We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 38 Traverse City hotels

Quality Inn By the Bay

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1492 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Save Saved
You added Quality Inn By the Bay to your Saves list
Quality Inn By the Bay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
42%
Ranked #31 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Dan B Lansing, Michigan
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    37
    35
    31
    21
See reviews for
37
49
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (141)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (74)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Lansing, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We decided last minute to spend a weekend in Traverse City. The rate was one of the cheapest in town for the weekend but, the price was a lot higher than I expected for late September. The room was quite dated. The vanity needed to be updated. The bathroom was ridiculously small. There was no fridge in the room. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Midland, Michigan
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Nice front desk staff - very helpful, called room after check-in to see if we were settled and if anything else we needed. Also have fresh cookies in evening. That's all the nice stuff I can share. Room smelled like it was sprayed with Febreze, bedspread not cleaned, floor gross, bathroom old, outdated and have to straddle toilet or stand... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Englewood, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband is a member of Choice Hotels so we spent ten nights recently traveling around Michigan and staying at various Comfort and Quality Inns. This one had to be the worst of the 9 different ones we stayed at. It was the second week of September and mid-week so although the rate was reasonable I would have been really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ram33, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Linda, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. We appreciate knowing if we did not meet or exceed your expectations in any way. Before summer we had upgraded 2/3rds of the hotel rooms... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ok we stayed there this weekend, we really wanted the Howard Johnson but we could not get a room there, this was probably our third option. The front staff greeted us very nicely (Pam) and we got the key to our room. Oh Boy it was very dirty. Someone had a white haired dog there and the hair was embedded... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share you feedback regarding your stay. I would like to start off by apologizing for the "no so satisfied" experience you encountered during your stay. Please rest assured that our housekeeping team does a great job and pay attention to detail in regards to the cleanliness... More

Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel really tries and does a lot of things right. But the night we spent here we slept only about 2 hours. We were placed in room 117, which is located right next to the pool and a stairwell. Plus right next to the door to the inner corridor is the ice and vending machines. The night we spent... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ram33, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete our on-line survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate the positive comment about the hotel really trying & doing a lot of things right. We do strive to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. We have had other guest that like that room and haven’t... More

Haslett, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Agree with two recent comments, "Overpriced and dirty" and "Definitely not Quality"........Agree and should have viewed Tripadvisor comments..... Recommend Red Roof Inn and Motel 6 over this Hotel or the small Local Motels V.S. this Quality Inn Hotel. Way overpriced for the value received. Greedy Management Policy does not work for me.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. We are completely aware of the excessive lodging choices available to guests visiting beautiful Traverse City and we cannot convey strongly enough... More

Columbus
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Upon our arrival, we used the sink. It had not been cleaned. There was soap scum on the vanity. In addition, there was human hair inside the sink and on the counter. For $187.59 a night, that is deplorable; we expected a clean room. The two chairs in the room were stained as well. It looked like water stains perhaps... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. We are completely aware of the excessive lodging choices available to guests visiting beautiful Traverse City and we cannot convey strongly enough... More

Plymouth, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

First I have to say the desk staff that checked me in was great. They did the best they could for me with a situation mix up with my reservation...however that hasbeen the ONLY good thing here. I understand it is the height of travel season in Traverse and hotels are overbooked and full...but. 1. My reservation was made thru... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest: Please accept my sincere apology regarding the disappointment you experienced during your stay with us at the Traverse City Quality Inn. It is our commitment to provide our guests with clean, comfortable lodging in a well-maintained and genuinely hospitable atmosphere. Each member of my staff is dedicated to ensuring that our guest’s experience is more than just... More

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We were looking for a less expensive option for our trip to Traverse City. This was a comfortable place for a couple of nights. The room was clean. The bathroom was small, but adequate. The staff was always friendly. The kids loved the pool. It is relatively small and only four feet deep. The hot tub was nice. The breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us. We continually strive to provide exceptional guest service with clean & comfortable accommodations and rely on our guest’s feedback to make any changes needed to provide an enjoyable experience for each of... More

Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
7 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

In looking at some of the many hotel reviews, I notice that many travelers leave scathing reviews for what they consider to be major problems - e.g., a hair on the bed, a cobweb in the corner of the bathroom, etc. If you want an absolute five-star experience, be prepared to pay. If you want a comfortable, fairly inexpensive room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!... More

Do you own or manage Quality Inn By the Bay?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Quality Inn By the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn By the Bay

Address: 1492 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn By the Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quality Inn By the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn By The Bay Hotel Traverse City
Quality Inn Traverse City
Traverse City Quality Inn

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Quality Inn By the Bay