We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Budget Host Inn

895 Highway 10 East, Detroit Lakes, MN 56501
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Budget Host Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

16 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
168 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2015

Stayed here for the night and the free Wifi was not very good connection and the front desk said that it was working fine and my computer must be the problem. Lame excuse for poor Wifi. Need to update this whole place as we will not be back any time soon.

Helpful?
Thank Douglas R
Rakesh O, Manager at Budget Host Inn, responded to this review

First of all we would like to thank you for posting the review and we are sorry that we did not live up to your expectations Mr.Douglas . Now as you may recall we had come to your room to fix the issues on your laptop with regards to your WIFI and your smartphones were already connected to WIFI and... More 

Chocowinity, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2015

Our room was large and clean. Did not expect the refrigerator and microwave, so that was a pleasant surprise. The manager at check-in and check-out was extremely friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay here again if we're in the area.

Helpful?
Thank Kay E
Cochrane
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2015

Ok this is not a 5 star resort but it provides all you need for a very good price. The owners are friendly and very accomodating. I would stay here again. It's well worth checking into this charming motel

Helpful?
Thank out4goodtimes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2015 via mobile

This room was the most disgusting thing I've ever laid my eyes on. We paid $150 to set our bags in while we attended a wedding. We tried getting our money back, if not all at least a break. The lady at the front desk was rude and said there wasn't anything she could do about it. We ended up... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dannielle W
Rakesh O, Manager at Budget Host Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry we did leave up to your expectations ,but we request you to call us and let us know what did you find that was so `DISGUSTING` in the room as we know that our property is little old but the rooms are kept very clean and are inspected everyday , We will wait to hear back from... More 

Travelers are raving about these Detroit Lakes hotels

Roseville, Minnesota
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

The owners are wonderful people, very polite and accommodating. The room was quite small, but we just needed it for sleeping between our active days! It had a microwave and refrigerator, which were BIG plusses. It was very clean and quiet while we were there.

Helpful?
Thank GoGoGo48
Rakesh O, Manager at Budget Host Inn, responded to this review

Thank you and we certainly appreciate your business . More 

Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

We were asked upon exiting our vechicle if we wanted some Jello shots by a group of 20 something men that were sitting in chairs outside their room and appeared very drunk. When entering our room we noticed a terrible smell of what can be called a porta potty and found the refrigerator open and not working. The noise from... More 

Helpful?
Thank debdew10
Rakesh O, Manager at Budget Host Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review .We are exetremely sorry the hotel was not upto your expectations. First of all we do not allow partying and noise at our porperty ,so we are requesting you to call the hotel let us know what day and room number you stayed in and we will be happy to look into it. Secondly on... More 

Starbuck, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

I spend alot of time on the road and usually look for inexpensive motels, so this isn't the first Budget Host Inn I've stayed at, despite the last being less than positive experience. The exterior of the property seemed well kept so thought I'd give it a try. The room was clean and Tom at the desk was helpful my... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Darin P
Madison, South Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

We paid $98.00 for the worst room we ever stayed in. It must not have been used forever--musty sheets; stale smelling and, when I opened up the drawer in the nightstand between the beds, there was a giant dried up spider in it! Gross!! The woman at the front desk was very unfriendly. I left them a note about my... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jane W
Minneapolis, MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I was headed up to chill with my girlfriend at NDSU, I live in Eden prairie. We got in a fight on the phone. i guess It was 9 30 or so, I called all the motels in dl and this was the best rate. Nice guy at the desk, didn't try to upsell me or anything. I spent less... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffparks
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

It was good for what we needed it for. Sleep. N they have brand new beds in the whole place. N the breakfast was really good variety for a small place. It was very convient that it was right off of the freeway, so we could just get up in the am n be right on the road again.

Helpful?
Thank ginama
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Detroit Lakes
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes
#5 of 9 in Detroit Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Detroit Lakes
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Lodge on Lake Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Detroit Lakes
24.3 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Hawley
1.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#6 of 9 in Detroit Lakes
3.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay