We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 38 Traverse City hotels

Econo Lodge

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1065 M-37 South, Traverse City, MI 49684
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Econo Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #34 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    13
    13
    18
See reviews for
17
13
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (58)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Clio, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

was 11 miles from beach when advertised as 2 miles from beach.Rooms were clean not real large but fine price was real good. They were doing the parking lot but not a problem. Continental breakfast was good .beds were adequate nothing special.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge. We appreciate your business and your feedback. I would really like to know where you saw that we were listed as being only two miles from the beach so that we can get that corrected. We occasionally run into problems where other sites will change our information unknown to us--one mapping... More

Knox, Indiana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We booked this hotel based on the tripadvisor reviews. Everything was nice and clean. The staff was very helpful and directed us to several restaurant options. Our Wifi connection worked very well as compared to some of the other places we stayed during our vacation. It was a good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again. More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Booked this place online and it was nothing like depicted on the site. It's in much need of updating and major cleaning inside and out! Not only was the room filthy, it had termites eating the leg on a piece of furniture and we actually killed several termites. We let the lady at front desk know of the problems, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

I am sorry you were unhappy with your stay. Termites? No. However, upon inspection we did find a nest of large ants outside the window and some did get into the room--a professional service was called in to deal with them. The staff person in question has been reprimanded. Choice Hotels inspects on a regular basis and we are in... More

Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel to get some christmas shopping done on the way back from the cabin. Just outside Traverse City. Saved money on staying here and put it towards more shopping. We were not at the hotel long due to shopping and ect. Staff was very friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with the Traverse City Econo Lodge. We make an effort to keep our rates among the lowest in TC. We hope to see you again! More

Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Based on reviews here I would have thought that I booked a room at a run down crack hotel. Not the case. Our room was clean and everything functioned just fine. Was it all new and nice? No. But I don't expect a hotel that is one of the cheapest in the area to be that way. We booked the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge. We appreciate your business and your kind words. We have been performing many upgrades, with more planned. As a small, family owned and operated business, it takes time. And we do strive to keep our rates reasonable for the area. We hope to see you back real soon. More

Poughkeepsie, New York
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

In the great spirit of D.Boon, Mike Watt, and George Hurley, we jammed econo in TC and bedded down at The Lodge. Complaints on this page are from haters who must chill or radically reorient themselves. You get in, you get out, you get home, you bed down, you crash, you greet the day, grab a bun, and you're on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest. We strive for top customer satisfaction and have performed numerous upgrades and renovations in the last few years and have more planned. In the last three years we've installed new carpet and wallpaper throughout the facility, installed new screens on all windows and installed new safety latches on them as well, upgraded our wifi... More

Eaton Rapids, MI
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Where do i begin? My wife and I drove up to Traverse City for my step son’s graduation. We reserved the room over a week advance through choice hotels. When we arrive after a 20 hour drive exhausted from the road there is a sign on the door that read no valency's. My wife went in and the front desk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
TCEcono, Owner at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Reviewer is reporting what is wife told him. Review of front desk video footage with audio tells a different story. More

Montague, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were very disappointed! Very run down place! Bed and pillows wore out along with everything else! Bedding was not clean and pillows smelled bad! Will never stay here again and was way overpriced. $50 a night room at that!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay. We just replaced all of our pillows two months ago. I will look into this matter. More

Newberry, MI
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a suite with king bed in one room and fold out sofa in other. Room was small but adequate. Relatively clean. No frills. The bathroom exhaust fan was NOISY. I would stay there again because it was cheap for the area. The pool/hot tub area was small but ok. The breakfast area was small.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econolodge. And thank you for alerting us to the problem you experienced with the bathroom fan. This information has been forwarded to our maintenance man to be addressed. We look forward to serving you again. More

Champaign, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Needed a place to stay in my old hometown... came across Econo lodge and the kids and I loved it! Clean room, good breakfast, and of course INDOOR POOL!. We will definitely go back and stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return visit. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1065 M-37 South, Traverse City, MI 49684
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Traverse City
Traverse City Econo Lodge

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay