We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hawthorn Suites of Troy

Hotel website
Hotel deals
2600 Livernois Road, Troy, MI 48083-1227 (Formerly The Gatehouse Suites Troy)
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites of Troy
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hawthorn Suites of Troy
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    75
    78
    32
    35
See reviews for
92
40
28
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (288)
  • Mar-May only
    (88)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (85)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (57)
All months
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Alright, I'm going to be as positive as I can. I don't need to be in the lap of luxury, but boy does this place need a good scrubbing (and paint job). I've never stayed at a Hawthorn Suites, I'm guessing they're all the same type of layout? Pods of hotel rooms scattered around. The room size and layout was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager2600, Manager at Hawthorn Suites of Troy, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and writing a review on your recent stay at our hotel. I was please to read the positive points mentioned. I will be sure to share your kind words regarding the service with our staff and the "hot food" with our kitchen team. Needless to say that I truly regret that you obviously encountered... More 

Livonia, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I booked six rooms for family during the weekend of my daughter's wedding 5/14 - 5/17/2015. The first couple who checked in didn't have heat and received no help from the front desk other than an offer to give them a duraflame log and sell another one to them for $20. When I checked in the next day, my room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager2600, Manager at Hawthorn Suites of Troy, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We would like to apologize to you for your negative experience. We very much regret your disappointment, as this incident is not at all typical of standards of service that we provide to our valued guests. It looks like we were... More 

Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel was awesome for the money. We were a good distance away from the main parts of Detroit we were wanting to avoid so that was a plus. The hotel itself was nice but no one answered the calls to the front desk. Had to call from my cell phone before they answered and then when they did they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager2600, Manager at Hawthorn Suites of Troy, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate all kinds to make sure that we are up to par in providing exceptional customer service to our guest. I want to apologize for any frustration you may have had during your recent stay at our Hotel. I hope that if you and your family ever return to the Troy, Michigan area, you... More 

Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

When I arrived at the property I was impressed with what I received for my dollar. Prior to arriving I called front desk to ask if there was a cut off time for check in. I spoke with an employee by the name of Dana who was very rude and short with me over the phone and quickly disconnected the... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager2600, Manager at Hawthorn Suites of Troy, responded to this review

I'd like to first thank you for taking time in writing such a thorough review. I deeply apologize for your stay not being a memorable one. Customer service is what we strive for, and it seems that we may have failed you at that. We will be discussing with our staff about this situation. Thank you for sharing your experience.... More 

Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this hotel from May 16th to 18th and I have to say it is one of the noisiest places I have ever stayed. It is so close to the interstate that you get traffic noise all day and night, you get the noise from the guy cutting the grass in the morning, the A/C unit was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager2600, Manager at Hawthorn Suites of Troy, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for your honest feedback during your recent stay at our hotel. I am sincerely sorry that we were unable to accommodate your needs while traveling to the States. I wish you the best and I hope you have continued safe travels in the future. Warm Regards, More 

Roselle, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The facility in Trou MI, should be demolished. It looks and feels like tenement housing, surely nothing worth paying for. I grew up in Troy and graduated H.S., your hotel was an ambarrasement to me and those I was traveling with. I am sorry to be so harsh, but its better to provide good direct feedback.

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager2600, Manager at Hawthorn Suites of Troy, responded to this review

We appreciate your honest feedback. I sincerely regret that you were not happy with your recent stay. We pride ourselves in making sure are guests are as comfortable as possible while staying with us and again I apologize you didn't enjoy your experience. I hope you consider a future stay where we can show you the "home away from home"... More 

Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our room had an excellent layout and was clean, the staff was friendly and the food service - including dinner 3 days a week - was good. The property though overall is not aging well and needs maintenance. Two faucets in our room were loose and one came off in my hand. An excellent value though in a very good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager2600, Manager at Hawthorn Suites of Troy, responded to this review

First off, I would like to thank you for taking the time and submitting a review on our property. We appreciate all of the feedback we receive from our guests, as it helps us excel in making sure all of our customers are satisfied. Secondly, I would like to say that I am happy you enjoyed your room and that... More 

Troy, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sam is very pleasant and helpful! The Place is Very Clean & I love to cook when I stay....Awesome! Awesome!

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager2600, Manager at Hawthorn Suites of Troy, responded to this review

Rosa- Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback about your recent stay at Hawthorn Inn & Suites in Troy, Michigan! I am so happy that you get to utilize our kitchen and cook while in your room! I also am very pleased that Sam was very attentive and able to accommodate your needs. Customer satisfaction is what we strive... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities