We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1155 Hwy 10 East, Detroit Lakes, MN 56501
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    61
    30
    15
    6
    7
See reviews for
39
34
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (119)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Oakbank MB, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Love this hotel. Right on the lake. Clean rooms. Excellent service from hotel staff. Great for families. Need to book early if staying in summer as rooms book up quickly. Beach could have used some attention at times as garbage from the night before was not always cleaned up.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Doug_Anselmin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review

Marsands, Thank you for such a nice review and I'll go to work on keeping our beach in better shape going forward. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you in the future. Keep in mind that Detroit Mountain opened up their mountain bike trails this summer and all I have heard from people is how awesome it... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed two nights this past weekend and attended a high school reunion. The hotel, the staff and the location is wonderful. Our buffet dinner on Sat. night was delicious. We also ate in the restaurant and it is very reasonably priced with a great staff. A special shout out to Kathy who was our wonderful bartender both nights. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Doug_Anselmin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you Juergens558 for sharing such a nice review with the TripAdvisor community. Sounds like you had a great time at your reunion and we appreciate you entrusting us with helping make the event a success. Hope to see you again soon. Douglas Anselmin General Manager More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our family recently held a family reunion at the Holiday Inn on the north shore of Detroit Lakes. We had a great time. The hotel staff and accommodations were excellent. We stayed at the facility for three nights and four days and didn't need to go anywhere else for meals or entertainment. We parked our a boat for tubing and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Doug_Anselmin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review

Brad T, thank you for your feedback and I am very happy our hotel worked out so well for you. Your group was a joy to take care of and we very much appreciated having you and your reunion group as our guests. We look forward to serving you again for your next reunion or get-a-way. Douglas Anselmin General Manager More 

Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The guest rooms have been updated in recent years - they are very comfortable and quiet - even though there was a live band in the bar area our room was one floor above the indoor pool. The restaurant is very affordable - but the service tends to be a little slow. But luckily I asked for a printout of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Doug_Anselmin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review

Lisa R, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit. Sounds like you had a great time and I am happy to hear that the front desk staff took care of the billing issue while you were on property. Next time you are in town you should make time to go out to the new... More 

common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Folks please read all the reviews on this hotel. We have been staying at this hotel for 20+ years. We had three rooms for numerous day over the fourth! You expect delays etc... But theamaher of this hit - Doug is awful. We ordered food every day in the restaurant and were with a huge group. The restaurant was slightly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Doug_Anselmin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review

CHorn1234, I apologize that we did not exceed your expectations on your recent stay with us. As we were very busy in the restaurant, bar and patio all weekend long and I always help our service staff with delivering food when we are busy (as any good manager would do), I do not recall any incident where I had a... More 

Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As a local resident of Detroit Lakes it pains me to have such harsh feelings towards our Holiday Inn. I was recently in need of a telephone and the "gentleman" at the front desk was so rude to me and the situation I was experiencing he refused to help me. Luckily the lady who was also at the desk was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Doug_Anselmin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review

Rachel R, I apologize to you for one of our staff not being more helpful. This is a situation that I would really like to follow up on with our staff. If you would be so kind to contact me with more information I would really appreciate it. Thank you. Douglas Anselmin General Manager gm@dlinn.com 218-847-2125 More 

egrasser
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

The rooms were updated and the size was just right. Beds were a little too hard for my liking. We stayed in a room facing the highway and could hear the very loud trains through the night and day. The air conditioner was also quite noisy. The food was good but service was lacking in the restaurant. The banquet room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Doug_Anselmin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review

Egrasser, thank you for providing a review of your recent stay with us. I apologize that the trains were too noisy for you and just so you know, we do have other options to help mitigate the noise. I will also use your comments concerning the restaurant to have more people scheduled on sunny days. Thank you again for your... More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

I'm here on business. The wifi didn't work on either of the IPhone 5s we have. It was good on my laptop. 5 HD channels in 2015 isn't acceptable. No golf channel. The shower had good pressure, but the drain is slow so you're standing in ankle deep water when you finish. Walking the halls reminds me of The Shining.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Doug_Anselmin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review

Craig H, thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay with us. I have scheduled our wireless provider to check ALL 26 of our wireless access points to ensure we are fully operational. This is also the company that just upgraded our area to fiber optic cable which means the hotel will finally have the capability to have HD... More 

Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
116 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

but it's right on the lake with small beach/sand area on the backside. Stayed 1 night while on a business trip which this hotel was more than adequate for my situation. Interiors are showing age, but room was sufficiently large enough and with a balcony overlooking the lake at a reasonable rate. Check-in & out was quick, non-eventful. Grabbed a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Doug_Anselmin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review

PirateEC, thank you for your very thorough feedback in regards to your recent stay with us. Sounds like you had a great time and just so you know we have kayaks, canoes, bikes and boats for rent the next time you visit Detroit Lakes. Douglas Anselmin General Manager More 

Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

While passing through this area, my wife booked a weekend at this hotel online using reward points that we have accumulated with our membership. She reserved a lake view, king room. The website showed that the room came with two drink vouches for the attached bar/club, and two vouchers for the breakfast buffet in the attached restaurant. Upon arrival, we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Doug_Anselmin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review

Traveler1968, thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay with us. I apologize that we did not exceed your expectations.. I will use your comments for further training at our front desk as well as addressing the issues you mentioned. I am somewhat surprised about your internet comment as we have 50mb bandwidth, more than double of any other... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

107 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Detroit Lakes
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Lodge on Lake Detroit
0.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Detroit Lakes
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Detroit Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Budget Host Inn
Budget Host Inn
#7 of 9 in Detroit Lakes
3.0 of 5 stars 11 reviews
19.2 mi away
Crossings by GrandStay Inn & Suites Perham
24.7 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Hawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay