We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Wyoming hotels

Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   755 54th Street SW, Wyoming, MI 49509
Hotel deals
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Double Points!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
79%
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Wyoming
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Truthofthematter IA
  • Overview
  • Reviews (149)
  • Photos (53)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (9)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    44
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
47
34
6
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed there 1 night and woke with bed bugs bites. The associate at the front desk seemed to not care at all. I would not stay there ever again. There was bite marks all over my feet. The room seemed very muggy and the carpet seemed damp.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Stayed for 1 night while traveling on business. Property is in desperate need of updating. Everything is old, worn and very dated. Hallways are dark and smell odd. Staff are very nice and the property is very convenient to the highway.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kurt B, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review

Dear HongKongLarry, Thank you for your feedback – we’re very sorry that your room didn't live up to your expectations. Guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we are taking your comments into consideration as we improve our guest experience. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and that our staff did a great job of delivering... More

IA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a nice hotel in a convenient area. If you need a refrigerator/microwave be sure to ask for that room type because they are not available in all the rooms. The breakfast was good and staff was friendly. There is complimentary WI-FI internet access. Coffee bar is available 24-7 with lounge area in lobby.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kristi M, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review

Dear Truthofthematter: Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the TripAdvisor Community. We appreciate your kind words about your stay and are excited to say that we will be installing mini fridges in all our rooms in our upcoming renovations. We hope to serve you again next time you are in the Grand Rapids area. More

Howell, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We intended to stay 3 nights. We left after 2 and I wish we had left sooner. The room was stuffy, the fan never turned off, and there was no fan in the bathroom. The wallpaper was peeling off the wall in the bathroom and there was chunks missing off the sink. All of that I could stand, but the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kurt B, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review

Dear Cathy B, Thank you for your review. We are glad you chose our hotel during your stay here and we are very sorry that you ran into problems during your stay. We have fixed the pool issues and have addressed the other issues with our housekeeping and maintenance staff. Out hotel will be undergoing a full guest room remodel... More

Henderson, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel was nice but have seen more up to date Hamptons. Room was clean. Staff was excellent! Hot breakfast always a plus and since no room in the breakfast area we were offered the meeting room which was nice. Nothing slide proof in bathtub. Grandson fell and hit head in shower and then a piece of the shower head fell... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kurt B, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review

Dear Mlouisecr, Thank you for sharing your experience with our hotel with the TripAdvisor community. We appreciate all forms of guest communication! We are glad you enjoyed our hot breakfast and you found our staff to be excellent! We are looking forward to this upcoming fall for many updates to our guest rooms. I am very sorry to hear about... More

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is a great place to stay if visiting Grand Rapids. It is about a 10 minute drive and when we did arrive I did ask the front desk where to go. She did give us a great location. I really love the lobby at this hotel. It has been updated and really makes you feel like your in... More

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review

Dear N4796MFrobertl, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location, only 10 minutes south of downtown Grand Rapids. We appreciate your kind words about our recent lobby renovations. We hope to see you again on your future travels to Grand Rapids. Safe travels!! More

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel does not operate under the Hampton quality expectation. The hallways are very dark, as if you are on a back road side street. The room smelled as if it had been smoked it, the carpet was not something I cared to walk on with bare feet. I would expect this type of room from one of the chains... More

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review

Hi Loriem980, I am sorry that your room smelled of smoke. That is very disappointing to me also, since our hotel is 100% non-smoking and has been for many years!! We will soon be replacing our hallway wall paper with a lighter color and adding wall sconces in the hallways as well. Thank you for staying with us and for... More

Wyoming, MI, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel room was clean, and the bed was comfortable. However, the room furnishings were not of the same quality as in other Hampton Inn's I have stayed in previously. The room and its furnishings seemed old. I do not know whether other rooms in this facility are similar to mine. If they are, I suspect that others would share... More

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review

Dear Andrew R, Thank you for staying with us recently and for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We will be getting new furniture in all of our guest rooms in the fall, at which time we will have refrigerators in all of our rooms. We will then renovate our bathrooms in the winter, when it is slower. Safe... More

Pontiac, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I work at a Hampton Inn in Auburn Hills. We are rated number one on tripadvisor. I was expecting so much better than what I experienced. My girlfriend and I decided to take a trip to get away for the weekend. This Hampton was closest to Holland. You can tell from the outside that this is an old hotel but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scott Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review

Dear Abcdefv, I am sorry that you were not happy with your stay. I will reach out to you via email, away from the TripAdvisor community, to discuss further. Thanks. More

Greenwood, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a very nice place to stay, in a good location for the nearby wedding and reception of a family member. The rooms and lobby are nicely updated. The mattress was comfortable. The breakfast was generous and tasty. I felt the hotel was very clean and the staff friendly and helpful. I had forgotten a contact case which they... More

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colleen B, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review

Dear Jeanine, Thank you for your complimentary review about our property. We are happy that we were able to provide you with a restful sleep, and that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast. On behalf of all our staff we thank you for your kind words, and are glad we were able to assist you in providing a contact case. We... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South

Address: 755 54th Street SW, Wyoming, MI 49509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Wyoming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South Hotel Wyoming
Hampton Inn Wyoming
Wyoming Hampton Inn

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Other (6)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
138

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer