planned to visit Duluth for a small family vacation. We choose the Beacon Point because of the accommodations for a family of 5. Additionally the rooms looked amazing. Fully recognizing the price was steep ($500+ a night) We checked in to the Beacon and were told the dishwasher wasn't working and were given options. One of options was to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leanne J, General Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest and especially for taking the time to give us feedback on how we did. I so appreciate being able to know what our guests are experiencing. I apologize for the miscommunication on behalf of the hotel. The dishwasher has been repaired; our staff should have washed your dishes as they promised to do. Clearly... More 

Sartell, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We've been coming to the Duluth area for many years as a way to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We value a quiet place to get away and be together, but I also enjoy the many offerings of Duluth. This resort offers both. The construction of the building is geared to quiet. There is a double door leading to the rooms,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leanne J, General Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review

Quiet is right! If you are looking for all that Duluth has to offer; but want a quiet place with amazing views you will love our resort. Close to Canal Park; but far from the chaotic tourism that is Duluth, Beacon offers peaceful accommodations with underground parking, exercise facility, bikes, games and more. Thank you for being our guest. More 

United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in the Penthouse Suite (2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a kitchen, 2 balconies, and a living room) for a couples weekend. It was lovely! It had everything we needed and more! The view was outstanding, and we loved being right off the lake walk. It's a bit pricey, but I could seriously live there with those views. Our keys... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leanne J, General Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review

I am so glad that you enjoyed our beautiful view of Lake Superior. It is stunning and uniquely different every day. I would love to have your family as our guests as well. I would be happy to book your reservation personally. I apologize for the key issues we have had a few issues and are diligently working on them.... More 

Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I spent the night before my wedding relaxing and staring off towards beautiful Lake Superior from my Penthouse Suite at Beacon Pointe. The room was spacious and clean and had all of the amenities needed for a comfortable night stay before my big day. The staff was really friendly upon check-in and the underground parking for the guests is super... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leanne J, General Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us be a part of your special day. I am so happy to hear that the space was perfect for your needs. I hope your wedding was everything you wanted it to be and more....Remember to stay with us whenever you need to get away as a couple. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Woke up from a nap with 5 kids to hear strangers in our condo doing laundry. Staff was at first defensive but ultimately did nothing about it. Strangers entered our condo a total of four times. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Leanne J, General Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your letter and the detailed explanation regarding the situation your family was in. I completely understand your concern over the safety for your family. Unfortunately our public laundry for the facility is located in the vestibule area of the condo you rented and the signage in the area indicates it is. Your concern are legitimate and I... More 

Minneapolis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If this property were $100 a night, I would have given it 4 stars ... But it wasn't. With taxes, it was $400 a night, WITH an Expedia deal. That price does not match what you get. The good: Incredible view of Lake Superior. Fairly modern and updated furnishings. Huge bath/shower. Good location near Canal Park. Great temperature control, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Leanne J, General Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on the condition of the property during your stay. I make an effort to interact with every guest to ensure that their stay is going well. It appears we failed you miserably in the area of cleanliness and I apologize that things were not taken care of. This is not the normal procedure and we... More 

Baxter, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My family recently stayed at beacon pointe resort and we were terribly disappointed. We arrived to check in where we were notified that our unit's air conditioner was broken and not working. It was 90 degrees the entire weekend and the 3 bedroom condo was stifling hot. We were given a few fans and told it would be fixed shortly.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Leanne J, General Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your input and information. It allows us to improve and correct things operationally. I appreciate the time and energy that went into your feedback. The unit that you were scheduled in did have an issue with its air conditioning unit; the part I was assured by our contractor would arrive no later than 1 pm on the... More 

Alexandria, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful setting with view of Lake Superior. Poor planning and poor upkeep. Key cards work only intermittently at best--asked several other clients. The silverware drawer is at my eye level: I must tippy toe to see what's in the drawer. The bathroom mirror is so high I can only see the 3 button on my shirt--nothing lower. Desk staff were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leanne J, General Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your responses as information and input gives us the opportunity to better accommodate future guests. I apologize that you did not like the room style that you were in while here. We have many choices and I feel as through we did not do a good job meeting your needs and establishing what unit might be most... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

86 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (60)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
1.9 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
2.3 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#4 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
3.6 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay