We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Madden's on Gull Lake

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel packages
11266 Pine Beach Peninsula, Brainerd, MN 56401
Offers & Announcements
Kids Stay, Eat Play FREE!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Madden\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

204 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2015

Just returned from 2 pleasant nights "Up North" at Maddens. All of us were MN natives but none of us had been there. We stayed in the Sunrise Villas with a glorious view of the lake. Slept with the screened door open and heard the lap of the waves and the call of the loons. Quintessential northwoods! A highlight for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank lauriesrq
Cara L, Manager at Madden's on Gull Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Madden's on Gull Lake for your Girls Getaway! The Sunrise Villas offer spectacular views and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your room. S'mores are a must-do in the summer, as is a visit to Nisswa. We love hearing about your relaxing stay with us and that you enjoyed the Stable Gallery, Chrissy's Ice Cream and... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015 via mobile

Our annual meeting was held here after the devastating July storms. Madden's has cleaned up quickly! We enjoyed the social 9 course and the daily breakfast buffet. The meeting rooms are spacious, functional, and comfortable. The guest rooms are impressively massive! Our room had a musty smell, but we chalked it up to this being a rebuilding year. I hope... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrea G
Cara L, Manager at Madden's on Gull Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting Madden's and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. Yes, a tremendous amount of teamwork has gone into cleaning up. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our Social 9 course and breakfast buffet and that you appreciated the comfort and function of our meeting rooms. If you would please give me a call at 218-855-5946, I... More 

Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015

Recently spent four nights here. A resort vacation should not require a lot of effort, but Madden's is so confusing that a lot of our time was spent trying to understand what we were buying. On one hand, Madden's strives to be high end. They have a classic lodge where jackets are requested in the dining room. They have decent... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank T M
Cara L, Manager at Madden's on Gull Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us; your review is heart wrenching to us and we are so disappointed that you did not enjoy your experience. We do have many dining and recreation options and our golf courses range from the first public course in the state, Pine Beach East, to The Classic at Madden’s, the only 5-Star, Top 100 in... More 

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015

Leaving tomorrow for a 4th consecutive year. We live in TX and our travel motto is go somewhere cold at the end of summer and Madden's is the place. Northern Mn is gorgeous this time of year and Madden's adds to that beauty. The resort and staff and all tip top. (Although we are only there 5 days a year,... More 

Helpful?
Thank mike_kierbow
Cara L, Manager at Madden's on Gull Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for planning your 4th annual visit to Madden's and for sharing your advice for other travelers. We are honored to be your end of summer vacation of choice. We do like getting to know our guests and I am so happy to know that you have been satisfied with our response to your concerns. I hope you enjoy... More 

Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015

We came here for a 4-day weekend, multifamily reunion based on online reviews and recommendations from friends. A few weeks before our stay there was a large storm and some of our rooms were damaged, so we were rebooked into smaller rooms that were spread over the resort. When we got to the resort we found that the new rooms... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank ED510105
Cara L, Manager at Madden's on Gull Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review. We feel terrible that we had to move your rooms and that your parents were uncomfortable. I’m disappointed that you didn’t enjoy the pizza, because we make everything with fresh ingredients. Your experience with the pontoon is regrettable and certainly not what we wanted for you. Our 60-day cancellation policy is common among private... More 

Edina, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

As a family we have stayed at Madden's for over 20 years, but this year was special. The food at both the Lodge and Inn was exceptional as was the staff. The golf and other activities were excellent as usual. Marion

Helpful?
Thank Marion F
Cara L, Manager at Madden's on Gull Lake, responded to this review

Marion, thank you for choosing Madden's for over 20 years and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are so happy that you and your family enjoyed the food and the service of our staff at The Dining Room at Madden Lodge and The Restaurant at Madden Inn, as well as golf and our other recreational activities. We look... More 

st. louis MO
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

We first stayed at Maddens in 2012. This stay surpassed that experience even after a terrible storm the month before we arrived. We were treated like royalty and everything was top notch from the water sport offerings to the leisure activities by the lake. Our 10 year old had a blast and both me and my husband enjoyed the relaxation... More 

Helpful?
Thank hellokitty777
Cara L, Manager at Madden's on Gull Lake, responded to this review

We're so glad that you visited Madden's again and appreciate you sharing your positive review for other travelers on Trip Advisor! We are thrilled that you and your family enjoyed our water sports and some relaxation time together. It means so much to us that you plan to return next year with your extended family and we look forward to... More 

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015

We went to Maddens for our 4th Annual Mother/Daughter Summer vacation. The staff at Maddens were extremely friendly and helpful. Because it was the first day opening since a massive storm went through the area, we were invited to a celebration of the re-opening and was able to have free drinks and appetizers. We stayed in the Sunrise villas on... More 

Helpful?
Thank My1destiny0101
Cara L, Manager at Madden's on Gull Lake, responded to this review

We’re honored that you chose Madden’s for your annual Mother/Daughter vacation, thank you. We were thrilled to re-open and are so pleased that you enjoyed the complimentary welcome reception and service of our staff. Our Upper Sunrise Villas are some of our most popular accommodations and we appreciate you recommending them for other travelers. We regret that you were disturbed... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015 via mobile

The Madden's was a perfect location for our annual family trip with our very good friends. There is so much to do. We enjoyed swimming, boating, canoeing, golfing, and being pampered at the spa. The upper sunrise villa was perfect for our family of 6, and the view of the beach/lake was so relaxing. We loved making memories at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Heather S
Cara L, Manager at Madden's on Gull Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting Madden's on Gull Lake and for sharing your review! We couldn't be happier that you and your family enjoyed all of our recreational amenities. The Upper Sunrise Villas are very popular for families with close proximity to the beach and full lake views and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to... More 

Minnesota
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

We alternately go to Madden's and Grand View Lodge - taking family trips up north several times a year. In the summer my kids particularly like Madden's. One of the first things we do is reserve a golf cart for 24 hours. The reservations fill up fast so you should do it ASAP. My kids love having the golf cart... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Alicia G
Cara L, Manager at Madden's on Gull Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Madden’s and for sharing your review on Trip Advisor! We always love hearing about our guests’ experiences and appreciate the helpful tips you have shared for others who would like to stay at Madden’s as well. You are wise to advise others to review our daily agenda, which is also on our app, so it... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

100 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (78)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
0:29
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brainerd
0.6 mi away
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
5.8 mi away
Arrowwood Lodge At Brainerd Lakes
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Baxter/Brainerd Area
6.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter
6.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Rapid River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay