We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 38 Traverse City hotels

Quality Inn By the Bay

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1492 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Save Saved
You added Quality Inn By the Bay to your Saves list
Quality Inn By the Bay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
42%
Ranked #31 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
bigsablept
  • Overview
  • Reviews (136)
  • Photos (34)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (25)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    36
    34
    28
    21
See reviews for
34
48
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Haslett, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Agree with two recent comments, "Overpriced and dirty" and "Definitely not Quality"........Agree and should have viewed Tripadvisor comments..... Recommend Red Roof Inn and Motel 6 over this Hotel or the small Local Motels V.S. this Quality Inn Hotel. Way overpriced for the value received. Greedy Management Policy does not work for me.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Columbus
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Upon our arrival, we used the sink. It had not been cleaned. There was soap scum on the vanity. In addition, there was human hair inside the sink and on the counter. For $187.59 a night, that is deplorable; we expected a clean room. The two chairs in the room were stained as well. It looked like water stains perhaps... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. We are completely aware of the excessive lodging choices available to guests visiting beautiful Traverse City and we cannot convey strongly enough... More

Plymouth, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First I have to say the desk staff that checked me in was great. They did the best they could for me with a situation mix up with my reservation...however that hasbeen the ONLY good thing here. I understand it is the height of travel season in Traverse and hotels are overbooked and full...but. 1. My reservation was made thru... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest: Please accept my sincere apology regarding the disappointment you experienced during your stay with us at the Traverse City Quality Inn. It is our commitment to provide our guests with clean, comfortable lodging in a well-maintained and genuinely hospitable atmosphere. Each member of my staff is dedicated to ensuring that our guest’s experience is more than just... More

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were looking for a less expensive option for our trip to Traverse City. This was a comfortable place for a couple of nights. The room was clean. The bathroom was small, but adequate. The staff was always friendly. The kids loved the pool. It is relatively small and only four feet deep. The hot tub was nice. The breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us. We continually strive to provide exceptional guest service with clean & comfortable accommodations and rely on our guest’s feedback to make any changes needed to provide an enjoyable experience for each of... More

Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
7 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In looking at some of the many hotel reviews, I notice that many travelers leave scathing reviews for what they consider to be major problems - e.g., a hair on the bed, a cobweb in the corner of the bathroom, etc. If you want an absolute five-star experience, be prepared to pay. If you want a comfortable, fairly inexpensive room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!... More

Washington, DC
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
81 hotel reviews
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a pretty average motel except the air conditioner was so noisy that I couldn't sleep, so I had to turn it off. Even when it was on the drapes blocked the air flow from cooling down the room. I could even hear the AC in the room next to me when it was on. Something was wrong with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ram33, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us. We continually strive to provide exceptional guest service with clean & comfortable accommodations and rely on our guest’s feedback to make any changes needed to provide an enjoyable experience for each of... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I can get over the lack of forks at the continental breakfast and the horrible internet service, but the room was disgusting, bedding was stained (all sheets and white comforters had numerous large and small stains on them). When we went to the front desk and requested comforters, we were told they didn't have any more comforters, only the thin... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Lori N., Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. We apologize your experience did not start off on the right foot from the begining in regards to the comforters. In most... More

Decorah, Iowa
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
50 hotel reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The one (and only) reason we stayed here for three nights was that we could find no other accmodations within 100 miles. The room was clean, very outdated, didn't have a fridge, had a noisy connecting room which was anything but soundproof, had a shower that looked like it was from the 60's (as did the entire room), and I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. We are completely aware of the excessive lodging choices available to guests visiting beautiful Traverse City and we cannot convey strongly enough... More

Michigan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I chose this Quality Inn for a 2 night stay because of the pet friendly reviews. It has not disappointed. Check in was easy and Cindy at the front desk was excellent explaining about services, available breakfast (which was very good - make your own waffles) and sausage, eggs, hard boiled eggs, cereal, yogurt and plenty of juice and coffee.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!... More

Highland Lake County, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed the past week and were suppose to stay 4 nights. The room was dirty stained towels and the general manager just wanted us to leave the hotel since we were not happy. We ended up only staying two nights and had to travel 20 minutes to find another place to stay since it was the week of Cherry... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We apologize you did not have a good experience from the first night you checked into our hotel. We apologize that our housekeeping team missed a few items in the room you checked in. You spoked to the GM the following morning and indicated that you guys wanted to leave. The GM took 50% off your stay... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Quality Inn By the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Quality Inn By the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn By the Bay

Address: 1492 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn By the Bay 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quality Inn By the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn By The Bay Hotel Traverse City
Quality Inn Traverse City
Traverse City Quality Inn

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Traverse City with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
96

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Quality Inn By the Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer