We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Quality Inn By the Bay

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1492 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn By the Bay
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Quality Inn By the Bay
Quality Inn By the Bay
Quality Inn By the Bay
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    41
    38
    31
    22
See reviews for
41
55
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (154)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (74)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cindy was great at the front desk, the pet policy is great (3 pets for $10) breakfast is pretty good too. The only complaint I have is I was asked if I wanted a 2 queens or a king, I said king, but we got to the room & it was 2 queens, & really they are more like full... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ram33, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Tammy, Thank you for taking time to share your feedback with us. Cindy is a wonderful employee who is dedicated to making our guests feel welcomed and providing them with exceptional guest service. She was very pleased to get your compliment. Thank you. We are proud to be one of the few hotels in the Traverse City area to... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I live about two hours away from Traverse City and try to get up here once or twice a year as it's our favorite "Pure Michigan getaway". And, Quality Inn By the Bay is our "go to" place to stay because of the hospitality and value we receive there. Some reviewers cite the facility as dated, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ram33, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Hello Hugh, We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to complete our online survey. Thank you for all of the compliments. We do continually strive to provide quality service with clean & comfortable rooms and it's a pleasure to receive positive feedback that we have done just that. We... More 

Allen Park, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

As I lay here in bed at 10:12pm, I can literally hear every conversation within three rooms of me. I would not recommend staying here. I can only imagine how loud it would be if every room were filled.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time in sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are thankful for your stay, however, we are very sorry you felt the walls were paper thin. When the hotel is at full capacity, we seldom receive concerns about paper thin walls. We hope you had a chance to let the Front... More 

Johannesburg, Michigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Rooms were fine - not the most comfy bed and small, skimpy pillows. Room was CLEAN but everything is pretty dated and just...small. My biggest complaint really (for the kids) was the pool. Very small - smallest pool I've ever seen. Bigger kids in there made if difficult for the smaller kids. Staff was very friendly though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ram33, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear April, We very much appreciate you taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We also appreciate knowing if we did not meet or exceed your expectations in any way. I’m sorry you felt the pillows were small & skimpy. The pillows we have are approved and required by Choice Hotels. The... More 

Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

We booked this hotel because they were offering great rates for the Bigfoot Snowshoe Race. It was super cheap and in a great location. The room was really clean and everyone we encountered was friendly. The room was decent sized but the beds and bathroom were pretty small. The bed wasn't all that comfortable but not too bad. Parking was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ram33, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We appreciate you taking the time to complete the online survey and give us your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Quality Inn in Traverse City for the Big Food Snowshoe Race. Thank you for the positive feedback on our friendly staff and the cleanliness of your room & pool area. Our staff is dedicated to... More 

Lansing, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

We stayed a few days just before X-mas. Just a nice place to stay with a good price. Nice breakfast. Just the wife and I. It was clean and pet friendly. very nice staff. A-OK. Would stay here again. Travis city has changed over the years. The city had a lot of traffic even in the late hours. It was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We are proud to know you enjoyed your stay and that we met your expectations. We are happy to know you were able to take in some sights and tour the area. We hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Ray M. AGM More 

Central Lake, Michigan, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

We took our kiddos here for a night away during Christmas vacation, and everything was great. Room was clean, breakfast was complete, and the pool and hot tub felt wonderful on a cold snowy night! I would definitely recommend this motel, and we will be visiting again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!... More 

Petoskey, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

I stayed here partially because of the reviews that make this Inn seem awful. It's not that bad. Yes, they could probably do some updating, but let's be honest, being from only an hour away, this is a major tourist area. You can't do renovations in the summer, the most lucrative season. Winter is though because it's ski season, Fall... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your valuable feedback. It is refresshing to know people appreciate and recognize the things we do well and we appreciate know our opportunities. Our hotel conatantly goes through updates and renovations. We all wish it can all be one with one swing of the bat. Thank you... More 

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

We love staying here! Our favorite vacation spot is Traverse City, and it's tricky to travel there with our two dogs. Quality Inn is pet friendly, and only has one charge for bringing our two dogs. It's always clean, and they're always quick to resolve any issues that arise. It's perfect to have the lower level room with and exterior... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ram33, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We thank you for your return business and we are very delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased to be able to accommodate our guests traveling with their furry four legged friends. We do allow pets in each of our room types, but the ground floor rooms with the exterior entry are... More 

Free Soil
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Looking for a place to stay in Traverse City from reviews we decided to try Quality Inn By the Bay and we were not disappointed. Very nice motel. The people on check in and checking out were very friendly. We were on the ground floor. There were 2 entrances to our room. One door exited from the sleeping area to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ram33, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Bernita, Thank you for your compliments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. All of our staff members continually strive to provide exceptional guest service with clean & comfortable accommodations. It’s nice to receive positive feedback to share with the staff. We thank you for sharing your experience and look forward to seeing you again soon.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question