We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 38 Traverse City hotels

Quality Inn By the Bay

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1492 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Save Saved
You added Quality Inn By the Bay to your Saves list
Quality Inn By the Bay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
43%
Ranked #32 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014
steelergrrl7 Traverse City, Michigan
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    30
    30
    23
    18
See reviews for
31
44
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

This is the second time staying at this location and we will stay again next time we visit this great city. The rate for our room was very reasonable and the staff was very pleasant and helpful. We travel with our dogs and were happy to find our room to be clean with no trace of being a pet friendly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time in sharing your thoughts regarding your stay. We are thankful for your choice in our hotel each time you visit Traverse City. We are proud to know we meet your expectations each time and that you have enjoyed the clealiness of your room, beung pet friendly, our complimentary hot deluxe breakfast,... More

Lawrenceville, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We arrived late in the evening in Traverse City on a weekend in the leaf season, without reservations. Realizing that we were traveling in the high tourist season, we expected higher rates. The only place we could find to stay was the Quality Inn. We would not have had a problem with the rates had the place been basically clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time in sharing your feedback. We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with the cleanliness of your room. We hope you had a chance to bring this concern to one of our staff at the hotel during your stay. We would have made every effort to... More

Flint, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

It seems when we want a quick, nice, quiet, getaway at a good price, and easy access to walk our pet, we come to this hotel, the room was clean, bed was comfy, shower nice, ground floor drive up entry to room, and door in rear of room opens to indoor hall that leads to front lobby of hotel, or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ram33, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to... More

Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
113 hotel reviews
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed here with family while traveling during thanksgiving. I knew "by the bay" meant across the street and it's just a short walk for beach access. The building is aging, but seems to be well maintained. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the amenities were spot on. There are a few restaurants close by and two... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Vakued Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are grateful you enjoyed your stay during the Thanksgiving Holiday. We hope your experience with us was an added enjoyment to your travel plans. Please spread the word and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you. Management More

Plymouth
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Really thought we were upgrading from a hotel down the street, what a disappointment ! Very overpriced. Not only is it small, it hasn't been remodeled in years. The carpet was dirty, the bathroom sink and counter were tiny with little room to put any thing. There was a pole on a slant holding up the sink. The toilet seat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Than you for sharing your feed back regarding your recent stay. First, we would like to extend our sincere apology that you had an unpleasant experience with us. Rest assured that the hotel contnues to go through updatesand renovations. We just completed updating every room with 32" Flat Screen Tv's, new beds and beddings. We are onhe... More

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Room was clean. The bathroom was way too small. When I was is the shower, if someone flushed their toilet, the water would get way too hot. Staff was very pleasant. Would stay again if we had to. Breakfast was small, but ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and sharing your feedback. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay but thank you for bringing to our attention what we can improve on so that your next stay will be more enjoyable. We are excited to share that we are getting a make over on our breakfast area... More

ETNA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The room was very clean and small. The bed was lumpy and only a double. That's all they had left. This location was not what I expected for a Quality Inn. A little deceiving when it's titled "By The Bay". And you can almost see it from the parking lot around the buildings across the street. The room was way... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us. We are soory to know your experience was less than what you expected. There have many confusion regarding our lable "..By The Bay". Unfortunately we are not on the water and none of our rooms have view of the water or beach. However, we are just a block walking distance away... More

Annapolis
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were very happy with our room at this hotel. We stayed in room 218, which was a king bed suite, with the bedroom separate from a good-size living area. The bathroom was extra large and included a jacuzzi tub, which we did not use. The living area included a queen-size sofa bed, comfortable chair, desk, decent size frig with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your feed back on your recent stay. We do agree the two room suite is our premium rooms available. We are pleased to know you and your family enjoyed the emenities the room and the hotel had to offer. We can agree the breakfast area is small but we are excited... More

Warren, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I was hesitant to stay here after seeing some of the not so favorable reviews, but I booked 2 nights here on August 11th, 2013. I was glad I did, the hotel was very clean, the staff was very accommodating and although the breakfast area was small, they had a lot to choose from. I feel for the money we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us and taking a chance in staying with us. We appreciate your business and we are happy to announce we just broke ground in new renovations to make a bigger and better breakfast area. We hope to see you again so we can share this new and exciting change and... More

Henderson
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Room was clean but could not cool it down ac just didnot want to work right.For what they charged was not worth the money Breakfast was not great seen and had better at cheaper hotels would not stay again unless only place with room

Was this review helpful? Yes
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are sorry you had a disappointing experience during your stay. I wonder if you had a chance to let the front desk know about the A/C not working properly in your room. We are sorry you felt the the price of lodging was not worth your stay. We are confident to say that our rates are... More

Been to Quality Inn By the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn By the Bay

Also Known As:
Quality Inn By The Bay Hotel
Quality Inn By The Bay Hotel Traverse City
Quality Inn Traverse City
Traverse City Quality Inn
Address: 1492 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn By the Bay 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Quality Inn By the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn By the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.