We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1155 Hwy 10 East, Detroit Lakes, MN 56501
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    61
    33
    15
    6
    7
See reviews for
40
36
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (122)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (43)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Winkler, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Love this lakefront hotel. Some rooms are lakeside walk-outs and others have balconies overlooking the beach and lake. Love the complimentary bikes, canoes, kayaks and paddle boards. They have a $4.25 breakfast including coffee - great price! The train can be loud during the day but I never heard it during the night. Front desk staff were excellent - especially... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Doug_Anselmin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review

RObert1967, I appreciate you taking the time to share your stay with the Tripadvisor community. Sounds like you had a great time and just so you know the local downhill ski area opened up for mountain biking this summer and they have a wonderful area just 10 minutes from the hotel. Douglas Anselmin General Manager More 

Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at this hotel last week for two days. Great amenties, location and staff make it worth the stay. Beautiful view of lake. Kyacks, canoes, bikes are reasonably priced. The hotel is older and tired but is very clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Doug_Anselmin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review

Suzanne E, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. It's good for us to hear what people like and what they think we should work on. Have a great day and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Douglas Anselmin General Manager More 

Grove City, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice setting. Request the lake side because that's the back of the hotel, otherwise, you may hear the loud, frequent trains. We had a ground floor room with a patio - so convenient to the little beach area. If you choose the indoor poolside, your patio or balcony will be warm & stuffy. Staff was helpful & friendly. Our room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Doug_Anselmin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review

Peg3377, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. And you're absolutely correct that lakeside walkout is worth it in the summer time. If you didn't get a chance to use the paddle boards, kayaks or bikes on your last trip you should plan on doing so on your next trip. Thank... More 

Oakbank MB, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

Love this hotel. Right on the lake. Clean rooms. Excellent service from hotel staff. Great for families. Need to book early if staying in summer as rooms book up quickly. Beach could have used some attention at times as garbage from the night before was not always cleaned up.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Doug_Anselmin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review

Marsands, Thank you for such a nice review and I'll go to work on keeping our beach in better shape going forward. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you in the future. Keep in mind that Detroit Mountain opened up their mountain bike trails this summer and all I have heard from people is how awesome it... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

We stayed two nights this past weekend and attended a high school reunion. The hotel, the staff and the location is wonderful. Our buffet dinner on Sat. night was delicious. We also ate in the restaurant and it is very reasonably priced with a great staff. A special shout out to Kathy who was our wonderful bartender both nights. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Doug_Anselmin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you Juergens558 for sharing such a nice review with the TripAdvisor community. Sounds like you had a great time at your reunion and we appreciate you entrusting us with helping make the event a success. Hope to see you again soon. Douglas Anselmin General Manager More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

Our family recently held a family reunion at the Holiday Inn on the north shore of Detroit Lakes. We had a great time. The hotel staff and accommodations were excellent. We stayed at the facility for three nights and four days and didn't need to go anywhere else for meals or entertainment. We parked our a boat for tubing and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Doug_Anselmin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review

Brad T, thank you for your feedback and I am very happy our hotel worked out so well for you. Your group was a joy to take care of and we very much appreciated having you and your reunion group as our guests. We look forward to serving you again for your next reunion or get-a-way. Douglas Anselmin General Manager More 

Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

The guest rooms have been updated in recent years - they are very comfortable and quiet - even though there was a live band in the bar area our room was one floor above the indoor pool. The restaurant is very affordable - but the service tends to be a little slow. But luckily I asked for a printout of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Doug_Anselmin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review

Lisa R, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit. Sounds like you had a great time and I am happy to hear that the front desk staff took care of the billing issue while you were on property. Next time you are in town you should make time to go out to the new... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015 via mobile

Folks please read all the reviews on this hotel. We have been staying at this hotel for 20+ years. We had three rooms for numerous day over the fourth! You expect delays etc... But theamaher of this hit - Doug is awful. We ordered food every day in the restaurant and were with a huge group. The restaurant was slightly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Doug_Anselmin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review

CHorn1234, I apologize that we did not exceed your expectations on your recent stay with us. As we were very busy in the restaurant, bar and patio all weekend long and I always help our service staff with delivering food when we are busy (as any good manager would do), I do not recall any incident where I had a... More 

Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015

As a local resident of Detroit Lakes it pains me to have such harsh feelings towards our Holiday Inn. I was recently in need of a telephone and the "gentleman" at the front desk was so rude to me and the situation I was experiencing he refused to help me. Luckily the lady who was also at the desk was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Doug_Anselmin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review

Rachel R, I apologize to you for one of our staff not being more helpful. This is a situation that I would really like to follow up on with our staff. If you would be so kind to contact me with more information I would really appreciate it. Thank you. Douglas Anselmin General Manager gm@dlinn.com 218-847-2125 More 

egrasser
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

The rooms were updated and the size was just right. Beds were a little too hard for my liking. We stayed in a room facing the highway and could hear the very loud trains through the night and day. The air conditioner was also quite noisy. The food was good but service was lacking in the restaurant. The banquet room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Doug_Anselmin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review

Egrasser, thank you for providing a review of your recent stay with us. I apologize that the trains were too noisy for you and just so you know, we do have other options to help mitigate the noise. I will also use your comments concerning the restaurant to have more people scheduled on sunny days. Thank you again for your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

134 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (91)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Detroit Lakes
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Lodge on Lake Detroit
0.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Detroit Lakes
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Detroit Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Budget Host Inn
Budget Host Inn
#8 of 9 in Detroit Lakes
2.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
24.7 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Hawley
19.2 mi away
Crossings by GrandStay Inn & Suites Perham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay