We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Quality Inn By the Bay

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1492 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Inn By the Bay
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Quality Inn By the Bay
Quality Inn By the Bay
Quality Inn By the Bay
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    23
    43
    42
    34
    24
See reviews for
46
58
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (166)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (85)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Very good facilities adjacent to Traverse City State Park and walking distance to public beach. Rooms are spacious. The air circulation on the suites can be challenging sine the interior room has no window and can get stuffy when the bedroom door is closed. Downtown Traverse City is 3 miles away, so it is a good middle ground.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel room was small but clean with two double beds, two chairs, and a table. The bathroom was tiny but clean. We stayed with our two teen boys so it was tight but doable. The pool and hot tub were good, and breakfast was OK. Local fresh fruit would have been a nice addition in the cherry capital of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sevierville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We paid $170 a night for a double bed room w/ no balcony. Hotel is very old and has not been upgraded. Had to keep AC on cold high at all times. Pool is so small 2 families fill it. When asking for extra towels TP etc...they will give you 1 or 2?!? Really! Carpet throughout hotel needs to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Katie, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We appreciate your business and we are very sorry that we did not meet your expecations. Please know that we do constant updates and renovations in attempt to meet our guest's demands and expecations. Carpets have been replaced in all rooms and hallways. We added a brand new... More 

Travelers are raving about these Traverse City hotels

Eaton Rapids, Michigan
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms were small; double beds and a bathroom so small you had to move away from the toilet to clean yourself up because it sat less than a foot from the wall and the paper holder is directly next to you. No, I'm not kidding. The only thing this hotel had going for it was that the rooms were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Diane, Thank you for taking the time in sharing your feedback and experience. I would like to begin by thanking you for staying with us. I had the opprotunity to speak with you the day before you checked out. I'm sorry you found our bath rooms were too small. I am also sorry that we did not come to... More 

DeWitt, Michigan
Level Contributor
217 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here during our recent visit to Traverse City (checked-in at 10:15 p.m.). We had a third floor room with a king bed and two-person Jacuzzi (we did not use it). The room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. The water temperature and pressure in the bathroom shower was consistent with my settings. The bed was okay for sleeping. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Denice, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us. We continually strive to provide exceptional guest service with clean & comfortable accommodations and rely on our guest’s feedback to make any changes needed to provide an enjoyable experience for each of our... More 

Superior, Colorado
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had two rooms: one with a King bed; the other with two doubles. We arrived in town around 12:30 PM and were told we couldn't check in until 4:00. The rooms were ok but nothing special. The hotel appears to need refurbishing. One disappointing item: Our beds were on the 2nd floor. If you need to use the elevator,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We are sorry that you were not completely happy and satisfied with your stay. You had mentioned that the hotel needs refurbushing. Please know that we constantly do updates and renovations. We just added a brand new breakfast room in the last year. We replaced all rooms... More 

Houghton Lake, Mi
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

The bed are really extra firm so if you like that then the beds are fine. Lots of pillows and they are nice and soft. The TV had no sound. The free breakfast was just so so. The orange juice was more just water with a little orange coloring really really watered down. The eggs and sausage left a lot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ram33, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking time to share your feedback with us. I’m glad you enjoyed the comfort of our new pillows, but I’m sorry to hear you weren’t as happy with our mattresses. Over the past year, all of our rooms received the new Serta Perfect Sleeper Elite-2 Plush mattresses. I apologize that you experienced an issue... More 

Whitmore Lake, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

Stayed one night in Traverse City. The room was very outdated. Room had an odor that was probably from years ago when they allowed smoking in their rooms. One of the bedspreads had a black stain on it. The curtains had a cigarette burn on them. Sheets were clean! Looked like this old motel needs a face lift. On a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Cindy, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses regarding the friendly & helpful staff will serve as encouragement to all of our staff to continue to provide exceptional service for... More 

Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015 via mobile

Rooms were nice and clean. Beds were comfortable. We had a room with an inside door and outside door. The one to the outside was not very sturdy and needs to be replaced I think. The staff was friendly and came right away when we had trouble with our toilet. Which was fixed right away. The pool and hot tub... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are sorry you had trouble with the outside door to your room. This issue was ecalated to our maintenance department. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information... More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2015

Stayed here for just one night, and Cindy was an angel on check in. She even gave me my choice of room location from a couple of options, and called up after I was in my room to make sure everything was to my liking. And no it wasn't because I was acting ornery or anything . :) Free wifi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ram33, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear K8rene, Thank you for your feedback and kind words. We always strive to provide exceptional guest service and I’m happy to know that you were pleased with the service that Cindy and the other staff members provided, and I have passed your kind words onto them. I’m please to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of our new beds... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Traverse City
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Traverse City
AmericInn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Hampton Inn Traverse City
#16 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 stars 404 reviews
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Knights Inn Traverse City
Knights Inn Traverse City
#24 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#7 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay