We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 38 Traverse City hotels

Econo Lodge

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1065 M-37 South, Traverse City, MI 49684
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Click for phone number
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Econo Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
28%
Ranked #34 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    13
    12
    18
See reviews for
17
12
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (57)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Bay City, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I would never stay here again The hot water was down plumber worked on it just down the hall till the middle of the night the fire alarm went off several times had baby with us The GM was rude disrespectful and said i was a scammer and hung up on me

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry the guest was unhappy with their stay. However, the water heater in question services a portion of our rooms on the second floor. The guest stayed in a ground floor room. More

Lansing
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

the rooms remind me of the 80's. The breakfast was a traditional continental breakfast, bagels, waffles, and tastee-o's. The cups for the Orange juice and apple juice were almost all broken or leaking. However, the staff was friendly and courteous. I would recommend going to the store down the road and picking up some toilet paper if you are staying... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge. Your feedback is appreciated. We are in the process of updates and improvements--with 100% occupancy on a nightly basis for much of the year, most of this work is done in the December-March timeframe and we are eagerly awaiting the opportunity to "get back to it".. We are sorry you were... More

michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed 9-19 to 9-21 for a sports tournament. Due to several major events in the area, this is what we had to book. Total for 2 nights was $319. There was even a charge on the check out receipt for the safe in the room which we didn't use. Pulled off the nasty bedspreads to find blankets with cigarette burns... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry you were unhappy with your stay. Per the standard contract issued by the company that provides in-room safes to most hotels, we are required to charge a safe fee. However, guests may asked for it to be removed--this information is posted at the front desk as well as on the guest registration card signed by all guests... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

I have certainly stayed in worse hotels, but my stay here could easily have been better The hotel is older, however if the halls and stairs were vacuumed and glass doors were clean it could be better Breakfast had no fruit, only processed carbs & no eggs

Was this review helpful? Yes
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge and for alerting us to the issues with the stairs and hallways. This will be addressed with the housekeeping. Although we already exceed the breakfast requirements established for the Econo Lodge brand, we are considering additions to our breakfast menu. More

Lansing, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

rooms were clean and comfortable they do need to move their sign out from the building so people coming from the south can see the sign I did not see the sign until I started south from Traverse City outside of that our stay was quite comfortable

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for giving the Traverse City Econo Lodge an opportunity to serve you. We are pleased that you were happy with your stay. We are sorry that you had difficulty seeing our sign. We are limited by zoning restrictions but will explore options for making it more visible. More

Flat Rock, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Booked a room for my parents here due to limited pet Friendly options nearby. Almost 300 for 2 Nights and the hotel is very outdated, smelly, and absolutely not worth the price. If it wasn't for the dogs would have left immediately . Takes about 15 Minutes to drive to downtown area. Really disappointed but the front desk staff was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your parents' stay. Our staff receives high marks for cleanliness on independent inspections so I am disturbed by your assessment of the property being dirty. We are in the process of many upgrades. Unfortunately, as a small, family owned and operated facility, these must be done as finances allow and... More

East Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Stayed here for two nights while visiting wineries and SBD. Easy to get in and out of parking lot, next to a large strip mall with decent grocery store. Staff was helpful and attentive. Rooms are slightly noisy because of outside entrances, we just had some noisy neighbors. Room was clean, beds/pillows comfortable and it was a good value compared... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We replaced 36 % of our beds this spring and will be replacing more in the offseason. And we purchased new pillows too so it's good to hear that these are pleasing to our guests. We hope to see you again... More

Detroit, Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Extremely pet friendly, but "friends" were left behind. My uncles' legs were all bit up in 1 night. Dogs barked when their owners left out for breakfast :( . The pool/jacuzzi tub was nice. Breakfast was decent. Had a good location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

The Traverse City Econo Lodge is proud to host the participants of the Grand Traverse Kennel Club's Cherry Capital Classic All Breed Dog Show on an annual basis and have found these guests to be better groomed and better behaved than a lot of humans. We also accept dogs throughout the year in specially designated rooms, which do not include... More

Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We enjoy our stay. But were disappointed that it was about 25 minutes from turtle creek casino. The rooms were clean and comfortable and staff was very nice. Fast check in and fast check out. We had room 300 which was a had 2 rooms and 2 tv's, refrigerator, microwave. Staff is very nice. If you dont mind driving 25... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge. We are happy to hear that you were happy with your accommodations and our staff. Unfortunately, we are not close to the casino. We are convenient to such attractions as Interlochen Center for the Arts, Wuerfel Stadium--home of the Traverse City Beach Bums, the Northwest Michigan Fairgrounds and Centre Ice Arena. More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Was a cold windy day in northern michigan. Clean room, good rate, but at the front desk ,a young lady named Precious will enlighten Your day with her enchanting bright smile and big brown eyes!.. She is ultra helpful and would stay her again simply for her hospitality alone!... But don't get your hopes up she has a boyfriend lol....... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge and for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We thought that Precious was a good addition to our team and it is great to hear from our guests that we were right. We hope you'll be back soon to enjoy another great customer service experience. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1065 M-37 South, Traverse City, MI 49684
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Traverse City
Traverse City Econo Lodge

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay