We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 38 Traverse City hotels

Quality Inn By the Bay

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1492 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Quality Inn By the Bay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn By the Bay to your Saves list
Ranked #31 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Bernita N Free Soil
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    39
    35
    31
    21
See reviews for
39
50
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (145)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (74)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Free Soil
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Looking for a place to stay in Traverse City from reviews we decided to try Quality Inn By the Bay and we were not disappointed. Very nice motel. The people on check in and checking out were very friendly. We were on the ground floor. There were 2 entrances to our room. One door exited from the sleeping area to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ram33, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Bernita, Thank you for your compliments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. All of our staff members continually strive to provide exceptional guest service with clean & comfortable accommodations. It’s nice to receive positive feedback to share with the staff. We thank you for sharing your experience and look forward to seeing you again soon.... More

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Hotel was easy to find, front desk staff was friendly and helpful, clean room, very convenient location, even though very long corridors, clean corridors. Cookies and fruit were offered in the lobby in the night. Recommend this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!... More

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

It was foliage season, and lodging in Glen Arbor, MI was hard to come by. The B&B was full and so was the beautiful inn that occupies the former house of ill repute. The vacancy sign was out in front of the modern gray motel on M-22, but the door to the well-lit office was locked, and no one responded... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!... More

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

Located just across the road from the beach, this hotel had a narrow frontage but stretched back for what felt like several blocks! No problem unless you were in the room furthest back. OK if you like walking. Breakfast was ample. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. A bit on the expensive side but it is only to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ram33, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate and value your feedback. We continually strive to provide quality service for our guests and it's a pleasure to receive positive feedback that we have done just that. We are glad you enjoyed your stay... More

Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

We decided last minute to spend a weekend in Traverse City. The rate was one of the cheapest in town for the weekend but, the price was a lot higher than I expected for late September. The room was quite dated. The vanity needed to be updated. The bathroom was ridiculously small. There was no fridge in the room. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ram33, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Dan B, Thank you for taking the time to complete our on-line survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We value your feedback and appreciate knowing if we did not meet or exceed your expectations in any way. I’m happy to announce that between December & June of this year renovations on our breakfast room were completed, and... More

Midland, Michigan
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

Nice front desk staff - very helpful, called room after check-in to see if we were settled and if anything else we needed. Also have fresh cookies in evening. That's all the nice stuff I can share. Room smelled like it was sprayed with Febreze, bedspread not cleaned, floor gross, bathroom old, outdated and have to straddle toilet or stand... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. We are completely aware of the excessive lodging choices available to guests visiting beautiful Traverse City and we cannot convey strongly enough... More

Englewood, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

My husband is a member of Choice Hotels so we spent ten nights recently traveling around Michigan and staying at various Comfort and Quality Inns. This one had to be the worst of the 9 different ones we stayed at. It was the second week of September and mid-week so although the rate was reasonable I would have been really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ram33, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Linda, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. We appreciate knowing if we did not meet or exceed your expectations in any way. Before summer we had upgraded 2/3rds of the hotel rooms... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Ok we stayed there this weekend, we really wanted the Howard Johnson but we could not get a room there, this was probably our third option. The front staff greeted us very nicely (Pam) and we got the key to our room. Oh Boy it was very dirty. Someone had a white haired dog there and the hair was embedded... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share you feedback regarding your stay. I would like to start off by apologizing for the "no so satisfied" experience you encountered during your stay. Please rest assured that our housekeeping team does a great job and pay attention to detail in regards to the cleanliness... More

Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

This hotel really tries and does a lot of things right. But the night we spent here we slept only about 2 hours. We were placed in room 117, which is located right next to the pool and a stairwell. Plus right next to the door to the inner corridor is the ice and vending machines. The night we spent... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ram33, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete our on-line survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate the positive comment about the hotel really trying & doing a lot of things right. We do strive to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. We have had other guest that like that room and haven’t... More

Haslett, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Agree with two recent comments, "Overpriced and dirty" and "Definitely not Quality"........Agree and should have viewed Tripadvisor comments..... Recommend Red Roof Inn and Motel 6 over this Hotel or the small Local Motels V.S. this Quality Inn Hotel. Way overpriced for the value received. Greedy Management Policy does not work for me.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. We are completely aware of the excessive lodging choices available to guests visiting beautiful Traverse City and we cannot convey strongly enough... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Quality Inn By the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn By the Bay

Address: 1492 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn By the Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn By the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn By The Bay Hotel Traverse City
Quality Inn Traverse City
Traverse City Quality Inn

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay