We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1065 M-37 South, Traverse City, MI 49684
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Econo Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #35 of 39 Hotels in Traverse City
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    13
    13
    19
See reviews for
18
13
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (60)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Room one... Food left in the fridge room smelt horrible from it. Mold on fridge. Food on floor. Room two... Poop in toilet. My daughter found a lighter on the floor, thank God we were awake! Pool area... Water fountain had standing water and spit in it and was molded. The pool was green. The front desk told us we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry that the guest was unhappy and wanted to go elsewhere, which is what he did. we have reviewed the allegations which we found to be unsubstaniated. The only debris found in the rooms was common to both rooms and this was the only common guest for both rooms. Video tapes show that the front desk made every... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

Very good and and but the pool was cold. Nice breakfast bar, nice rooms hot tub good, staff was very nice room was cold when got there but warmed up in about 1.5 hours close t restaurant s and store would recommend it to people who want to stay in traverse city mi

Was this review helpful? Yes
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry to hear that you felt the pool was cold. Per regulations we keep it set at 82-84 degrees. We hope to see you again in the future. More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

We stayed here because my husband's company put him up here. The woman who checked us in couldn't have been friendlier, but the whole place was just kind of cheap. One thing that really concerned me was that none of the exterior doors were secured, even late at night. That means that ANYONE could come in and walk through the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge. We appreciate your feedback. We have considered locks on the exterior doors but we have numerous guests who are here on a regular basis and they have indicated that they feel this would be an inconvenience, and this is a very safe location. More 

Bay City, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

I would never stay here again The hot water was down plumber worked on it just down the hall till the middle of the night the fire alarm went off several times had baby with us The GM was rude disrespectful and said i was a scammer and hung up on me

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry the guest was unhappy with their stay. However, the water heater in question services a portion of our rooms on the second floor. The guest stayed in a ground floor room. More 

Lansing
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

the rooms remind me of the 80's. The breakfast was a traditional continental breakfast, bagels, waffles, and tastee-o's. The cups for the Orange juice and apple juice were almost all broken or leaking. However, the staff was friendly and courteous. I would recommend going to the store down the road and picking up some toilet paper if you are staying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge. Your feedback is appreciated. We are in the process of updates and improvements--with 100% occupancy on a nightly basis for much of the year, most of this work is done in the December-March timeframe and we are eagerly awaiting the opportunity to "get back to it".. We are sorry you were... More 

michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

Stayed 9-19 to 9-21 for a sports tournament. Due to several major events in the area, this is what we had to book. Total for 2 nights was $319. There was even a charge on the check out receipt for the safe in the room which we didn't use. Pulled off the nasty bedspreads to find blankets with cigarette burns... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry you were unhappy with your stay. Per the standard contract issued by the company that provides in-room safes to most hotels, we are required to charge a safe fee. However, guests may asked for it to be removed--this information is posted at the front desk as well as on the guest registration card signed by all guests... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

I have certainly stayed in worse hotels, but my stay here could easily have been better The hotel is older, however if the halls and stairs were vacuumed and glass doors were clean it could be better Breakfast had no fruit, only processed carbs & no eggs

Was this review helpful? Yes
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge and for alerting us to the issues with the stairs and hallways. This will be addressed with the housekeeping. Although we already exceed the breakfast requirements established for the Econo Lodge brand, we are considering additions to our breakfast menu. More 

Lansing, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

rooms were clean and comfortable they do need to move their sign out from the building so people coming from the south can see the sign I did not see the sign until I started south from Traverse City outside of that our stay was quite comfortable

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for giving the Traverse City Econo Lodge an opportunity to serve you. We are pleased that you were happy with your stay. We are sorry that you had difficulty seeing our sign. We are limited by zoning restrictions but will explore options for making it more visible. More 

Flat Rock, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Booked a room for my parents here due to limited pet Friendly options nearby. Almost 300 for 2 Nights and the hotel is very outdated, smelly, and absolutely not worth the price. If it wasn't for the dogs would have left immediately . Takes about 15 Minutes to drive to downtown area. Really disappointed but the front desk staff was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your parents' stay. Our staff receives high marks for cleanliness on independent inspections so I am disturbed by your assessment of the property being dirty. We are in the process of many upgrades. Unfortunately, as a small, family owned and operated facility, these must be done as finances allow and... More 

East Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Stayed here for two nights while visiting wineries and SBD. Easy to get in and out of parking lot, next to a large strip mall with decent grocery store. Staff was helpful and attentive. Rooms are slightly noisy because of outside entrances, we just had some noisy neighbors. Room was clean, beds/pillows comfortable and it was a good value compared... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We replaced 36 % of our beds this spring and will be replacing more in the offseason. And we purchased new pillows too so it's good to hear that these are pleasing to our guests. We hope to see you again... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1065 M-37 South, Traverse City, MI 49684
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Traverse City
Traverse City Econo Lodge

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay