We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1065 M-37 South, Traverse City, MI 49684
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Econo Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    14
    13
    20
See reviews for
19
14
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (62)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Rudyard, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

i was told one price and was charged a different price to my card front desk lady told me that the lady that checked me in made a mistake but was not told if i did not ask for a recite i would not of known

Was this review helpful? Yes
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry that you were unhappy with your stay. The rate discrepancy involved a pet fee. As a note to future guests bringing pets, although we gladly welcome you and your dog, please contact us prior to arrival regarding your furry family member to ensure the availability of designated pet rooms and so that their fee can be properly... More 

DeWitt, Michigan
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
55 hotel reviews
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The front desk staff was friendly and efficient. The guest room was clean but basic in size and comfort. Our room had two queen beds. The mattresses were okay for one night. There was a flat screen TV, microwave, and small fridge/freezer. One night stand was between the two beds. A small table with two chairs was tucked in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge. We are pleased to hear that you were happy with your stay. We hope you will come back to see us in the future. More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Room one... Food left in the fridge room smelt horrible from it. Mold on fridge. Food on floor. Room two... Poop in toilet. My daughter found a lighter on the floor, thank God we were awake! Pool area... Water fountain had standing water and spit in it and was molded. The pool was green. The front desk told us we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry that the guest was unhappy and wanted to go elsewhere, which is what he did. we have reviewed the allegations which we found to be unsubstaniated. The only debris found in the rooms was common to both rooms and this was the only common guest for both rooms. Video tapes show that the front desk made every... More 

Travelers are raving about these Traverse City hotels

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

Very good and and but the pool was cold. Nice breakfast bar, nice rooms hot tub good, staff was very nice room was cold when got there but warmed up in about 1.5 hours close t restaurant s and store would recommend it to people who want to stay in traverse city mi

Was this review helpful? Yes
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry to hear that you felt the pool was cold. Per regulations we keep it set at 82-84 degrees. We hope to see you again in the future. More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

We stayed here because my husband's company put him up here. The woman who checked us in couldn't have been friendlier, but the whole place was just kind of cheap. One thing that really concerned me was that none of the exterior doors were secured, even late at night. That means that ANYONE could come in and walk through the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge. We appreciate your feedback. We have considered locks on the exterior doors but we have numerous guests who are here on a regular basis and they have indicated that they feel this would be an inconvenience, and this is a very safe location. More 

Bay City, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

I would never stay here again The hot water was down plumber worked on it just down the hall till the middle of the night the fire alarm went off several times had baby with us The GM was rude disrespectful and said i was a scammer and hung up on me

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry the guest was unhappy with their stay. However, the water heater in question services a portion of our rooms on the second floor. The guest stayed in a ground floor room. More 

Lansing
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014 via mobile

the rooms remind me of the 80's. The breakfast was a traditional continental breakfast, bagels, waffles, and tastee-o's. The cups for the Orange juice and apple juice were almost all broken or leaking. However, the staff was friendly and courteous. I would recommend going to the store down the road and picking up some toilet paper if you are staying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge. Your feedback is appreciated. We are in the process of updates and improvements--with 100% occupancy on a nightly basis for much of the year, most of this work is done in the December-March timeframe and we are eagerly awaiting the opportunity to "get back to it".. We are sorry you were... More 

michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

Stayed 9-19 to 9-21 for a sports tournament. Due to several major events in the area, this is what we had to book. Total for 2 nights was $319. There was even a charge on the check out receipt for the safe in the room which we didn't use. Pulled off the nasty bedspreads to find blankets with cigarette burns... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry you were unhappy with your stay. Per the standard contract issued by the company that provides in-room safes to most hotels, we are required to charge a safe fee. However, guests may asked for it to be removed--this information is posted at the front desk as well as on the guest registration card signed by all guests... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

I have certainly stayed in worse hotels, but my stay here could easily have been better The hotel is older, however if the halls and stairs were vacuumed and glass doors were clean it could be better Breakfast had no fruit, only processed carbs & no eggs

Was this review helpful? Yes
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge and for alerting us to the issues with the stairs and hallways. This will be addressed with the housekeeping. Although we already exceed the breakfast requirements established for the Econo Lodge brand, we are considering additions to our breakfast menu. More 

Lansing, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

rooms were clean and comfortable they do need to move their sign out from the building so people coming from the south can see the sign I did not see the sign until I started south from Traverse City outside of that our stay was quite comfortable

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for giving the Traverse City Econo Lodge an opportunity to serve you. We are pleased that you were happy with your stay. We are sorry that you had difficulty seeing our sign. We are limited by zoning restrictions but will explore options for making it more visible. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities